Thread: Hervey bay/Fraser in a tinny.. Need some advice

Hervey bay/Fraser in a tinny.. Need some advice

Hi fellas,

Mate and I from Brissie looking for some advice on spots to fish in Hervey Bay in a few weeks. We'll have a 4.2 Quinny 40hp yammy and chasing reefies on plastics and possibly chase some longtails/spaniards if they're still around? Might look at throwing big poppers/stickies for GTs too.

I've researched a bit and platypus bay sounds like it has some good reef, would this be accessible in the tinny? Also little woody and big woody come up a bit. Any advice on good reef to softie, grounds to troll or headlands to pop would be awesome!

Cheers Guys
    Chook

Re: Hervey bay/Fraser in a tinny.. Need some advice

There is a heap of generic marks on fishntales. Hervey bay forum. They are a start. A 4.2 is fine because the island shelter the bay

Platypus bay is about 60ks it can be a long run in crap weather both moon ledge and the arti can produce good fish early before the sun comes up there is a lot of current there between the tides. Not sure of any headland to throw poppers at.

Mate i go to rooneys very often .I have done 10 trips over 4 yrs in a 1988 4.3mt qintrex reef runner with a 40 four stroke tiller steer.You have to watch the weather , wind going across to moon point , fuel i take 125lts for 3 days of fishing . Running back with a nth easter can be very hard and rough.Its all about the planning.

Try the Arch cliffs 6 mile for good trevs, and Station Hill Reef towards Rooney's Point for an assortment in the right conditions. Both marks are readily available on the net. Also, beware of the westerly winds this time of year. She'll be pancake flat at Urangan, but get worse over towards Big Woody and beyond. A real bi&ch on the inside of Fraser past Moon Point, obviously. Much like Moreton. Pick your days with variable winds and you'll be fine in your rig.

Cuzza

Cheers for the info guys... That'll give us a bit of a start!

we're pretty experienced when it comes to bit of chop.. Been across to Moreton a fair bit and DI in some pretty shabby weather so as long as we take it easy I think we should be right. Ill be praying for that calm winter weather!

Thanks again

Im heading up there for a week in july and like mentioned before the arti's on the east side of big woody get a bit of a rap..if the weather is to crap you could always drive down to River heads and try the Mary river..

Ive just moved back after spending 5 yrs there. With my 4.1m Allycraft, I never had the need to go past moon point. The Arti reef at Big Woody has all you need. Good rsweetlip, morwong, squire and jew at this time of the year. Big snapper if your good enough to find em. Kingfisher jetty is good too.

The generic marks you get from fishntales are fine. You can chuck poppers over thos reefs for GTs, but its more of a summer species. See the biys at Fishermans Corner, Pialba, they were into GT poppers and will set you straight on the latest news. Check there facebook page for weekly reports. The tide really rips through this Big Woody area, so youll need 300ft or anchor rope to fish 50-60ft depth, and it really only produces fish on the tide changes.

Theres still big threadys biting around River Heads, and this is a geat standby spot for bad weather as it is protected.

The weather can change easily, so I didnt go up to Rooneys or Platapus bay, but I Know plenty who did in a tinnie. Just take lotsa fuel, and be aware of wind. You will get wet if the wind is over 10 kts.

Fishing- It's only an addiction if you're trying to quit.

Ill be up at rooneys in my 4.5 this weekend. Weather looks the goods

Hey geck,

In good weather how long does it take to get to kingfisher resort? How many K's over and back?

In July I would watch the Westerley's. In a South Easter the stretch between Moon Point and Woody get's a bit choppy but I much prefer Hervey Bay over Moreton Bay for sea conditions.