Thread: Kauri Creek Tin Can Bay

Kauri Creek Tin Can Bay

Heading up to Kauri Creek In June (1st time ever been there) what can I expect on the fishing front & any other general info about the area..

Re: Kauri Creek Tin Can Bay

Sand flys and $hitloads of them. Nice spot off peak

Hi Paul,
    Just spent the weekend there, place has been flogged as far as i can tell, top of the food chain is prawns and poddy mullet. Heaps of boats/campers/fisher people + pro's hit it.

Its a nice spot to camp, plenty sand flys.

Chong

Can get good bream/whiting at times, pump yabbys or flick plastics

Mate when fishing Kauri creek fish the small creeks the run into the creek this is where the threadies, barra and estuary cod lurk. Have to agree there are plenty of sand flies by day and mossies by night.

Use woolies brand spray for the sand flys and mossies! cheap and works just as well as bushmans!

Thanks chaps for your advice , sounds like we will need to bath in repellent to keep the buggers away .Will post a report end of June after we come back .

not much. place is devoid of life. gets hammered by the pros. WHERE'S THE WHITING GONE!!

The pros up there do decimate the estuaries I only wish the govt would buy them out to allow the fish stocks to recover. The pros also decimate the grasses that the Dugongs like to eat

Well.. our 4 day winter fishing trip is on this week end ( kauri creek ) will hopefully be able to post some pics of a few good fish on our return , either way I am sure we will have a ball.

Quote Originally Posted by grinner2 View Post
    Well.. our 4 day winter fishing trip is on this week end ( kauri creek ) will hopefully be able to post some pics of a few good fish on our return , either way I am sure we will have a ball.
    Have fun! Good luck and I hope you hook a few

weather looks fantastic for you. well managed!

No doubt we will have heaps of fun & laughs along the way .
    Sheik... its about time I jagged some reasonable weather , usually it blows its guts out when I pack the tent & rods up .