Thread: Whiting in the Rous last weekend!

Ausfish Gold Member ThePinkPanther's Avatar

Whiting in the Rous last weekend!

It was fish city with the whiting in the eastern part of the Rous!

Must have been at least thirty plus boats anchored all around us - we were killing 'em with worms - around mid morning and they were still on the chew when we bagged out at midday.

Caught the full one hundred (100) and all a great whiting size of around the 23 cm mark. Looked like summer whiting to me as all very golden with the yellow fins.

No diver whiting - thank God - and no blue nose as yet!

A few grinners and yellow tail to take their share and I even got a respectable parrot that just made the limit!

One of those days you would kill for, dead calm, heaps of fish, boat ran well, Mate was happy and a top feed with stacks of whiting roe to add to the fish-in-breadcrumbs!

If anybody can tell me where the reef is in the Pearl Channel I'll willing pass on the top spot!

Re: Whiting in the Rous last weekend!

The bag limit on summer whiting is 30. Sure they were summer?

Ausfish Gold Member ThePinkPanther's Avatar

We had three people on board, one a non fisher but I think that allows you to count (her) doesn't it?

Hope so as I have been using her (my wife) for crab counts and bag limits even though she just drives the boat and makes the coffee and bickies!

Sadly she won't help clean the fish but I'm working on it!

Thanks for reply!

No worries panther. Cant knock that mate.

They are winter whiting anyway just good size ones, been getting them there for a few weeks..

Reef in pearl channel not very hard to find and quite alot of it, just use your sounder

If ur not sure, just hold the whiting underwater and the winters will have spots show up on their backs