Thread: Fishing Hinchinbrook and nearby reefs

Fishing Hinchinbrook and nearby reefs

Gday fellas,
    Myself and a few mates are going to be staying in a house boat in the Hinchinbrook island area in a couple of weeks.. We are towing up a 5metre boat to have a fish in the area and some of the local reefs..

Were coming up from NSW Lennox Head Area and havn't fished the Hinchinbrook area at all..Could anyone help us out with a few gps marks of some reef areas? Im more than happy to trade for some marks in ballina and lennox Is there a friendly local fishing shop that could steer us in the right direction?

Were all looking forward to the trip it sounds like an awesome area..Some of the boys have got no idea what they are in for if we manage to get onto some mangrove jack!

Cheers for any help

Re: Fishing Hinchinbrook and nearby reefs

Just saw your post. I've fished Hinch off houseboat many times. Mostly Missionary bay which has 9 creeks running into it!
    The mouth of 2 and 3 have deep holes or channels for grunter,Trev finger mark . If you position the houseboat in the deep hole out front of two or three you can get quality grunter And fingermark etc straight off the boat. Best baits are cut up sards, and good quality prawns which you may be able to buy in Cardwell from a prawn seller tomthe public. The locals will know. Get a box of soft and brokens, they are way better than the shite generic prawn bait. All creeks are good to lure or live bait into the snags for Barra and Jacks. Zman Deizels in four inch and 3 inch minnowz rigged on chinlock worm hooks in 4/0 are awesome for the fingermark barra and jacks and even grunter. PM me your email adress and ill show you howto make your own chinlock rigs as they are really expensive to buy. I have found a way to just buy the hooks and make them yourself. Easy. Also i have a youtube link i created to show how to rig them with a sinker in front which weights them perfectly. Also bait fish the flats between 2 and 3 with quality prawns for excellent grassy sweet lips . All estuary species are in this area. Also troll deep divers in deep sides of the creeks late arvo for jacks finger mark and Barra and their is a rock bar up creek 3. Getting to the main reef (Otter Reef) in your 5 mete will totally depend on weather but we've always done well going straight out to the first main reef and fishing for trout and Spanish macs along the drop offs on the South to South East side in about 20 metres. I'm not really experienced in the channel.
    "let not he boast who puts his armor on, as he who takes it off"

Hi Mate,

I'm jealous, i have always wanted to fish Hinchinbrook but am still to get there so I can't offer any advice but please post a report and let everyone know how you go, i'm sure i wouldn't be the only one who be keen to see the results of your trip.

sent another pm with some more marks for you in the creeks

Ausfish Platinum Member gr hilly's Avatar

I hired a house boat up there for a week at Lucinda took up a 14.5 tinny had a ball got a few good feeds the locals at the pub gave away nothing nore did the hire mob we had to wait 6 hrs for the boat to be fueled up but it was a great house boat watch the red eyes at night in the creeks frightened the crap out of me lol good luck enjoy
    cheers Hilly

Silverfox,

Not an experienced local but have travelled up there with a similar size boat and done the houseboat thing - not sure it will be the best information in the world - but all practical experience of 10 to 14 days or so fishing up there. Not the fastest at typing so if want to pm me your mobile number I will give you whatever info i can.

Billo