I got a kayak and don't need to worry about this.. But if I saw someone doing that..Even if he had a hot chick I would tell them to stop hogging the ramp and piss off after 5 min.
Try this
http://vimeo.com/67253679
Your on the money banksmister a new vid for the boat licence trainers to show when they have completed a boat licence cource and they can add boat trailer parking etiquette too.
I was wondering if we can hire the bloke with the shovel
It always amazes Me how a minority can spoil it for the rest of Us.
A few boats coming in at the same time at Spinnaker one arvo, and everybody waiting patiently for their turn to retrieve. Old Mate pulls his boat on the trailer, then him and Old Bud lean on the gunwales and start having a yarn for 10 minutes whilst it's still sitting on the bloody Ramp!
Don't these idiots have any sense of shame, or is it just stupidity? Dare say I wasn't the only one burning holes in them with my eyes lol.
One thing that is quite amazing is the difference between the public ramp and the club ramp - as a member, i use the club ramp at William St Raby Bay, and members are much more inclined to lend a hand and help each other out at our ramp, whereas as we watch the public ramp right next door, it seems to rarely happen.
i am sometimes there on nights when new members join up and if i get the job of giving them a tour, i always encourage them to help other members out and to have their boat and crew ready to launch and retrieve as quickly as possible. It seems to get through. The experienced ones dont need to be told much, but the newbies seem to appreciate the advice and soon understand the agro that is caused by poor etiquette.
Also, i guess maybe due to the club members being keener more regular boaties, they dont tend to stuff around at the ramps anyway.
A while ago i saw a young family launching (the boat was an imported Binliner) and it was pretty obvious that this was the first time they had launched their new boat. Mum had no idea of how to back down and was obviously very nervous, so i asked her if she would like to watch while I took over and backed it down the ramp for her. Didnt have to be asked twice! Talked her through the process as she walked beside the car, and they were very thankful as we helped them launch and get under way safely.
i reckon a bit more help and courtesy from both the people on the ramp and the onlookers wouldnt go astray sometimes. But you have to go about it the right way. Go in agressively and it just causes confrontation, in my experience. A freindly word and offer of help to do whatever is necessary get them off the ramp quicker is not guaranteed of success, but the chances are much higher.
Note to self: Don't argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience....
I would like to think its just inexperience. Not everyone has been in and around boat ramps for years, often I reckon its just guys who have just started boating or just bought a jetski etc. I usually just explain to them what I believe they are doing wrong and how it is inconveniencing others and have had a good response every time.
I wish everyone would turn their headlights off though when reversing down the ramp in the dark. Makes it impossible to see and reverse down next to them.