Thread: Mariner Pacer 22

Question Mariner Pacer 22

G'day Fellas,
    I'm looking at a Mariner Pacer 22. I've crawled all over the boat, tapped it with a mallet stem to stern and found it to be in very good sound condition for a boat built in the 80s. It has always been a trailer boat so has not sat moored in water for any length of time. She had the original petrol Mercruiser taken out a few years ago and replanted with the Mercruiser 1.7Ltr 120Hp Cummins (Izuzu) Diesel.
    So does anybody or has any body own/owned this same make and model boat?
    Does anybody know anything about their performance in way of sea keeping.
    They have a fairly sharp entry going back to what I believe to be an 18 degree deadrise at the transom.
    I'd particularly like to know how they perform running before the sea (in a following sea).

Any fair dinkim comment would be appreciated.

Reg .

Re: Mariner Pacer 22

I seem to recall that Mariner was the same as some other brand, like Bertram and Carribean, just marketed under different names and sold through different dealers, maybe a google search might turn something up? Have you taken it for a test yet? I reckon the small diesel would be cheap to run, but no speed boat.

A mate of mine had one and it went well in most seas. As I recall, it was a bit tender at rest because of the hull shape and the beam.

A review

http://www.boatpoint.com.au/content/...-pacer-22-9041

I would have thought underpowered with little diesel so I would check performance numbers at what revs as overworked the diesel won't last. The old mercruiser petrols were a strong motor and put out good HP.

Hope you have a big rig to tow it and check it as with a heavy trailer full of fuel and water that is a lot of weight.

Old hulls that thick are near impossible to test as they always come back with a good noise so you won't tell if wood in em is rotten etc etc.

funny how old kingswoods and XD fords an similar would have been towing these rigs with out a worry though these days so much has changed things used to be much funner thats for sure, this nanny country we are living in

Quote Originally Posted by Noelm View Post
    I seem to recall that Mariner was the same as some other brand, like Bertram and Carribean, just marketed under different names and sold through different dealers, maybe a google search might turn something up? Have you taken it for a test yet? I reckon the small diesel would be cheap to run, but no speed boat.
    A Mr Cotter started building these using a Pacer mold. He sold out and started Riviera and now is Maritimo I believe.
    The legend goes that he was bought out of Mariner by a Multinational mob and he said I'll get this company back for $10. A few years later they went into liquidation and he offered $10 and they naturally declined. So he took into account inflation and offered $12 and got it back and moved Mariner to his Riviera company.

Quote Originally Posted by cormorant View Post
    A review

http://www.boatpoint.com.au/content/...-pacer-22-9041

I would have thought underpowered with little diesel so I would check performance numbers at what revs as overworked the diesel won't last. The old mercruiser petrols were a strong motor and put out good HP.

Hope you have a big rig to tow it and check it as with a heavy trailer full of fuel and water that is a lot of weight.

Old hulls that thick are near impossible to test as they always come back with a good noise so you won't tell if wood in em is rotten etc etc.
    I agree that she would not be as agile with the little diesel compared to the original petrol. However the waters off Victor Harbor at at best only allow an average 15 to 17 knots. The current owner says he can sit around 20kts comfortably in a good sea. I'm mainly looking at an economical big boat to run and not that interested in rip tearing around. 90% of the time down here 17kts is tops.

Quote Originally Posted by BGG View Post
    A mate of mine had one and it went well in most seas. As I recall, it was a bit tender at rest because of the hull shape and the beam.
    This is the feed back I was looking for BGG. I was a tad concerned that the boat my be a little narrow in the beam compared to it's length (a beam to length ratio at the waterline of around 2.8 : 1) and the moderate 18 degree deadrise could make it a bit cranky at rest.
    I'm going on a sea trial on Monday and hoping for a cranky sea to test this out.
    Reg