Thread: El Spanos off Moreton Island.

Wink El Spanos off Moreton Island.

The alarm went off at 2.32am this morning. I made my way to Maccas place where the boat was packed and ready.

Departed the ramp and stopped at Amity as it was still a tad dark to cross South Passage.

With a run in tide and bugger all swell, the bar was flat and the conditions outside even better.

First Spanish hit the esky at 5am. Managed to bag by 9am.

3 fish to hard bodies, 2 to deadbait Gar and 1 to deadbait Slimie.

We missed at least 8, due to non hook up, short bites etc.

Fish ranged from 6 - 9kgs.

Only one other boat out there and plenty of birds working.

Home , washed up and filleted by noon. Doesn't get any better than that

Thanks to Macca for a great day, great fishing and great company.

cheers LP

Last edited by Lucky_Phill; 16-01-2015 at 08:40 PM.

Re: El Spanos off Moreton Island.

I smell a Mackerel curry coming up Phill......

Confidence.......the feeling you get before you fully understand the situation.

Well Dan..... it started like this:-

Nice mate ......you can tell they were bleed and iced properly.

Confidence.......the feeling you get before you fully understand the situation.

great report Phill, good fish and macca knows his spanish,
    Tangles KFC

That is one mighty fine lookin' haul. I gotta find some spots other than the bloody point...

Great report Phill. He must be a good bloke that Macca fella! I reckon you might be welcome on his boat anytime.

Good stuff. I trolled the Cape shoals 5am-7:30am with hexheads & divers for zip on Saturday...

What water depth are you finding the fish in this year?

Fishwrangler

Quote Originally Posted by fishwrangler View Post
    Good stuff. I trolled the Cape shoals 5am-7:30am with hexheads & divers for zip on Saturday...

What water depth are you finding the fish in this year?

Fishwrangler
    Interesting...

We fished in 18mtrs generally.

Friday with greenish water, bait and birds we did well.

Saturday with the water more blue, different wind and less current, no bait or birds and bugga all fish. The fish bit in the deep deep water ( pearlies and snaps )

Sunday, really blue water, bait etc around and had 2 on board in the first 100 mtrs of trolling.

I have no idea....

wind direction ? Current speed ? Moon phase ? Barometric pressure ? Tide ? Water Temp ?

Sometimes ya just gotta say " That's fishin " !!!!

LP

Too true!

I have a etec90, do you think this would effect trolling results over a 4stroke with regards to noise?

I typically troll around 8-10knots and get a few fish but find others generally do better.

Any opinions from other ausfishers welcome to input on this one

thanks

Fishwrangler

We were trolling at 8 - 10 KPH..... so a fair bit slower than 8 - 10 knots.

The noise will not deter the Spanish as they are inquisitive types and will often take lures / baits in the wash / bubbles of the boat.

LP

Quote Originally Posted by fishwrangler View Post
    Too true!

I have a etec90, do you think this would effect trolling results over a 4stroke with regards to noise?

I typically troll around 8-10knots and get a few fish but find others generally do better.

Any opinions from other ausfishers welcome to input on this one

thanks

Fishwrangler
    Definitely the Etec! Oh and we were in 13m not 18. Or was that a tactical manoeuvre Phill?

Nice fish Phill, thanks for the report! So how does the rest of that curry go? We had a couple of Spanish steaks for tea last night, but I reckon a bit of curry would be alright too! CheersAndrew

Spanish are great by themselves, as I had them in the above photo.

Several other ways to it.

1....GF is Rice Crumbs and shallow fried.

2....Plenty of cracked pepper and himalayan salt.

3.....lemon pepper added to a plain flour dusting and cooked in butter.

OR

450ml's ( 1 can ) coconut milk
    1 jar Thai Green curry sauce
    500 - 700gms mackerel " chunks "
    Lychees...

Put coconut milk and paste into a WOK with a little bit of olive oil / grapeseed oil. Bring to almost a boil, back off heat and add mackerel & simmer and stir for about 10 minutes. ( Or less )
    Then add pitted & sliced lychees and turn off heat. wait 2 - 4 minutes......... serve over a bed of Basmati or similar rice.
    Garnish with some Corriander and wash it down with a Lime Infused Cold Beer.

cheers LP
    Last edited by Lucky_Phill; 26-01-2015 at 07:58 PM. Reason: change of heart & spelling

Quote Originally Posted by Lucky_Phill View Post
    Spanish are great by themselves, as I had them in the above photo.

Several other ways to it.

1....GF is Rice Crumbs and shallow fried.

2....Plenty of cracked pepper and himalayan salt.

3.....lemon pepper added to a plain flour dusting and cooked in butter.

OR

450ml's ( 1 can ) coconut milk
    1 jar Thai Green curry paste
    500 - 700gms mackerel " chunks "
    Lychees...

Put coconut milk and paste into a WOK with a little bit of olive oil / grapeseed oil. Bring to almost a boil, back off heat and add mackerel & simmer and stir for about 10 minutes. ( Or less )
    Then add pitted & sliced lychees and turn off heat. wait 2 - 4 minutes......... serve over a bed of Basmati or similar rice.
    Garnish with some Corriander and wash it down with a Lime Infused Cold Beer.

cheers LP
    Thank you very much for that phill, the wife was nodding as I read that list out to her so it'll be on in the next few days! Cheers