Thread: Calibrating GMI 10 fuel usage readout

Calibrating GMI 10 fuel usage readout

G'day guys, just interested in the procedure for calibrating fuel usage figures on GMI 10 gauges interfaced with Suzukis? I have twin 175's interfaced with the gmi's and when they tell me I need 390lt to fill tanks it takes about 430lt to fill. I spoke to Jon Eadie and he was confident that they could be calibrated by telling the gauge how much was actually used and it somehow calibrated for the actual usage. He indicated that after doing this a few times it would then be accurate. I can't seem to find anywhere to input anything other than fill tank or add fuel?

Can anyone assist or confirm if this can be done?

lee
    The wait is finally over.........was worth every minute..........let the RIPTIDE rip..........hell yehhhh

Re: Calibrating GMI 10 fuel usage readout

Lee, as far as I know it can't be done on the Garmin gauges. Almost certain about that.

The Suzuki interfaces are made by Lowrance and can be calibrated to improve your fuel used/remaining results but ONLY by using a Lowrance or Suzuki LMF400 style gauge or by a Lowrance or Simrad head unit (eg a HDS or NSS combo).

And yes, it is done as Jon described it to you. On the HDS, when you do the normal refuel process where you reset the tanks to full, it gives you the option to calibrate and if you select that option, it asks you to input the actual amount used and then it adjusts the internal calculations so that it is more accurate. Usually, doing this 2 or 3 times gets you very close to 100% accurate. I did this myself on my setup and its 99.8% now. Once done, it stays good.

You should double check with Jon though, because if anyone knows if it is possible to do the calibration using the Garmin, it is him.

If you have a Lowrance or Simrad display on your N2K network you can do it via them, of course.

Note to self: Don't argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience....

Hi Moonlighter, thanks for that info. No I don't have any Simrad or Lowrance gear so I will just have to make do with the error.

Thanks for your help
    Lee
    The wait is finally over.........was worth every minute..........let the RIPTIDE rip..........hell yehhhh

Lee, if you live locally, Jon could do the calibration for you. He has a Suzuki SMIS gauge that he can connect to your network for a few minutes while he does the calibration, and then when done take it off. Takes 5 minutes to do, I am sure he would take care of you.

You would just need to fill up your fuel tank but don't reset fuel to full on the Garmin, take the boat to Jon, then he can attach the SMIS and go from there. Just make a note of exactly how much it takes to fill the tank.

You might even be able to twist his arm and borrow the SMIS for a morning to do it at home yourself to save dragging the boat to his workshop. Or he might drop past your place on way home one evening. I am sure something could be arranged.
    Note to self: Don't argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience....

Moonlighter is correct with this. On any Garmin packages with a Zuk we would have to use a shop Lowrance system for any interface programming or calibration. John would be your best bet

G'day guys, thanks for that. Sad thing is I dragged my boat, full of fuel from Caloundra to Cleveland last Thursday for the 100 hour service and didn't get it done. I spoke to Jon about it but he never mentioned that he could do it then? I may investigate if there is anyone on the sunny coast who can help.

thanks again
    lee

Your closest might be Keith at Motorsport Marine Burpengary.

Thanks Moonlighter, I will put up with it for the near future until I have it out sand about again.
    Lee

Just shout yourself a new Simrad or Lowrance GPS. Problem solved

G'day Scottar, mate the issue is that it is already all new and I reckon a divorce would be on the table if I mention more new stuff already, lol

Sounds familiar. My next boat is costing half a house plus. LOL.