Thread: Cracks in Gelcoat

Cracks in Gelcoat

Hey,
    I am currently restoring an old Seafarer Ventura, and it is coming along pretty nicely.
    I have been fixing all the gelcoat dings and scrapes and even though the colour isn't quite right, it does look pretty good.
    One thing though is that it has quite a few cracked areas in the gelcoat (on the deck, hull is ok). I have read that you grind them back with a Dremel or die Grinder, which I have done for a couple of the smaller ones, but there are a couple that are pretty big. This will take ages and look a bit dodgy when finished I reckon.
    I have thought (and trialling on an out of the way place) to mix Gelcoat and work it into the cracks, then wetsand it all down after.
    Is this a good idea? looks like it should work ok on the bits I can see......
    Heres a pic of one of the bigger areas.
    Thanks in advance.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Re: Cracks in Gelcoat

I just repair a few on my boat after removing the anti foul. I removed the gelcoat with a sander to see how deep they went to find the cracks continued into the fiberglass. So I repaired the glass also. If the cracks are in the fiberglass putting gelcoat over will not work. The cracks will soon reappear. It is not a hard job if you need to repair. As for colour matching the gelcoat I just went down to Bunnings and got some colour cards and matched it to the gelcoat and got them to give me tint for the amount I was mixing and came out great. Wet and dry rub down stepping down to 1200 grit and cut and buff and you can't tell you repaired it. From the photo I would be sanding that compete area as trying to do each crack would drive you crazy.

Quote Originally Posted by brett62 View Post
    I just repair a few on my boat after removing the anti foul. I removed the gelcoat with a sander to see how deep they went to find the cracks continued into the fiberglass. So I repaired the glass also. If the cracks are in the fiberglass putting gelcoat over will not work. The cracks will soon reappear. It is not a hard job if you need to repair. As for colour matching the gelcoat I just went down to Bunnings and got some colour cards and matched it to the gelcoat and got them to give me tint for the amount I was mixing and came out great. Wet and dry rub down stepping down to 1200 grit and cut and buff and you can't tell you repaired it. From the photo I would be sanding that compete area as trying to do each crack would drive you crazy.
    Good idea.
    Will go and check out Bunnings in the morning, would be nice to get this colour matched, it is coming up pretty good, but could be better if it is a good match...

Quote Originally Posted by brett62 View Post
    Brett62.... Bunnings actually helped you with colour matching fibreglass resin?? Wow.

Yep, tried a few places to get some tint and most said that you would need industrial tint which I would have to travel a fair distance to get. Spoke to one of the fiberglass repairs guys near me and said using the house paint tint may not mix as good but will do the job for repairs etc. Bunnings would not mix the tint in the gelcoat for me but gave me the tint to add which I did at home they were very helpful and didn't even charge for it.

Hi, I'm from MagicEzy and it's my intention is to provide you with information which may help you repair the damage in a quick and easy way. MagicEzy Hairline Fix was purposely designed to repair gelcoat cracks: http://www.magicezy.com/products/hairline-fix/

Here are some before and after photos showing a repair of damage similar to yours: http://www.baylinerownersclub.org/in...fore-and-after

If you have any questions about MagicEzy, I'm more than happy to help?

Can't see the before and after on the Bayliner site because we are not members. Can you post it here?

Quote Originally Posted by OceanSmile View Post
    Hi, I'm from MagicEzy and it's my intention is to provide you with information which may help you repair the damage in a quick and easy way. MagicEzy Hairline Fix was purposely designed to repair gelcoat cracks: http://www.magicezy.com/products/hairline-fix/

Here are some before and after photos showing a repair of damage similar to yours: www.baylinerownersclub.org/index.php/forum/general-boating-topics/55481-crazing-repair-before-and-after

If you have any questions about MagicEzy, I'm more than happy to help?
    Cheers mate, Might be worth a look. I have sorted out a couple of areas, but still got more to do, after the new years.
    Hopefully I can match colour a bit better then what I have at the moment.

Quote Originally Posted by Oceanic Dave View Post
    Can't see the before and after on the Bayliner site because we are not members. Can you post it here?
    Sure, See below:

MagicEzy-Hairline Fix-Before-After-BOC.jpg

and here:

Hairline-Crack-BF-AF.jpg

Image source: http://www.boatered.com/forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=164951