Thread: 1770 - 6th - 8th

1770 - 6th - 8th

With the weather looking ok, I took the chance to organise a crew(Myself, Cheech and Brad) on the Wednesday(4th) to head up all night to 1770 Thursday night. We arrived at 1770 4AM Friday morn and had an hours sleep at the servo before fuelling up at 5AM. Met my mate Tugger at servo. We launched at 6AM and set the auto pilot for Sykes reef. 3 hours steaming we made it with out any issues.

First up with hit our Trout grounds. We grabbed 3 of the tasty buggers on our first drift. We were floating close to Sykes reef, so my mate decided to throw some of his custom made poppers at the reef fringes. I was not expecting much, but after the fifth cast it got smashed by a massive GT. I quickly reversed out of the 2mtrs of water we were in so Brad could fight the GT in deeper water. After a few minutes we had it boat side. Awesome to see finally!

After this I headed out to my Red grounds out wide. The rock I fish there was holding lots of fish, but they weren't really chewing. We scored one Red before making the choice to head back into the Trout grounds. Here we got a few more Trout and a f-ton of Red Throat. These guys were bitting like crazy, and they all had decent size to them. Brad was fishing plastics for them and they out fished bait by a long way. So I gave it a go and landed my first legal fish on a plastic.

The next day we targeted Trout again then headed out wider to more Red grounds. Here we only pulled another Red and dropped a nice one. They just weren't hungry/bitting.

We anchored each night close to the reef around Heron island and it provided good cover from the Northerlies we were fishing. Nothing beats rafting up at night and having a few beers and a good feed. We also had a snorkel around the reef, very fun.

Was a great 3 days fishing, my last 1770 trip for the year. Ended up doing 330Kms for 202Ltrs.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P1010307.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	74.7 KB 
ID:	111494Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P1010255.jpg 
Size:	64.9 KB 
ID:	111489Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P1010209.jpg 
Size:	72.3 KB 
ID:	111488Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P1010266.jpg 
Size:	59.5 KB 
ID:	111487Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P1010269.jpg 
Size:	52.7 KB 
ID:	111486Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P1010216.jpg 
Size:	60.5 KB 
ID:	111485Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P1010258.jpg 
Size:	69.3 KB 
ID:	111491Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P1010299.jpg 
Size:	64.5 KB 
ID:	111492Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P1010246.jpg 
Size:	64.2 KB 
ID:	111493Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P1010291.jpg 
Size:	39.3 KB 
ID:	111490Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P1010227.jpg 
Size:	60.6 KB 
ID:	111495

Re: 1770 - 6th - 8th

Looks like a ripper trip Julian with some awesome fish caught.
    What's Mark doing using a plastic,I will have to have a chat to him about that, lol

Good sh^t man, well done on the reds!

Quote Originally Posted by Crunchy View Post
    Good sh^t man, well done on the reds!
    Can't you spell you idiot??

Quote Originally Posted by Back In Black View Post
    Can't you spell you idiot??
    without daylight savings he didn't have time to run spellcheck - right Crunchy???

Sounds like a good trip Julian. Well done.

Good trip on the fish mate. I think you need to do some prop testing though.

Quote Originally Posted by One more drop View Post
    Good trip on the fish mate. I think you need to do some prop testing though.
    Thanks mate. I didnt test to see if I could reach wot this trip. I normally make 5700 loaded up the way I do on these big trips. Currently spinning a 17p, was thinking of having a 15p for these trips or a 16p 4 blader.

Quote Originally Posted by JulianDeMarchi View Post
    Thanks mate. I didnt test to see if I could reach wot this trip. I normally make 5700 loaded up the way I do on these big trips. Currently spinning a 17p, was thinking of having a 15p for these trips or a 16p 4 blader.
    should be getting a bit better economy with that setup I reckon. Have you tried a non ya my prop? I reckon my solas one might go alright on the 150 eh.

Well done mate and a nice feed there. We were up there the week before and the red throats were in plague proportions like the husser.
    Always a good trip those 3 dayers.

Quote Originally Posted by One more drop View Post
    should be getting a bit better economy with that setup I reckon. Have you tried a non ya my prop? I reckon my solas one might go alright on the 150 eh.
    I'm not an expert in this area at all, so my ears are all open, I'll lay out the facts.

The prop is perfect for my normal fishing. I get WOT and run at an avg. of 1.8-1.9 kms to the ltr. My boat is pretty loaded up on these big trips. I know she weighs 1.6tonne on trailer(400kg for the trailer) dry. On these big trips add on 300ltrs of fuel, two 160ltr eskies with 60kg of ice, food and grog for 3 days and gear for 3 POBs. At a guess that would work out to be 600 - 700 extra kgs, making the rig weigh roughly 1.9tonne on the water(taking into account the 400kg trailer mass).

Considering all of this, is avg. 1.5kms to the ltr bad for a 150HP on a loaded boat? I still have nice hole shot loaded up, however you can hear the engine labouring on the first day of the trip until some fuel is used up.

There's your problem right there mate, grog for 3 days, perhaps just leave the pallet of VB at home and just take a carton of Chivas?

Julian I am definitely going to let your tyres down next time I see you! He says he will be going again, then he does! Good going man! Awesome!

Sent from my HTC_0P6B6 using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by JulianDeMarchi View Post
    I'm not an expert in this area at all, so my ears are all open, I'll lay out the facts.

The prop is perfect for my normal fishing. I get WOT and run at an avg. of 1.8-1.9 kms to the ltr. My boat is pretty loaded up on these big trips. I know she weighs 1.6tonne on trailer(400kg for the trailer) dry. On these big trips add on 300ltrs of fuel, two 160ltr eskies with 60kg of ice, food and grog for 3 days and gear for 3 POBs. At a guess that would work out to be 600 - 700 extra kgs, making the rig weigh roughly 1.9tonne on the water(taking into account the 400kg trailer mass).

Considering all of this, is avg. 1.5kms to the ltr bad for a 150HP on a loaded boat? I still have nice hole shot loaded up, however you can hear the engine labouring on the first day of the trip until some fuel is used up.
    Yep. Your economy is way better than my maths skills. Sorry mate. For some reason I had you getting less than that. Then I employed the help of a calculator.

Nice trip! That's a great GT
    fruit salad is the new Bacon

Nice stuff Julian.