Thread: New Motorguide VS the Ipilot thingo's.....

New Motorguide VS the Ipilot thingo's.....

Hey went in today to get a Ipilot st55 thingo thinking I knew what I wanted.......nek minnet.......salesman says......hey you checked out the Motorguide XU1 or something?........WTF..........but What?........Anyway I had finally decided on the Minn Kostya and wham.......ol'mate reckons they are a good thing.......infact better than the Kostya ......apparently their type of spot lock shizens on the Kota and Blaa Blaa Blaa...........

He said look it up on the net and look at some review's..........Fark I hate that........I would be now happily fitting it to the new little Barra boat along with the New Echomap 70dv I grabbed this morning.......What to do?......Confusing.

Confidence.......the feeling you get before you fully understand the situation.

Re: New Motorguide VS the Ipilot thingo's.....

At least you got the garmin 70DV.
    I bought mine from bcf couple week ago and havnt been out to try yet. Looks good

Is this the $500 thing they are advertising. I was going to look them up.

Quote Originally Posted by Seahorse View Post
    Is this the $500 thing they are advertising. I was going to look them up.
    Nahh it's the same price pretty much as the MK...........I paid $1060 for the 70dv from a local boatshop.....I personally don't do BCF.

Yeah, they did $990 on the sounder

From what I have been told by a friend that went for the Motorguide, when you are on spotlock you can move the boat a few feet by simply a press on the arrow keys whereas the Minn Kota you have to move and then re-engage spotlock (not sure whether that may have changed with the new remote but was definately that way when I had a Terrova). That was the way I understood what he told me anyway.

Dan- What happened to the 5m origin you sell it !

Quote Originally Posted by NothinSuss View Post
    Dan- What happened to the 5m origin you sell it !
    It's still in the drive way but yeah unfortunately it's day's are numbered........great boat no issues just not getting the use due to work commitments and so on........When circumstances change Origin will be first cab off the rank for a call on another boat similar for sure..........Sad to say but such is life...........

On another note I picked up a hardly used 435 trailcraft with a 50 yammy 4stroke with 66hrs for a song so i'll still have access to barra fishing to get my fix when time allows.

Trailcraft= sore back + wet as a shag. Maybe the small ones are ok, like the self draining deck though, not many tinnies with that.

I think a few lads at work here came and had a look at the origin.

I'm the same though tend to use the 4.3 heaps more than the 6m jobbie.

Yeah Ruddy bought it.........sore back wet ass naa.......just little barra boat for the Daly etc......It will be ok for what I want to use it for I won't be expecting anything like the Origin that's for sure,just a creek/river boat for day trips etc.

Dan- yeah well as for the leckie motors, flip a coin! Lots of Minn Kota gear around, some have issues some dont. I'm after one for my 4.3 as well, but not sure which is best V price?

Have a good chrissy an NY mate.

Hey mate, I had a motorguide for a few months now and love the thing! I haven't used a minn kota before to compare spot lock systems, but mine pretty much holds the spot within a foot or two. The jog feature of moving 5 feet by one press of the directional buttons is really handy when moving in on a particular spot. It makes fishing canals so much easier not having to worry about drifting into anything and just concentrate on my fishing!

cheers, shappy

Photo of indestructiblePC221014 (640x480).jpgPC221015 (640x480).jpgPC221016 (640x480).jpg i pilot shaft.
    Split along the whole length. Caused from shallow water operation. Hopefully to be replaced under warranty in new year.
    Ray

Motor Guide shaft would have bent and not been covered by warranty. I've had three Minn Kota bow mounts, all three are still going strong. My four transom mounts are still running well as well. My MotorGuide lasted less than a year.
    Dale

I fish because the little voices in my head tell me to

Quote Originally Posted by aussiebasser View Post
    Motor Guide shaft would have bent and not been covered by warranty. I've had three Minn Kota bow mounts, all three are still going strong. My four transom mounts are still running well as well. My MotorGuide lasted less than a year.
    The newer Motorguide has a composite shaft also,the dealer here sells both and have been given the right to do warranty claims and repairs on the MG with the MK they still have to send them south for repair/warranty so I'm leaning toward MG.....For some reason Darwin is a place you want to keep things locally repaired as there seems to be a habit of "send it south never see it again".

Time will tell if I have made the right decision.