Whiting on weekend?

Thread: Whiting on weekend?

Whiting on weekend?

Who got a feed of winteries on weekend and where r they?

cheets
    greg

Re: Whiting on weekend?

Greg, they werent up the top of Rouse, just a few here and there, we just tried all the banks on the way back and finally found a great patch with some stonkers in deeper water, they moved around a lot
    Tangles KFC

What depth Tangles? In what direction mate?

Yeah I got a good feed but had to look for em. The spot I thought they'd be, I got bugger all so we moved a lot. I tried the bottom of the Maroom Banks, the Chain Banks, The Half Tide Gutter, the Rous..... And then I tried the first spot I went to again and they came on hard! Could barely get a line down to the bottom without getting smashed. Nearly bagged out but we ran out of bait. No worries, plenty of fish though. So for four hours nothing, then Bang! On they came. Might have been that bit more run in the tide that did it.

Ausfish Platinum Member kingcray's Avatar

Greg i was jus talking to an old bloke down at margate beach, he reckons hes been cleaning them up from the woody point jetty through the week. Must be worth a look around woody pt / margate.
    Dad reckons fishing is 10% brains and 95% muscle, the rest is just good luck.

Ausfish Gold Member ThePinkPanther's Avatar

Guys, it was fish city with the whiting in the eastern part of the Rous!

Must have been at least thirty plus boats anchored all around us - we were killing 'em with worms - around mid morning and they were still on the chew when we bagged out at midday.

Caught the full one hundred (100) and all a great whiting size of around the 23 cm mark. Looked like summer whiting to me as all very golden with the yellow fins.

No diver whiting - thank God - and no blue nose as yet!

A few grinners and yellow tail to take their share and I even got a respectable parrot that just made the limit!

One of those days you would kill for, dead calm, heaps of fish, boat ran well, Mate was happy and a top feed with stacks of whiting roe to add to the fish-in-breadcrumbs!

If anybody can tell me where the reef is in the Pearl Channel I'll willing pass on the top spot!

Thanks Dean. We always use to to get them just beyond the outside yellow bouy. May have to try again. We are leaving from manly in the morning. My turn to drive up there.

Ausfish Gold Member

Quote Originally Posted by ThePinkPanther View Post

Must have been at least thirty plus boats anchored all around us - we were killing 'em with worms - around mid morning and they were still on the chew when we bagged out at midday.

Caught the full one hundred (100) and all a great whiting size of around the 23 cm mark. Looked like summer whiting to me as all very golden with the yellow fins.

A few grinners and yellow tail to take their share and I even got a respectable parrot that just made the limit!

One of those days you would kill for, dead calm, heaps of fish, boat ran well, Mate was happy and a top feed with stacks of whiting roe to add to the fish-in-breadcrumbs!

If anybody can tell me where the reef is in the Pearl Channel I'll willing pass on the top spot!
    don't know if this is of help -
    Attached Images Attached Images

thanks for the tip pero, have you been fishing much or is work restricting you? again thank you, thankyou

Ausfish Gold Member

going tomorrow, taking a sickie.

Quote Originally Posted by ThePinkPanther View Post

I hope you WERE catching WINTER whiting or you said the wrong amount of what you caught because sand/yellow finned whiting only have a bag limit of 30 per person (and a size limit of 23) so if you bagged out at 100 fish then simple math says 3x30=90 or 4x30=120. only winter whiting have a bag limit of 50. not having a go at you just thought you might want to edit you "typo" before someone does

Ausfish Gold Member ThePinkPanther's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Gr0wler View Post
    I hope you WERE catching WINTER whiting or you said the wrong amount of what you caught because sand/yellow finned whiting only have a bag limit of 30 per person (and a size limit of 23) so if you bagged out at 100 fish then simple math says 3x30=90 or 4x30=120. only winter whiting have a bag limit of 50. not having a go at you just thought you might want to edit you "typo" before someone does
    Thats funny! I remember typing up a reply message following a PM on the same issue? I'll bet it was in a reply PM and not as a forum response! Bugga! Anyhow, thanks for the reply. I had the missus along to make the coffee and my 12 year old Grandson being the Chief "Grandpa, I've got a Tangle Guy" so i guess that comes in at 25 pp?