Gold Coast 36's Today

Thread: Gold Coast 36's Today

Gold Coast 36's Today

Well decided to take a day off stripping paint from the old Quintrex Project and get out for a fish.

Off from the ramp at Seaworld about 6 am to a good run out the seaway and to the bait grounds.

Lots of boats but not much bait coming on board for anyone - we caught about 15 small flatties but that was about it.

We cruised out to the 36s where we had had some success last time and were soon into the fish though they were quite small to start with but plentiful.

I don't think I have caught such a variety of fish in a session before with about 15+ different species coming over the side throughout the day, including a small Samson Fish which was a first for us.

We ended up with around 10 fish in the esky - quite a mixed bag - 4 x Snapper (Biggest 55cms), 2 x Tuskfish (Biggest around 50), 2 Pearlies and 2 x Parrot Fish.

There were a heap of Pearlies around just annoying all about 33-34 cms.

Lots of whales around and it smoothed out this arvo so it was a nice trip back in - tried trolling for a while but no luck.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	36s.jpg 
Views:	9 
Size:	61.9 KB 
ID:	105240

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	36s 2.jpg 
Views:	8 
Size:	73.4 KB 
ID:	105239

Re: Gold Coast 36's Today

Nice report blairv70 Always good to get a feed. Did you happen to go direct east of the seaway as I popped out there for a 3 hour fish yesterday morning heaps of fish on the sounder
    happy days ahead summer is coming

Sounds like good fun with plenty of fish being caught.
    How many Horse Power is your Mercury Optimax? Do you smell any 2 stroke fumes when in use? I'm tossing up between the 150 Optimax and 150 4 stroke at the moment and my only concern is wether the Optimax still smells like a 2 stroke as my 2 stroke Yamaha gases everyone out.

Bait is better.

Quote Originally Posted by Jsmfun View Post
    Nice report blairv70 Always good to get a feed. Did you happen to go direct east of the seaway as I popped out there for a 3 hour fish yesterday morning heaps of fish on the sounder
    We pretty much went south east to the 36s but did see s heap of fish on the sounder around the 24s and nearer the Seaway - it was time to come home then though :-(

Quote Originally Posted by FINICKY View Post
    Sounds like good fun with plenty of fish being caught.
    How many Horse Power is your Mercury Optimax? Do you smell any 2 stroke fumes when in use? I'm tossing up between the 150 Optimax and 150 4 stroke at the moment and my only concern is wether the Optimax still smells like a 2 stroke as my 2 stroke Yamaha gases everyone out.

Bait is better.

I have a 115 on the back on my boat and love the engine. I don't find it too smokey at all though I do notice it now I have full clears but again it is very minor. The fuel economy is good too - I burned about 28 litres yesterday for about 65 kms traveled so pretty happy with that (with 3 on board too).

Other thing is the type of oil you use - I get more fumes out of the specific Optimax and Quicksilver oil than I do from others which is weird. All in all though a good engine with plenty of power - WOT on a flat day is over 80 kph

And a Spangled emperor by the looks. Tuskfish and Parrotfish?

Quote Originally Posted by One more drop View Post
    And a Spangled emperor by the looks. Tuskfish and Parrotfish?
    Opps yes forgot to mention that one - have eaten fish the last three nights and have lots of crab bait now :-)