Thread: Initiation into the Darkside

Re: Initiation into the Darkside

Back in the early days of SP's, we got into them courtesy of Duncan at Fishead when his shop was down at Redland Bay near the pub. But the SP range here was petty poor and they were really expensive, as were jig heads, so a few of us got together and we were ordering them in from Basspro in the States in $200 batches.

Anyway I was on the computer one night selecting colours when the Minister for War and Finance, also known as the Admiral of the Fleet, springs me! Then she is looking at the different colour Zooms and Bass Assassins, which were our go-to lures at the time, and she says, oooh that one is a nice colour, get some of them.

The colour was "electric chicken", in the Zoom that was chautrose pink, flouro yellow and the last 3/4 inch of the tail was crimson red. I said nah, that will be useless, she said order a few packets. I conceded defeat and ordered a few packets.

They sat in my tackle bag for about a year until one day we were heading over to Peel just on lunchtime for a beach barbie, meeting some friends there.

I threw the Sp rods into the boat and on the way, stopped at SW Rocks and I said to the Admiral, righto, have a go at this SP caper we have been doing. She rarely if ever fishes, but anyway I think she agreed just to humour me.

I go to put on a zoom in Arkansas Shiner colour, we had been smashing the snaps on that colour, but she says put one of those electric chicken ones on. I try to convince her it will be no good, but she insists. Anyway I cast out for her and hand her the rod, and am about to say, hang on, when the rod bucks over and line screams off.

A bit bit of coaching results in success, a 45cm model in the net! The electric chicken's head is a bit mauled, so I snip the head off and shove the now shortened model back on, thinking to myself that one stupid snapper hit it, complete arse, nothing else will touch that silly colour. Cast out again. Turned to cast my own line and bang! She is on again, this time it's taken a big run, clearly a better fish, and it takes a bit of time to get the fish in the net - 55cm. The boys are both into them as well on other colours but soon change to the chooks as well.

Well, we we end up missing the BBQ as we are having so much fun on the SPs, and by the time we have had enough, the Admiral and both boys have bagged out - 15 nice ones up to 60cm in the esky, with the chooks doing the main damage.

Dont you think she gave me some grief about dissing her choice of colours!

You can't get them in that exact colour any more, I still have half a packet, but use them very sparingly.
    Note to self: Don't argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience....

Well done Ivan that's a good flathead.
    Keep Ya Tip UP
    Beast

the dark side of the dark side is...well, fish can't digest the things. if they happen to come off the hook or are disposed of in the water and a fish swallows it they remain in the fish's gut and can cause the fish to starve to death.
    i doubt that it happens very often but it does happen, the scented type in particular. if you use one that becomes damaged dispose of it on shore, not over the side of the boat. same with line and any other trash, of course.
    just sayin.
    standing on a bridge
    watching water rushing under-
    neath it must have been much harder
    when there was no bridge just water

Initiation into the Darkside

There is a dark side to using bait too, for every organism placed on a hook is another natural food source taken away from the ecosystem, not to mention all other species caught up in the nets that are not the target species and might be juvenile fish of species we are trying to protect?And how many people use bait of such a high quality they would otherwise be intended for human consumption, thus adding to the global pressure on seafood supplies and part of the whole " sustainability" dilemma. And who gets to use up that entire packet of prawns or pillies? What's the ratio of used bait to bait refrozen or used as burley? But nobody ever questions how bait arrives in packets available for purchase. There are groups opposed to us sticking a hook into a live organism for use as live bait and deem it cruelty to animals. So not starting a war plastics vs bait debate, but there is always a cause and effect for either choice of what to use. Just sayin.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Many SP's these days (not all, of course) are both bio-degradable and edible. The Berkley range springs to mind for starters. That will be an increasing trend to the future I believe.

Of course, best to dispose of any back in the rubbish bin, along with line etc, too.

Just sayin' sparky!
    Note to self: Don't argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience....

Quote Originally Posted by BeastMaster View Post
    Well done Ivan that's a good flathead.
    Thanks Neil,
    Still learning.
    The thing I like about it is the 'no mess' factor and lip hooked.
    Cheers, Ivan

Grant
    The Admiral, LOL.
    Sitting on the banks of Baffle Creek one year, a friend's wife making lamb sandwiches threw a hook baited with roast lamb and got one of the biggest Bream I've ever seen.
    You never never know.
    Cheers, Ivan

Quote Originally Posted by castlemaine View Post
    Grant
    The Admiral, LOL.
    Sitting on the banks of Baffle Creek one year, a friend's wife making lamb sandwiches threw a hook baited with roast lamb and got one of the biggest Bream I've ever seen.
    You never never know.
    Cheers, Ivan
    ivan, I know one guy who has hooked snapper at Peel using Allens snakes on a jig hook! The red ones.......

And you are a very brave man, spending your Admiral's holiday funds on a new boat!!!

it will be the plank for you, young man!