Thread: Off shore current off Straddy

Off shore current off Straddy

Tried to fish 30 Fms off north Straddy yesterday. Fastest current I have ever experienced. Impossible, even using every technique. Running the lines out whilst heading into the stream got the baits down. winding in as fast as possible got some nibbles, but no quality and just bloody hard work. An 18 footer which looked like it had 5 blokes on board--Ok--they were Asians and small, anchored up, and it looked like they were on the plane.
    No more bottom fishing in Nov. for me. Any Macks on the Goldie yet?
    Cav(J.C.)

Re: Off shore current off Straddy

It was the same on Sunday. We guessed to be 3.5 knots.

Ausfish Platinum Member Crunchy's Avatar

You just saved me a wasted trip!

C

a mate went out tuesday and found it to be3.2 knts and climbing and with all that current people were still trying to drift at the wave rider and one idiot nearly pierced his suzuki motor on the bowsprit this whilst he was in reverse trying to get away lots of polite words were then passed on to no avail said boatie just motored up and restarted his drift maks you wondere

We went out Sunday also to Cathedrals area, drift started out about 2.5 knots and by the time we left was 3 to 3.5 knots. Got a few squire at the start but shut down once it picked up.

Seemed to take forever to get through the group area on the way back I reckon there was about 5 knots of current pushing through there in the arvo. Craziest current I've seen there so far.

We were out Sunday also. Straight out from the SP bar in 140m. Lucky to be 1-1.5 Knots. On the way back we stopped at the CSIRO buoy to see if anything was swimming around there and it ( current ) was ripping through. Funny eh. Roaring in close but a trickle out wide.

Quote Originally Posted by One more drop View Post
    We were out Sunday also. Straight out from the SP bar in 140m. Lucky to be 1-1.5 Knots. On the way back we stopped at the CSIRO buoy to see if anything was swimming around there and it ( current ) was ripping through. Funny eh. Roaring in close but a trickle out wide.
    Interesting. Really noticed it was rougher in close also on Sunday. Once you got to about the 50m + depth it calmed off a whole lot.

How did you go out at that depth if you mind me asking? Was thinking I would like to head out that far but not sure if I'm pushing it in my 14'' tinnie. May have to wait for winter when the weather is more stable, so I don't get caught out there in the rough. Hopefully have an electric by then also.

I fished the 33's and 35's off Moreton on Monday and we had no run no fun.
    12 oz lead just sat directly below us and the floaters with a 4 ball were finding the bottom.

Bait is better.

Quote Originally Posted by Daveje View Post
    Interesting. Really noticed it was rougher in close also on Sunday. Once you got to about the 50m + depth it calmed off a whole lot.

How did you go out at that depth if you mind me asking? Was thinking I would like to head out that far but not sure if I'm pushing it in my 14'' tinnie. May have to wait for winter when the weather is more stable, so I don't get caught out there in the rough. Hopefully have an electric by then also.
    Yeah the further we went the smoother it got. Was great conditions out there. Fishing was slow though. Got a nice bar cod @ 15kg, an AJ around 5kg and a handful of 40cm squire.

I fished the 24's and at one stage there was no current at all, had a bust up behind us at about 10am in glassed off conditions and through a placcie into it and got a little dolphin fish to the boat but dropped it.. then his mates (8 in total) decided our boat was a cool FAD and swam around us for 15/20 mins but just would not touch anything we through at them.. i must have changed lures and techniques about 10 times min.. little buggers. wasnt having anytrouble getting a 1 oz plastic to the bottom, we got one ok snap at 60 and a few in the mid forties but no joy on live squid and yakkas... Hurry up mackies!!!
    Also apart from the dolphin fish did not see one single bust up anywhere.
    dont knock on deaths door... ring the doorbell and run... death hates that!!