Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Rated Shackles

Rated Shackles

If travelling to or through NSW make sure the shackles on your boat=trailer and trailer-car connections are rated and stamped to the max gvm and boat weight.Been a blitz on lately with some very hefty fines handed out. Probably always been the case but I have been unaware of it.

Re: Rated Shackles

I think the last rumour said it had to be 1.5 times the gvm. They must have eased it a bit.
    Dale

I fish because the little voices in my head tell me to

Make it stop!

Funny stuff

Its double the fine if no cargo net as well.

Quote Originally Posted by Crunchy View Post
    Its double the fine if no cargo net as well.
    Funny, I just drove around Victoria and NSW there wasn't a bloody volleyball net to seen on the back of a ute, or a hi vest over a prop!
    Dale

Around here every man & his dog has a net on their ute, the cops have been fining for not having them on..

Quote Originally Posted by Barry Ehsman View Post
    Around here every man & his dog has a net on their ute, the cops have been fining for not having them on..

Have you been done for it?

I don't have a net over my ute and been driving it around for years and never had an issue.

Most of my mates are tradies and they don't cover theirs....

I was told that a friend of a friend of a friend got two fines for having his pair of work boots in the back of his ute, one for each boot.............
    Dale

Quote Originally Posted by aussiebasser View Post
    I was told that a friend of a friend of a friend got two fines for having his pair of work boots in the back of his ute, one for each boot.............

I was told it was a pair of thongs by my son's brother inlaw's first uncle on his grandmothers side.

That's nothing, I know a guy who got fined for each loose item in his ute, unfortunately he'd spilt a bucket of sand....

My mate got done $150 for a bag of cement in the back of his ute (unrestrained load) and the farmer down the road got the same for a pair of rubber boots.Went to auto barn to get a rated shackle and they were out of 1.5t,bloke there said the cops have been putting the cleaners through everyone,might be bullshit,don't know.I have been waiting two days for a response from Roads and Maritime so as to have something in writing but no joy yet.Interestingly I passed a cop this morning on the way to town who had a box trailer pulled over,he seemed interested in the tow ball area of the vehicle,that is he was bent over it having a play,but don't personaly know of anyone coping the touted $450 fine.

There is no law, there is a recommendation, if you get booked, take it to court. Do a Google search on it.
    Dale

Dale

Quote Originally Posted by banshee View Post
    My mate got done $150 for a bag of cement in the back of his ute (unrestrained load) and the farmer down the road got the same for a pair of rubber boots.Went to auto barn to get a rated shackle and they were out of 1.5t,bloke there said the cops have been putting the cleaners through everyone,might be bullshit,don't know.I have been waiting two days for a response from Roads and Maritime so as to have something in writing but no joy yet.Interestingly I passed a cop this morning on the way to town who had a box trailer pulled over,he seemed interested in the tow ball area of the vehicle,that is he was bent over it having a play,but don't personaly know of anyone coping the touted $450 fine.

Was this the bloke?

tow bar knackers.jpg