Centre Console between 5-5.5 metres

Thread: Centre Console between 5-5.5 metres

Centre Console between 5-5.5 metres

Hi Guys...currently have Haines Hunter 560 Classic offshore but am moving down the South Coast of NSW and considering if an Centre Console would be better for both river, inshore and when conditions right offshore around the Banks etc. will be mainly used on my own so self launching/retrieval also high priority
    Thoughts re metal v fibreglass and brand,budget would be up to $50k. Anyone have a HH 525 Prowler and experiences also.

Ausfish Platinum Member FisHard's Avatar

Re: Centre Console between 5-5.5 metres

Check out the 5.6m Bonito. It's a relatively small volume boat that should fit your needs. You will be able to option one up to the hilt for your budget. My mate got one built recently and it's a good thing.
    fruit salad is the new Bacon

I see John Crawford Marine has a 5.5m Rebel centre consul in their yard, looks like a good boat with welded floor etc, pretty sure its around your price

I love my Bonito. Wouldn't go passed one. Sounds like it would suit you perfectly... FF

Check out Hammerhead boats 5.3 or 5.7. Also regardless of boat type pha marine (pelagic boats) elite series trailer for easy launch and retrieve.

Ausfish Silver Member Prowl n Wolf's Avatar

I have Haines hunter 520 Prowler and reckon it is a great little big boat.

I was pleasantly surprised at how dry the prowler is and how it handles in the northern Moreton bay chop.

I have taken the Prowler out to the Barwon banks and deep tempest and never felt uneasy on the return when the weather has turned.

I also downsized from a Haines sig 632f and although it was a great boat too, I'm using the prowler twice as much and not relying on deckies.

In regards to plate vs glass you will get different opinions but my two cents after owning a 560c Barcrusher before the Signature is both had compromises. Fibreglass for me

Not sure where you are located at the moment, but happy to take you for spin.

Check out the Surtees 5.5 cc. http://www.surteesboats.com/our-rang...center-console I have the little 4.85 cc and it is a ripper.

Thanks, is there any difference between the Surtees and the Bar Crushers?

I just saw a post where Noelm was thinking of selling his CC sharkcat. That would definitely be the boat I'd buy if I was in the market for an CC that was to go offshore. Not sure what he wants for it.
    Democracy: Simply a system that allows the 51% to steal from the other 49%.

If you are coming out of a Haines Hunter 560 Classic, you will only be disappointed in any aluminium boat. You already have one of the softest riding boats going around, so stick to a soft riding centre console. The Haines Prowler is the softest riding boat under 5.5 metres I have ever been in.

What are you doing with your Haines Hunter 560 Classic offshore?

Quote Originally Posted by pnp005 View Post
    Thanks, is there any difference between the Surtees and the Bar Crushers?
    I'd like to know the full story with this as well, as it looks as though the Barcrusher copied the Surtees? Barcrusher was the importer of Surtees and then started making their own?

Don't want to highjack the thread tho, so if anyone knows the real story, could they start another one?

Hi...in two minds but if I go down the centre console path will put the HH on the market or trade in.