manly harbour boat show
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: manly harbour boat show

manly harbour boat show-what a waste of $13.

Used to be tinnie and tackle show at the RNA grounds. Seems they have parted ways with 4x4 show and set up their own down at Manly Harbour this weekend. Bit blowy to head off shore tomorrow so I thought I would go have a look. Anyone else heading that way tomorrow?

Reckon there will be some upset/frustrated fishos Sunday morning if the weather forecast holds. Won't be anywhere to park their car and trailer.

Ok so an update. Went this morning walked around entire show in 30 min. Took longer to get a park as all parking within 1km taken by exhibitors. I got there at 0830 and all the local businesses had people/signs guarding their precious parking.
    Walked through the 4x4 section and thought reasonable effort but about 1/4 the size it used to be.
    Headed to the boats. Usual suspects displaying their wares but very little range on show. One or two boats from each builder. Prices certainly weren't tempting to open wallet.
    NO FISHING TACKLE, GEAR, RODS etc
    WTF must have missed it. Walked through again. Nope didn't see any. A sales person at Brisbane Yamaha offered to ring the organiser to see where tackle etc is
    Organiser couldn't tell him. Just said it would be near fishing stage. Went back that way. Only a couple of lads selling home made tackle. Really disappointed now so left. Saw token cheap chinese tackle stand near main entrance. Asked the people at the gate if there was a site map showing where exhibitors are located. Nope.

STAY CLEAR OF THIS POOR EXCUSE OF A SHOW. What a waste of time, effort and an ADO.

Re: manly harbour boat show

Where is being held exactly?

Ausfish Gold Member

being held at manly boatramp carpark, where coastguard etc is, has been closed since Monday for launching/parking boat trailor

you have to use the boatramp other side of marina to launch/park

Ah, thanks. Must get down there for a look around...

Waste of time and money. Parking is nothing short of disgraceful. In and out in 40 min. Hope the one at RNA in couple weeks is better

4 x 4 show/ caravan and camping is on at the metricon stadium Carrara gold coast at the moment

http://www.caravanqld.com.au/showsev...xhibitors.aspx

Quote Originally Posted by mull dog View Post
    Waste of time and money. Parking is nothing short of disgraceful. In and out in 40 min. Hope the one at RNA in couple weeks is better
    I see they charge $13. What does that get you? Was there nothing to see?

Save your $13 and go to the show at ekka grounds later in March
    Put it this way it couldn't be any worse

Got the feeling most exhibitors were wary about having too much stock exposed to weather and security that isn't as good as ekka grounds. For instance Northside Marine usually had an exhibit that at guess was 6x6m for their electronic gear in years gone by. This year a 3x3m gazebo.
    The on water test drives were a novel idea if you were wanting to buy there and then but only limited models available. Still think you would be better off organising a test drive of the model you want to buy outside of the show

I'll be heading in tomorrow... catch up at the Engel Stage. 11.30am..........

cheers LP

I won 3 free tickets to go, and gave one away at the gate. Very compact show, did not seem real big. Parking today near the show was bad. Plan to park near the free shuttle busses as I did and had no problems. Or park with the Lions or rotary club for a $2 donation on whymun rd and get the free bus. $13 entry for this show.
    the one at the ekka in two weeks is $18 entry.
    Can someone, anyone please like my facebook page? I need at least 30 likes.... Please

http://www.facebook.com/suncoastcivilwater

Ausfish Platinum Member StevenM's Avatar

I wrote them a email and asked for my money back

do not go, it is very ucked. Will gladly lend you a f to put in front of that.

30 mins for me.

asked for a exhibitor list and got nothin

Steven

Tinnie and TACKLE show Ha. Went today yes parking was poor.
    1. Fishing rods well saw about 6 that looked like old car antenna's and about another 8 that were $600.
    2. Tackle what tackle some unknown hooks, a few lures not a fishing reel in the place.
    3. Anchors a few to suit your 30-40Ft boat and priced to suit.
    4. Bait boards think I saw 3 all available for the big stores outside.
    5. I wanted a sea-anchor none there.
    6. Boat trailer bits 1 axle supplier nothing else.
    7. Live tank lure show out in the sun no protection for anyone.
    8. Food and drinks as usual 3 times the price of outside.
    9. Esky's ice boxes about a dozen 4 in boating area the rest in the 4x4 section.
    Yes the list could go on Tinnie and tackle show it is not. Oh if you want to see 4x4 stuff yes there is plenty and they even have a large covered area.

Organisers get your S.it together people take time and pay money to come to the events poor effort.

I Refuse to pay to goto any Boat / Tackle show. Why pay to go look at something you may want to buy? window shopping is free folks...! Next we will be paying to get into Woolies and Coles...!

Quote Originally Posted by kiwimex View Post
    I Refuse to pay to goto any Boat / Tackle show. Why pay to go look at something you may want to buy? window shopping is free folks...! Next we will be paying to get into Woolies and Coles...!

Mate after today I tend to agree. The only problem is that I have gone on the first day first thing for the past 5 years. Each time I have had specific items I was seeking. Managed to save several hundred dollars each year on the best price I could negotiate before the show. Specials tended to sell out quickly so first in best dressed.
    Also in years gone by nearly every imaginable trailer boats was available in one place making comparison very easy. When I bought my boat at the T&T in 2012 I was able to show my wife (& financial controller) 5 different boats that I was interested in all within 500m of each other. She chose my favourite without any prompting and a deal was done. My point is to see those same 5 vessels would have required me to go as far south as Springwood and north as far as Burpengary. No way she would have been so happy if we had spent two days doing what we did in two hours for less than the price of fuel we would of used otherwise.