manly harbour boat show - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: manly harbour boat show

Re: manly harbour boat show

It was a very sad show today.
    The only exhibitor with a bit of gear was all cheap chinese crap and most of his rubbish was cheap lures and hooks.
    If they lined up every one in a row with fishing gear you would only have to walk about 50m and the shows over.
    I have more fishing gear stocked in my spare bedroom here at home than everything combined at the show.
    One good thing though, with the overcast weather this morning the Barra in the Super Tank were feeding like crazy and they were awesome to watch.
    As the skies cleared and brightened up after lunch they began to slow down and they became far less active.

Must admit, it was very average. I went to return some gear to an exhibitor that wasn't right from a purchase last year (another story). Fluked a park out front after looking at full suburban streets up to 1km away. Wife likes to go to these and sit (for a bit) at fishing expo stage, it was in full sun by 1pm and way too hot, so there was about half a dozen people at best there. The on water display area (not test ride area) was a nice idea, but didn't seem to work. Bill Corten was doing his best there, but again unfortunately trying to get people to sit on black tiered seating in the sun in the middle of the day was not working. I watched a short thing on some new Garmin electronics, displayed in the boat docked in the water about 30m down the pontoon with Bill and the Garmin rep speaking form wireless mice down at the boat..... There was me and 1 other guy they were speaking to, that was it.... Needless to say the give away hats were hard to miss, we go two each and a stubby cooler!. Thanks Bill!!.

In the end we left earlier then we normally would as my young daughter was getting toasted in her stroller, and there was really no relief from the sun if you wanted to sit at any of the stands for a bit.

Pity, I think some of the ideas were good, but jus didn't seem tone working for them. The map on their website is also a bit confusing, until you realise tat some of the areas that look like display are actually on water zones. The fences around the MBTBC also are not clearly shown, s there are areas you can't get directly to without walking around etc.

Ausfish Platinum Member Crunchy's Avatar

A mate and I went went and he was pretty happy because he is in the market and got to go for a test run and pick the Brains of the seller for a few hours but if not in the market then bloody waste of time.

Ausfish Gold Member

went to check today whether other boatramp open as I heard it was shut, it is still open, so I am right to use it tomorrow

to make matters worse today (Saturday) for parking the farmers market was on, I can imagine frustration coming out in some people

It was HOT, HOT & HOT..... sitting in the sun at the Engel stage was BS. No tackle to speak of. no small tinnies. Usual suspects in the off road department. If you're into 4 x 4 stuff you'll understand that Roothys " The 40 " was there. Coke zero. $4.90 WTF ???? Met up with Anthony and Libby ( with the sweaty hands or was that from Lucas's hair gel ? ) , Lucas with Paula, Conor and Robbie, Webby, Scotto Mitchell, Bill Corten, Justin Nicols, Gary Fitzgerald , Natalie from QPWS and somehow missed Sean ???? Interesting talk from Matt Hubbard on Brissie River fishing.

$14 entry...................... over-all .... disappointing.

LP

I turned up and had to park a mile away (around 10am) and then got to the entrance to a line of more than 100 people at both entrances and it wasn't moving too quickly. Cut my losses, left without lining up and will wait for the real boat show late March.

I'm glad for the goss on the show, decided to save my self the drive form Strathpine.

I'll wait for the one later this month, at least its only a short walk from the train station!!

That's a valid point. Why does it cost to go? Understand there is the venue hire, organisors fees, security etc, but shouldn't the exhibitors pay for this?

The fee is for the organisers, the exhibitors pay the organisers for their site as well.

Well I don't mine paying a reasonable entry fee BUT I expect value for money. Don't use the word tackle if in fact there is little to no tackle to see compare or purchase. For me I already own a boat so things I would like to see at these shows are bait board manufactures, canopy and cover makers, quality fishing rods and reels, quality tackle, anchors and ropes, boat trailer manufactures and trailer components, covered area shows that run all day on different subjects fishing, tackle, boat launching, anchoring, filleting, identifying beacons buoys and zones etc.

When was last time you were asked to participate in a survey on these shows...........? Me never.

Marine Queensland are the organisers.

They put the show on to make money.

The would have paid ( possibly ) MBTBC and the Manly Harbour owners some fees.

The exhibitors would have paid a premium for their sites.

I believe Engel would have paid for the " Stage " where people like Scott Mitchell, Ernie Dingo and Matt Hubbard gave talks, similarly for the 4 x 4 side of things.

Other outgoings would have been Public Liability Ins, Security, gate staff and other presenters....

MQ are an organisation that used to be called Boating Industry Association of Queensland... BIAQ

With over 300 members state wide, Marine Queensland is the recognised voice of Queensland’s Recreational and Light Commercial Marine Industry.

Established in 1973 as a non profit, non-government association, Marine Queensland strives to promote boating through industry leadership. The Association works to develop and promote professional standards and services for members and the boating public.

So you see this is an industry driven entity and not one that supports recreational fishing as such, but the commercial side of fishing and boating, although the tackle industry representative group is a member of MQ.

If you have anything to say to them about the show, good or bad, please feel free to provide feedback to them at the following contact details.

Unit 10, 1029 Manly Road
    Tingalpa, 4173

T: 07 3172 1444
    E. info@marineqld.com.au

cheers LP

A vendor at the show told me it was $1500 for a 3x6m patch of dirt. They provide their own display shelter etc....

Marine Queensland, aka 'Marine-Queens', is, IMO, a self serving business that claims to be the "recognised voice of Queensland’s Recreational and Light Commercial Marine Industry."

The Marine Queens support Retailers and Manufacturers, ie those who make regular advertising investments. Small businesses involved with engineering, custom work, specialised repairs and builds are not necessarily included in that description.
    (That excludes mobile mechanics, Canopy/trimmers, detailers, fibreglass shops, welding and fabrication workshops and all kinds of repairers. And good luck boating without Them)

A former employee of the Marine Queens told me that their annual budget is largely made by managing boat shows and charging exhibitors (ie their own members) a premium for their space.

I am sure the success of this weekends' event will be added up tonight in dollars. Not considering the satisfaction of the public or the industry.
    So really, the whole show is just about a business trying to make some bucks. Nothing more.

It was a split between two of the 4x4 organisers that brought about two different shows. The one in March is not the real Boat Show, that will be in September. It's sad that the original concept of the Tinnie and Tackle show has died. Bugger all tinnies and bugger all tackle. The dust from the off road track made that almost unwatchable. I think I'll only be heading to Sanctuary Cove this year.
    Dale

I fish because the little voices in my head tell me to

There is a new one at Redcliffe next weekend too. http://bayexpo.com.au