Thread: Suzuki 175 4 stroke idling prob and parts cost fiasco

Suzuki 175 4 stroke idling prob and parts cost fiasco

Well I took the wife out last week on a calm night but came home early when the Suzy suddenly wouldnt idle anymore. At 900 hrs she is still ticking along just fine.
    Anyways i was educated enough to know the IAC valve on the intake side was probably the culprit and after a quick test found it wasnt working. Getting it unscrewed was tricky as the last screw is tucked away a bit and most people reckon you need to remove the flywheel to get at it.

Having established it was faulty, I had remembered reading on different forums that this part is the same as ones used in some Suzuki cars etc, so, knowing that the marine motor cost for the same part was likely to be dearer than the car one, I sought quotes from the local car dealer and marine Suzuki dealer. Shock horror, Marine motor price which is exactly the same part number as the car one, is $450.00 and the car one is $725!!
    While researching availabilty, I discover that this part is actually made by Mitsubishi and is used in a range of their vehicles as well.

So on Fleabay Aust i bought a mitsubishi one Brand new for $109.00 !

its astonishing how this radically crazy some retail pricing is, and it leaves no doubt that online shopping is worth the effort after the research.
    This part fits all Suzuki 4 bangers from 150 hp upwards, so just advising that if you ever have an idling prob, and it is the IAC VALVE, its worth researching a Mitsubishi original version.
    "let not he boast who puts his armor on, as he who takes it off"

Re: Suzuki 175 4 stroke idling prob and parts cost fiasco

Thanks for that. Yes, i had read that the Mitsubishi part is identical on our USA sister site THT. And that the cost is far cheaper as you have discovered.

Could you post the Mitsubishi part # here so if anyone needs it they have the right number to search for on flea-bay?
    Note to self: Don't argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience....

Its a Mitsubishi MD619857 exactly , it matches the Suzuki part 18137-52D00. The local Suzy parts man said that its not uncommon to replace these after a lot of hours. Im not complaining that mine failed after 900 hrs, just happy to replace at right price

The after parts market is a bigger money making cone than the actual purchasing of the engine.

Suzuki is well known to sell you the bargain engine, then ream you for parts. They even seem to "engineer in" some faults so they may keep the revenue stream pumping.

Yamaha parts are made of gold apparently going on the cost of them.
    Remember to always log on before heading offshore.

It aint just outboards. Had a bumper fall off a $10000 hyundai panel van. Replacement - Over a grand. If you try and build pretty much any item out of spare parts the costs are way out of proportion. It's a bit like someones signature - If you have them by the balls, their wallets will follow. Most of the time, you're a captive audience. Good to hear of the little man going one up in this case.

Ya cant really say an IAC Valve failing at 900 hrs is engineered in. Fairly good outcome I think.
    Cant really agree with that view, as have had largely trouble free boating from this motor and the part is made firstly for a Mitsubishi.
    Quote Originally Posted by The Woo View Post
    Suzuki is well known to sell you the bargain engine, then ream you for parts. They even seem to "engineer in" some faults so they may keep the revenue stream pumping.

And ol mate on ebay is making money out of selling for $109 so how much is this part really worth??

Ive saved heaps by owning a full service manual for this donk and by reading forums all over tthe world , the internet is such an amazing tool

This is the first thread I think I've seen where the 175 has had a prob so on that not why does mine rev a fair bit when I start it only 4 months old
    happy days ahead summer is coming

Mine revs like that goes up to about 2000 or so then drops down to apprx 650 rpm. So i dont think yours has a prob, i think its just the way they are set up. Does it always settle down to an idle?

Quote Originally Posted by odes20 View Post
    Mine revs like that goes up to about 2000 or so then drops down to apprx 650 rpm. So i dont think yours has a prob, i think its just the way they are set up. Does it always settle down to an idle?
    Yes most times it only started after the first service first time it happed it went to about 4000 it was screaming but since then about 2000 for about 5-8 seconds then down to a idol

Do they have an "automatic choke" as such like a car. The wife's camry does something similar.

I personally am unsure it does seem strange though