Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Gold Coast mud crabs

Re: Gold Coast mud crabs

Quote Originally Posted by Phydeaux View Post
    I wonder how legal would it be keep my spear fishing gear in the boat ......i swear to God if I ever catch one of these pricks I will put hole in their boat and leave them there to sink
    Phydeaux, can't talk like that mate! Hurling sinkers etc etc. Braddles is onto it, deal with it within the law, there are enough AF members here to shut them down I reckon, if we all keep our eyes peeled and have the fisheries phone number handy. Off to print a Brother PTouch label right now.....

not in my books! I drop my pots in Logan river, friend owns some land and I use it to anchor my pots, one day a little dingy was there checking my pots and the guy said "your pots mate?" I said yes! wtf are you doing? he said "just checking your pots mate" and he showed me the middle finger and left ... I swear I felt like swing after him, next week 2 pots were gone.

these people are the lowest of the scum the fisheries will open an enquiry and do not much else unless you have solid proof, which if you have you have to check with the fisheries and demand a written explanation of the outcome of your complaint, else it just gets filed

Let's say you catch them red handed mate. I hope you are a front row footballer and know how to handle yourself..either way, start researching when visiting hours are, if you aren't up for assault yourself you might make headline news for all the wrong reasons. Just looking out for ya!

I'm not a front rower but i can hold my own. The reason people target specific groups to steal from it's because punishment from big brother is non existent. The way I see it these people take some pliers with them on a dingy an at the crack of dawn check all the pots and go home with a full esky, if they see a good looking pot they just take it, they throw the tags overboard and it's their property, unless you film them you have no proof and they won't be stupid enough to stay there so you can film them, they just move along like nothing happen. I'm against violence but sometimes you have to sort things out mano e mano

anyhow back on topic ... with the fresh up the river I think the mouth of logan river and Cold Coast should be crawling with muddies, i'm of dropping a few around the gateway bridge this weekend and see if I get a feed, haven't take the boat out for over a month

Spear gun? WHat spear gun? Must have fallen over on a mangrove root officer.

If anyone has facebook theres a page called crab watch QLD https://www.facebook.com/crabwatch?fref=ts could be good to get a name and shame album if people are caught red handed

Quote Originally Posted by Phydeaux View Post
    with the fresh up the river I think the mouth of logan river and Cold Coast should be crawling with muddies, i'm of dropping a few around the gateway bridge this weekend and see if I get a feed, haven't take the boat out for over a month
    Hey Phydeaux -- how did you go around the bridge? I have a few little spots between the bridge and the mouth - tried them around G20 time but nearly got arrested (long story) - must have been too early in season then as only got one legal buck..

I've been doing alright down Gold COast way - so have not bothered to go back in Brissy River.. I know they say its OK to eat stuff out of it these days - but the smells tell me otherwise some days - and thinking they have been burrowing around in that muddy sediment makes me worry a bit what is in the meat :-)

I see you are in Mt Gravatt area (Meet and Greet page) - Im in Salisbury!!

Brad :-)

Hit about 8 per pot, about 18cm each, all females! i all 4 pots, I think its been crabbed out

moved the pots to the channel markers outside in the bay and targeted some sandies, I'll let you know how it went when I go pick them out sometimes tomorrow.

yup I'm in upper Mnt Gravatt and normally launch from cos, if you go down the coast let me know, might tag along, got a 16 footer sky converted to center console

Hahaha bugger!

I would go today - days off mid week - but my Jeep is in getting the hail damaged fixed - and the little colt our second car wouldn't pull the empty trailer lol.

Next week hopefully!!

Good luck with the pots when you pull them tomorrow! Hopefully no one has shared your success.

it's interesting that the closer to the bridge from the mouth of the river side you are the more sandies you get, i had one closer to the bridge and was full of sandies, undersized and no muddies in that pot at all the others were full of females

I'll see if i can get out tomorrow morning to collect the pots, I don't expect anything in them as they would be emptied by now, would be nice if they throw some chicken frames or fish frames in when they empty them...

Gotta say i've never had pots lifted from the brissy. Ben

Headed to the bay today but after an oil change on the df50 I got there in the run in tides and only managed to lift one pot before the waves were getting too big and the tide was running in really hard. Baited and left the pot there and went home, going tomorrow morning to pick them up. I think the bay is safer for crabbing, these low life scums don't make it that far into the bay

tried to launch from brisbane port this morning at about 6am and was full, no car spots left so drove to Coms and was all good, din't take the fishing rods with me. Water was nice and retrieved all pots and got a decent feed. Will crab again next weekend but the amount of females was insane, two pots were absolutely full with them, I guess it's pretty fished out

Another thing for the bastards to steal! Those Gp Pros are expensive.
    There are cheaper cameras around but you just might need the resolution of a Go Pro to capture rego numbers and descriptions.

you can get the hunting cameras which have motion sensors like http://game-camera-review.toptenreviews.com