Half price tickets for Tackle and Tinnie Show - Page 2

Thread: Half price tickets for Tackle and Tinnie Show

Re: Half price tickets for Tackle and Tinnie Show

Quote Originally Posted by Jsmfun View Post
    , I left there as the proud owner of a fully optioned Stessco SFX450 pushed along by a Yamaha 3 cyl oil injected 40...The missus threw me a curve ball so to speak, never saw that one coming in a million years, bless her.

that's awsome congrats there is no better surprise for a fisherman-woman than a shiny new boat. might even be able to christen it with a longtail that would be nice. many years of bliss ahead
    cheers scott
    Thanks Scott,
    Mate you don't understand how badly I want to tangle with a Longtail, all started a few years ago spinning off the rocks in Coffs, they always eluded me, maybe there just might be a glimmer of hope now?

Quote Originally Posted by Whoofa View Post
    Ill never forget a mate of mine going a few years ago and getting a so called show special price on a boat motor and trailer package. On his way home, he dropped into the boat dealership that supplied him his quote at the show, and obtained another quote on the exactly same package. The quote from the dealership was less than his quote supplied from the show.
    Hey Whoofa,
    Yeah I reckon there would be a few specials that were'nt so special but I've been inadvertently dreaming about upsizing my tinny for the last 6 months and perusing every edition of QFM and B&B for suitable candidates should I be lucky enough to get the stamp of approval from the Finance Minister.
    The package I bought yesterday was after about 3 hours of drooling over every type of tinny you could imagine and then finally the bombshell of being able to get one. Not often you get a 4.5m hull with a decent motor and fully optioned for the amount I paid.
    Must admit that seeing likely candidates on the pages of a magazine and then being there and comparing apples with apples makes some market leaders in tinny types look disappointing up close and personal. A real contrast to how they seem from a few ads and a fluffy photo.
    I guess it's like buying anything, you need to do your research. Was an awesome experience though, like all my Xmases came at once.

I went to the show on Friday for most of the day with a mate.
    Took the train in so we could have drinks & get a feed at Mad Mex after the show.
    Was disappointed to find it closed along with most shops & the centre of the valley mall a construction site.
    Took some lunch (foot long & a drink) from subway at the train station as the food prices were expected to be overpriced.

Went to see Paul Worsteling from IFish have a question & answer seminar at 3 in the arvo at the Engel fishing stage.
    During the session there were some giveaways for asking him questions.
    At the very end a question was asked about the name of a lure that was to be given away.
    The name of the lure was mentioned during the session.
    I managed to put up my had first while a lot a people turned around to see the name of the display.
    I was chosen & walked up to the front of the crowd to collect it.
    I shook Paul Worsteling's hand & he said congrats.

The lure is an Australian handmade wooden one.
    The name of the manufacturer is Dugong.
    They are worth about $35 retail.
    Correction $44.95, I just looked at website >> http://www.dugonglures.com/

The one I have has the autograph of Paul Worsteling on it.

I also got a hat & fishing shirt signed after the session finished.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Didn't make it there this year.
    Only ever go there to dream/drool at the boats and other goodies.
    Have never worried about fishing tackle as usually cheap & nasty or no cheaper than from the shops.

IMO they should drop the 'Tackle' out.