Thread: F truck Question??

F truck Question??

Looked at some today, & the dealer said the 350 requires a truck licence to drive, which is not a problem as both Juna & I have one.
    I asked him whether this limited you to driving it with 0% alcohol reading, which he couldn't answer.
    I was looking at a 450 through the week which had dual rear wheels (they may all have, I don't know) & the seller said you had to have 0% alcohol, same as driving a truck.
    Anyone got accurate info on this??

Thanks,

Re: F truck Question??

Looking at the 2009 F450 for 82K ?

You have probably been given the correct info re licence. Apparently if you are purchasing a new F350 you need to make sure it's de-rated to 4995kg GVM or you will have to get a light truck license to drive it and it will have to go through a machinery inspection every year like any other commercial truck. Probably no way around it with an F450.
    What could go wrong.......................

Yeah I think you will find it's zero's in anything LR and above mate......I have HC and it's definatly no numbers when operating .

Confidence.......the feeling you get before you fully understand the situation.

Fishing without drink?? Just sounds wrong

Quote Originally Posted by Back In Black View Post
    Fishing without drink?? Just sounds wrong

Dont even contemplate it Tony!!!!

Thanks guys, but what I don't get is they are exactly the same vehicle, the only difference is the 350 has an extra leaf in the suspension, having 3, rather than the 2 in the 250, & the salesman said it is purely to firm up the back end of the truck to take extra weight on the ball.

I can't see why that would change the rules.

No Chimo, I didn't se that one. I saw a 2012 with 7000km for 119K I think??

Hi Tony

See http://www.carsales.com.au/private/d.../?Cr=0&sdmvc=1

It seems if you de rate the vehicle on the regn you can alter the licence requirements. Slightly nuts but that appears to be it (see post no 2) Its on the same wavelength as fitting a cargo barrier to a 5 seat sedan and then registering it as a 2 seat which affects FBT as well. One of mine bought a second hand ex govt vehicle that this had been done to and we had to change it so it could be used as a 5 seater again re insurance etc etc

If you guys have the ticket then why worry about it anyhooo.

Its not having the licence that is the issue Chimo, its whether its classified as a truck, & hence zero alcohol.

After 12 hours on the Hards, trust me, you don't cross the bar zero!!

My bad!!!.......................

But on the other hand http://www.qld.gov.au/transport/safe...blood-alcohol/

No booze for you if you go heavy Tony.

I was looking at the same car. There is also a 550 on the net that is around the same money. My biggest concern is duallys on the beach, I think they would be an issue. I am not sure about licence requirements but most people get them de rated for rego purposes to under 4.5t otherwise you will pay upwards of $2k a year to register it as a truck.

Hi Tony,
    I thought you were looking for something up to 4.5ton towing?
    Have a look at the link & scroll down slightly to the frame twist & downhill grade control videos.
    Impressive, but could be more a sales gimmick.
    http://www.chevrolet.com/silverado-2...ty-trucks.html

Hi Rob,
    Thats all I need, so why do you ask?? The sales guy said identical towing capacity, but the 250 with the extra leaf will tow better if getting up to 4 t or over.

He did say on the downside it will be a firmer ride without a load.

Watched that video last night. Interesting.

Could just see you taking the misses shopping in the new F truck, parking up over a gutter & not being to open the tailgate

Gday Tony,
    I did all the homework on the big trucks a few years ago. If you do a lot of research you will get a general feeling that the Ford trucks rate behind both the Chev and Dodge on most things. The Fords seem to have lots more issues - the yanks really do rate it behind the others.
    For what it's worth I've got a Dodge and it's brilliant.
    I was also looking at the 350 in all three models vs the 250. Ended up with the 250 because just ease of registration, insurance and the fact that someone else can drive me around if need be.

Tony, Why go the 350 if you don't need to? Especially if your only looking up to 4500kg towing.
    Like others have said, you need a light truck licence, zero alcohol, no one else can drive it, rego more expensive, roadworthy every 12 months.
    Unless you are buying a bigger boat?
    Yeah, the misses wouldn't be happy if she couldn't open the tail gate LOL.
    I'm steering more to the Chev 2500HD so shouldn't have that problem.
    I agree Brett, are the Dodge Rams still 6 cylinders? You could save even more Tony.......
    When are you buying Tony? As I'm buying one in the next few months.
    Maybe we can strike a better deal buying 2 at the same time.
    American Vehicles Sales in Victoria seem to be offering the best deals at the moment.
    http://www.american.com.au/
    7yr 250,000km Aust. wide warranty.
    Don't know about their conversion quality tho.
    At the moment Performax seem to be very expensive compared to others. (Nearly 10k more after you add all on roads & compare each other).
    Once I do all my homework & do all the sums I'll let you know my findings.
    Anyone looking for a 2012 - 200 series GXL White Landcruiser? ( No beach work ).
    Rob.

Rob, the sales bloke reckons if you are close to or over 4t( & no, I'm not declaring my weight publicly!! LOL) you will get a better tow with the 350, as it has the extra leaf & is firmer on the back end, particularly with good weight on the ball

No, I am not buying a bigger boat!! I'd buy waterfront first & put a jetty out.
    Leaning the same as you Rob, Chev 2500. Performax said come back in january as they'll have the 2015 Silverado in & he reckons there is a big improvement.
    The builder is starting in the new year so I am trying to wait till the new garage is done, but definitely 1st half of new year.
    No beach work?? Unlike some knucklehead we know of.LOL