Thread: Vanuatu/Fiji

Vanuatu/Fiji

Heading over to Vanuatu for 7 days and Fiji for 3 days at the end of August this year for my 40th with the misses. Part of the deal was to have a couple of fishing charter trips.

Just wondering if anyone has been to either place and had some good trips they could recommend? Just a day trips. Going to Santo and Villa in Vanuatu and Nadi in Fiji.

Also does anyone know if its worth taking a rod/reel over with some lure etc to maybe slip down the beach late arvo and throw some stick baits around etc??

Re: Vanuatu/Fiji

I went to Vanuatu and other islands near there on a cruise ship.
    I had a little travel rod and reel ; some soft plastics and small lures.
    Each place the boat stoped I tried my luck on the water ; either from jetty or charter boat.
    The best experience I had was fishing from a dug out canoe with a out rigger ; caught heaps of Trout which they don't keep.
    The bait of choice was banana plant root to my surprise.
    Caught a massive Wahoo on 1000lb line and a home made lure . [ Battery terminal with lolly wrappers cabled tied and huge hooks that got straightened a few times ]
    Iám sure you'll have a blast whatever you choose to do

Cheers Graham

Re: Vanuatu/Fiji

I went on the cruise ships and specially at villa heaps of charter boats around the area ..... I'm at work at moment I'll get onto a mate of mine that went on a charter when he was there they got heaps of wahoo
    VHF CHANNEL 21
    CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges

Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)