the excitement of hearing our reel drags scream,and to get away from our missus
welcome back mate
It was just 4AM yesterday morning. I am hoping not to get a speeding ticket as I tear down Redland Bay Road. Another squall of rain has just finished.
I am taking the morning off work, even though there are customers waiting, things to be done, and money to be made.
The weather forecast is for 20kn of South Easterlies. Yet, we are headed offshore. Somewhat urgently, as well.
The boat ramp at Victoria Point is now a potentially useful facility so the decision is made to launch a twenty two foot/2tonne plus rig there, for the first time, in total darkness with a very low tide, and do it quickly. Then its just a simple case of navigating a new area of moorings and sanbanks and an incorrectly placed channel marker - yes - still in pitch black darkness. And we are gone like the wind.
There is a ute load of crab pots on board. There are 4 rods that would cost way over 2k to replace, maybe 40 lures, 400L fuel, Radar and dashboard full of electronics.....
Meanwhile, back at home, our families and neighbours are still asleep and unaware of the two crusty old mariners slamming across the bay whilst wiping salt water from our eyes and also our iphones, as we monitor messages from our like-minded freinds. And there is no place we would rather be.
Both of us have challenging full time jobs. In fact we run our own businesses. 7 days a week of real life challenges and opportunities abound. We should relax and rest in our limited free time or serve family committments. We can buy anything we want....We need a poor dead fish as much as we need a flat tyre.
So there is just one small question. Can anybody explain why we do this?
the excitement of hearing our reel drags scream,and to get away from our missus
welcome back mate
OMG, you've been reading my mind!!
I don't fish very often, but I do several, multi day trips per year, and I always struggle for the first day and a bit. "How will the business go without Me?". "Are the kids and wife missing me as much as I miss them?" can I really justify spending a considerable amount of $ $ $ s on such a pursuit?"
By the end of day 2, I'm normally fully chilled out and enjoying every minute.... and planning the next adventure
fruit salad is the new Bacon
20140301_094314 (2).jpg20140301_081251.jpg
Tuna were breaking up all over the place that morning. There were often schools actively feeding on the surface in two or three directions from us at the same time.
I don't know where all the birds come from but there were hundreds of them as well.
So there we were, two guys with all the gear and dozens of tuna feeding nearby. Every fisherman's dream.
At Home that night, whilst having ham & cheese sandwiches for dinner, I was sitting in disbelief at having caught NONE of them. Still am.
And that my fellow AFer is why many before me called it fishing and not catching to quote the unknown wife!
Its still damn nice to be out somewhere bobbing around!
What could go wrong.......................
You want to know why Pauly.....
Cause in the last 10 days I have fished from the Burrum Riverin the North to the Seaway in the south. Seen Turtles, Dolphins, Dugongs,Sharks and as many types of birds as you would care to list, Caught Threadfin,Mangrove Jack, Bream (both Black and Yellowfinned), Cod, Flathead, Tarpon,Trevelly, Spotty and Spanish Mackerel, Tuna and cast netted Prawns I have also caughtboth Mud and Sand Crabs. I have spent approx 50 hours on the water in that timewith great mates having a laugh and solving all the world’s problems. And inbetween all that I have come to work and enjoyed every minute of it becausewhen it turns to shit at work I don’t let it bother me because I realise it’sjust filling in time between fishing trips!
In that 10 days I would have been lucky to see more than acouple of hours of TV!
And to top it all off I have even managed to put some fresh seafoodon the plate at home!
Our lives as fisherman are just one big wildlife Documentary.Some people just don’t understand and probably never will. I have a few peopleat work who think I live a sad existence because I live for fishing....Thesesame people complain how they had a boring weekend or spent all weekend justwatching TV..... Tell me who is living a sad existence!!!
Had a good mate of mine come out last thursday who never gets up at the time we went out.. caught a few big spanish macks as the sun was coming up, seen a few dolphins big turtles a shark and a heap of tuna going nuts on the surface.. On the way in he says "now i think i get it Nath, No wonder you love it"
Its just the best thing on earth to get out see all that the ocean has to offer and if your lucky get a few fish as well
2-3 hrs to get ready and get to the boat ramp. Anxiety is starting to grip. Rods, are there enough? plastics? get em all or a few, fishing plastic and or bait? both, bungs in? fueled up? which eskies? thermos? black tea or white coffee? cold pies from the freezer or sango's? biscuits? how long will be out 8hrs 12 hrs? more food. Cold water. Don't forget the bungs. Beacon to beacon, hand held gps. Got everything.
Of all the things I've lost, I miss my mind the most.
At the ramp, unloaded on the water.
With a flurry of smoke and a were off.
AHHHHHHHHHH . The Serenity.
2 to 3 hrs to get ready!!
I can be pulling out of the driveway in 10 mins at most....Mindyou I don’t take food but still...
What takes 2 to 3 hrs?
Because its a prime evil urge to hunt and gather.
You beat me to it Chris69, its about being at one with the elements, the ocean, taking on nature, adrenalin & risk in an otherwise namby pamby life we lead in modern times (Unless your a MMA cage fighter then I guess that would fill the need too).
Hey Paul
I've given up wondering why.
Like the Nike signature " Just Do It"
Cheers Dazza
1 hour drive to Spinnaker, includes getting bait and fuel if needed. Boat is under a tarp out in the open backed up to a 1000 lt tank with the motor in water. Do not leave rods etc in boat due to mold etc. Apart from the usual loading of rods etc, there is the starting and run the motor for 10 mins, batteries in the gps, hook up the boat and being a bit forgetfull, one tends to double check often. The boat is a half cab glass, so a bit of climbing in and out and packing. Probably pack in to much, but it is such a release to be out on the water I don't just fish the high or low tides. I like to spend a lot of time in one hit, move around and love the night time when it is quiet. Hope that gives you a bit of insight to why it takes a bit of time. Once I move to Bribie I expect to be out a lot, 3-4 times a week, so things and times will change.
Last edited by Gon Fishun; 03-03-2014 at 02:29 PM. Reason: Grammar
You answered your own question in your original post - why do we do this?
"There is no place we would rather be"
Simple
good question Fatbouy, Crunchy and Chris69 both beat me to an answer
it is a need that defies words and goes deeper than any of our reasoning
it is something that we do, it is the reason new countries were found, we are the modern expolorer
without our sort everyone would still be in Africa dodging spears and lions
it is hunter and not gatherer (bloody women's work, that's why they love to go shopping)
it is how families were fed before woolies came along
just as important as procreation
it is the reason we live and a reason to live
I can't fight it or even try
there is nothing that stands in my way when the urge takes hold
this has got me into lots of trouble over the years but take it away from me and you might as well steal my last breath
IFISHCQ2