Thread: What would you do/say in this situation ??

What would you do/say in this situation ??

Went for a fish yesterday afternoon with a mate at a ramp near where he lives.
    He hadn't take his boat out for quite a while as he has just home after finishing work in north Queensland.
    We got all the gear ready & proceeded to the ramp at 2pm.
    When we arrived there was a guy parked on the ramp throwing a cast net & he also had 2 handline reels set up on opposite sides of the ramp.
    My mate didn't say want to him anything in case the guy damaged his vehicle or trailer while we were out on the water.
    We put all the gear in the boat & I walked down the ramp while my mate reversed the trailer down to launch the boat.
    I approached the guy & asked if he would mind winding in the handline on the clear side of the ramp while we launch the boat so the line doesn't get tangled around the motor.
    He mumbled something about bringing his boat tomorrow & walked over to wind in the handline reel.

We launched the boat & my mate parked the car.
    We decided to fish close to the ramp due to hearing about a few incidents occurring at the ramp recently.
    It is an isolated ramp with no security cameras.
    The guy parked on the ramp for another hour.
    I counted 6 vehicles just coming down to the ramp for a look.

Five throws of the cast net trying for some bait with 4 legal mullet in the boat with the biggest being 45cm.
    That was the first 10 minutes.
    Five more throws with only 1 sardine caught in the net.
    I took some bait so we decided to use that.
    We had 4 lines in the water with a few hookups being only undersize barred grunter being caught.
    No other fish caught.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Re: What would you do/say in this situation ??

Mate I suspect he let a ripper go in the car and he was just airing it out. I guess you are damned if you do and damned if you don't, you have no idea whether he is fair dinkum and just plain incourteous ( I can't spell so should have just used stupid) or a spotter for his mates to come down after you have disappeared. I am a bit like your mate, be polite and ask, then grumble afterwards but quickly forget the incident as some mothers do have them.
    If he was there for over an hour a call to the police that someone was seen loitering and canvassing the vehicles there might work, then again maybe not.

I know some people that would have put the vehicle in neutral & released the handbrake.

I would expect him to pull in the line running across the ramp but that's about it.There seems to be plenty of room there to launch a boat and pull it up to hold it.

Another option might be to say g'day and ask him how the fishing is..... gradually find out what he is up to and parked like that. Treat him like that and you might find he will keep an eye on your car & trailer. But if he is weird or argumentative, you would have the right to him to the local police.

I must have missed the point, I would have said hello to him and then gone fishing.

Tell him to get out of the F#$%ing road. Our rego's pay for the infrastructure.
    "We gave Howard the Arse now we have to fix Rudd"
    "Now we have to sort Gillard" F@?k me RUDD again
    Abbott and Newman what a great next few years "NOT"

Went to the inskip ramp recently and launched.there was this Car and trailer parked on ramp. Boat was fishing a few hundred metres away . Seemed like just pure laziness. Plenty of parks left at the ramp.

yeah we had a bizarro situation like that recently on the Logan. Old mate had parked his cruiser and trailer right on the ramp and gone fishing. Turned up in his boat after about half an hour; two early twenties blokes, says "sorry didn't think about that when I left the car here"...
    ...??????????? WTF?

Yeah parking your trailer and truck on the ramp whilst putting in and fishing is quite baffling.

However, if someone is just fishing with his car at the ramp's edge, I'd just go and have a quick yarn and see if the car can be moved. They will most likely comply. Most folks don't realise, and are just trying to get some peace and quiet in nature like the rest of us. It's an innocent mistake, in my opinion.

Cuzza

Launch your boat and park him in for the day. I had the same down home on a very narrow ramp. I just reversed keeping about an inch off his car he left just as I drove back up the ramp. KP

Seriously,some of you would want him to shift?If I couldn't get my boat in that space I'd give the game away.

My mate got booked after we went fishing out from Weinham creek at 8:30 pm. on a Monday night. The place was deserted and he parked around the front in Banana St. They still booked him. The examples above are just selfish ******. Don't care about anybody else. Where is a copper when you need one. A little correction would convert them into John Citizens.

Ausfish Platinum Member gr hilly's Avatar

I know a old bloke who parks very close to a ramp and has a fish there often he does not catch much but when he does get a fish its in the car and home to cook it he has fished out of a boat for 50 years he is to old now so he is restricted but to watch him at 92 enjoy a fish its better than going my self he has a little dance when he hooks up he watches every one come and go and he can't walk far so if you ever see this old salty at Carbrook say g'day he used to have a 32 ft Berty
    Cheers Hilly

That looks like the ramp at Howard? While there have been damaged cars there and at Wals Camp and Beaver Rock, the rumour is it was done by drunken young fellas, not old fishos at ramps. Ive parked at these ramps for many a long night over 6 years, and never had a problem with my car. Except for a large tree that came down at Howard and just missed my car by one metre.

I often encounted guys fishing from ramps around Fraser Coast. I just tell em that 'Im about to back down, is that OK' and they just say 'yeah thats fine, I was just getting ready to move my lines'. They all know trailers have right of way on a ramp.

If it a 2 lane ramp, I let em stay where they are, and go down the other lane. I must say, it does look like a 2 lane ramp there? Is your mate not confident in his reversing skills?

Fishing- It's only an addiction if you're trying to quit.