Good day at Hutchies

Thread: Good day at Hutchies

Good day at Hutchies

Unfortunately I have been working weekends recently so I haven't been able to get out for a fish lately and if I had its been pretty ordinary, however looked at the forecast for Wednesday and a quick executive decision was made to head out to and have a look at hutchies and see if I could put my new out riggers to use.

I left manly around 3:30 am and headed to the northern beacons looking to pick up some live bait , after stuffing around at about 6 beacons we had a few livies in the tank I then decided to have a drift over curtain which resulted in nothing so I stoped stuffing around and headed out across the top of Moreton.

I stoped near flinders to set up and started trolling from the top of flinders out towards hutchies.
    The first 45 mins I passed a couple of bait shows on the sounder but no action and was starting to wonder if it was going to be a slow day anyway near the northern edge of hutchies the long rigger with a lazer pro on it goes off and after clearing the other lines I manage to land a 83 cm kingfish which was a nice surprise as I wasn't really expecting a kingie and it was a personal best for me, any way he goes in the esky for a feed and I do another pass over the bait and sure enough another little kingie pops up , this one gets let go to grow a bit bigger .

After clearing the lines I notice that one of the leaders looks buggered so I start replacing this and in its place run one of the braid outfits I have on board on a small overhead instead of the 8kg mono I was using on the other positions , I decided to troll north towards Moreton trench and after about 5 mins of heading north the rod with 50lb braid and 80lb leader that was towing a lively mack attack lures goes screaming off and I mean screaming I had to stop clearing the other rods to try and thumb the real as I t had already lost about 200m before I picked it up and it was disappearing that fast that when it put my thumb on it to try and slow it down some I actually burnt my finger so I had no option but to push the drag to sunset and about 15 seconds later it all went slack after I wound in the line it had broken the leader just above the lure I cant say what I was but would have loved just to get a glimpse of whatever it was as it went like a bat out of hell.

I finished replacing the leader and on the 8kg rod and started trolling some swimming gars as well as the minnows after about 20 mins of trolling the long corner rod goes off and as start to wind in the other a little black starts jumping about 30 yards behind the transom and I am stoked as I have caught marlin before on charters before ( thanks Smithy) but this was my first in my boat and I was going to have to do it solo any way I clear 2 of the other rods and the 3rd rod has some weight on it and I think that the little black has tangled the line or swam across to eat the gar any way I go back to original rod with the black on it think I will sort it out if I get the fish to boat and just cut the line when all of a sudden there is a second marlin dancing across the water about 50 from the original fish , holy cow I have just hooked my first and second marlin both at the same time.
    Now I was like a one legged man at an ass kicking contest because I was doing a whole bunch of strange things to try and wind in both fish like putting both rods in the transom holders and trying wind both at the same time which I can now say isn't that effective any way one of the blacks spits the hooks from the gar and gets his freedom so I can concentrate on the original fish after about 15 mins of careful manoeuvring I get the fish along side get a couple of photos , get the lure back and swim him along side the boat before sending him on his way.

I have just read Jsmfuns report where he also had a double hook up as well so it seems it was good day all-round over the top of moreton , I stayed out for another hour with a small amberjack ( and loosing another two rigs to presumably something toothy )and was really impressed with the out riggers as I didn't have one crossed line even with some sharp turns before heading home , all in all it was a ripper anyway hope you enjoyed reading this, cheers.Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1902.jpg 
Views:	94 
Size:	62.1 KB 
ID:	106656Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1899.jpg 
Views:	96 
Size:	38.0 KB 
ID:	106654Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1904.jpg 
Views:	95 
Size:	53.4 KB 
ID:	106655Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1900.jpg 
Views:	91 
Size:	61.5 KB 
ID:	106657Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1901.jpg 
Views:	92 
Size:	64.0 KB 
ID:	106658Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_1903.jpg 
Views:	90 
Size:	89.7 KB 
ID:	106659

Re: Good day at Hutchies

Well done on the solo effort mate. Sounds like it was a cracker of a day.

Bloody cracker mate, heading up for a fish in the bay soon . Good work solo

Great job to land even one of those blacks solo, well done.

Were you trolling divers only or skirts as well?

That's a good day out mate I trolled halfway to hutchies then turned back as I was only out for a half day surprising to get a king . Great work with the christening of the boat .
    i understand doing silly stuff but what a rush to see a marlin hooked up at the back of your own boat ? That's why we love it

Cheers scott
    happy days ahead summer is coming

Great report. Sounds a awesome day. Top effort-one up. Thankyou

Hi PROS,
    I trolled a mix of swimming gar some with wogs some without and diving minnows oh and a trembler that was last seen disappearing over the horizon. I didn't run any skirts at all though I had them in the boat as I was getting enough hits as it was.

Ausfish Platinum Member tenzing's Avatar

great solo effort there
    What kind of riggers/ poles did you go for.
    Did you fit them yourself?
    Brendan

Hi Tenzing
    Sorry for the late reply, I installed a pair of 4.5 m relax poles on the gunnel mounts also by relax and I decided to mount the bases on the side of my rocket launcher so I had a some stainless plates welded by a professional but other than that I did the install.
    Hunter

Good one Hunter! Matty texted me that you had got a double on!

What engine do you have and what was your total fuel burn from manly to hutchies and back, and what gear do you use to catch livies at the beacons, thinking about doing a similar trip one day.

Hi Smithy
    yeah I was pretty excited when it happened, also looking forward to the trip out with you in January!

Quote Originally Posted by creat View Post
    What engine do you have and what was your total fuel burn from manly to hutchies and back, and what gear do you use to catch livies at the beacons, thinking about doing a similar trip one day.
    Hi Creat , I have a 150 Etec and with the run from manly to hutchies and back and a few minor detours to the beacons and trolling for approximately 4-5 hours I went through around 110-120 litres of fuel, it would be cheaper to drive to Scarborough and cross the bay from there or leave from bribie but I like the fact that when I pull the boat up at manly I am only 3 mins from home instead of another 45min - 1 hr in the car
    With regards to jig livies I use a standard bait jig usually with a bit of pink or yellow in the available from any tackle store or BCF just the same as most people , I have it rigged on a sabiki rod a el cheapo overhead reel with 30lb braid . I don't bother with putting bait on the bait jig but some people do so ! hope that helps

Ausfish Platinum Member tenzing's Avatar

Thanks for that Hunter
    Looks like you have them dialled in too.
    Brendan

Well done. Good to see a few blacks swmming around down there.Great effort by yourself