Thread: Moreton Wide Easter Saturday

Ausfish Platinum Member TREVELLY's Avatar

Moreton Wide Easter Saturday

Went wide got a few pearlies (plenty of throw backs for 3 keepers) then visited Ronnie and got a 23kg barcod - Ella is happy the freezer is full again. I even boiled up the frame for stock - tasty!

Between spots stopped for half hour on a show and had about 50 friendly dolphins right up at the boat - a couple were even backing up to the bow and hinting that I should get going so they could play - they were really very interested and doing their best to have a good look and even tell me what to do.

It was a good day on the water.

Trip was solo and about 200km all up.

Water temp at the shelf was just over 29deg and current was stronger than I wanted with drift speed 4-5kph

Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Click image for larger version. 

Name:	23kg barcod (480x640) (263x350).jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	91.7 KB 
ID:	108329   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Cod aboard (350x263).jpg 
Size:	95.5 KB 
ID:	108330   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Dolphins at Boat (350x221).jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	81.3 KB 
ID:	108331   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	fillets (350x263).jpg 
Size:	94.6 KB 
ID:	108332   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	freezer - a (350x263).jpg 
Size:	69.2 KB 
ID:	108333  

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_2496 (350x263).jpg 
Size:	67.9 KB 
ID:	108334   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_2502 (350x263).jpg 
Views:	5 
Size:	78.2 KB 
ID:	108335  

Trev

Ausfish Gold Member

Re: Moreton Wide Easter Saturday

Nice catch mate. Sure hope that current slows. I was near tempest and it was about 3km/h, went back to 29's area and it dropped back to 1km/h. Perfect...

Trev, you are getting this deep dropping down to an art mate.

Great report,

Ausfish Platinum Member marto78's Avatar

Good stuff Trev.

Ausfish Platinum Member lethal098's Avatar

Well Done Trev,
    Ronnies Spot is certainly holding some good fish for you.

Sorry Trev. I meant to press the like icon. Sausage fingers. Anyway well done mate
    Cheers, Doug.
    Love to use Preditek or Kingfisher lures or Viva Lures when I am out fishing.

Ausfish Platinum Member TREVELLY's Avatar

OOOOPS! ^^^^^^^^

No worries Doug - all good

It was a good day out - I was planning an overnighter for swordfish but catching the cod and having the wind pick up to 15 knots on dusk on top of a 2m swell made going home and easy choice. I am hopeful for an overnighter once the currents drops a bit and the sea is below 1m and the wind below 10knots - one day not too far away I hope.

I also had a bit of trouble on the trip with one battery melt-down and a button issue on the sounder. I had 5 spare batteries so I was well catered for. The dash volt gauge identified the dodgy battery so i just disconnected it and I have a remote plug in for deep cycle battery using anderson plug so all was safe enough.

I wish I did have these deep-sea critters wired but I reckon you just have to look about a lot and drop a lot and sooner or later a dividend pays off. I seem to have them always shut down too as soon as one is caught. I have tried a few tricks to change that but nothing seems to work.

Hope to get back out deep drop in a month but before then supposed to take some guys from work out and will target pearlies as there are plenty of smaller ones to keep them busy and a few keepers for the lucky ones.

These are the one's I kept - nothing amazing but still a nice feed and a good size

Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Pearlies AF.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	65.8 KB 
ID:	108344  

Trev