Thread: Crabbing the Maroochy

Crabbing the Maroochy

Been doing a fair bit of crabbing the last few weeks while we had plenty of fresh bait. If we stay and work the pots we get a nice catch over 3 or 4 hours. But if we leave them over night we only seem to get 3 or 4 out of a couple of pots and the rest have been raided. This can be anything from pots taken, bottom cut out or just crabs taken and pots left unclipped
    Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Attached Thumbnails - Click to enlarge Click image for larger version. 

Name:	17-10-10 053 (600x800).jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	99.7 KB 
ID:	102461   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	P1010065.jpg 
Size:	30.8 KB 
ID:	102463   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	17-10-10 050 (800x600).jpg 
Size:	72.2 KB 
ID:	102462  

Re: Crabbing the Maroochy

geez, that's good going for the maroochy...well done.

Heaps of sandies in there at the moment...was talking to a guy with three pots in on godfrys road side of the river and he had 12 ....no muddies...big schools of mullet were coming up the river Friday arvo we ended up with 30 or 40 all over 300mm ...
    There is a guy in a small tinny that goes out most weekend nights ...has no lights not even a torch ...he checks every pot in the water from twin waters up to the Maroochy river bridge.....Friday night he checked 10 or so along the north shore bank ....they cant be all his ...

Yeah I think we'll stop leaving them overnight.

did get a few big sandies the other day on yabbies no less in the depth near the bridge before the rain fell,measured over 15cms from 2nd tip to tip

good feed mate, what bait were you using?

Quote Originally Posted by Crossy93 View Post
    good feed mate, what bait were you using?
    yabbies lol on my whiting gear! got claw wrapped on 6pnd leader

Fresh reef fish frames.