Thread: Best Mono Line For handline

Best Mono Line For handline

Ask this question cause i like using a handline when i get into good trout on the chew , otherwise its Rod as usual. One of my fav handlines which i cannot remember the brand but have had it and been using it for over ten years now is starting to develope a wee bit of memory and causing me pain with tangling and just when i get into good fish.
    Read about dragging it behind the boat stretching it but dont help at all so thought ide just bight the bullet and replace it..
    Which line lays flat , nice n silky without too much stretch??..

Re: Best Mono Line For handline

only one choice for me Volvo.

80lb schneider. bit slippery when new but will be all good after a coupla uses.

60lb for the lighter stuff.

Moffy

Yes and because of what Moffy said run some light sandpaper through it when winding on to take the gloss off. Works a treat.

Thanks Moffy and yes do have some sneider on one of my handlines , good as it is i find it a tad thick in diameter. One ive mostly used all these years is a light game line though cant remember the brand. Thin diameter it is and used to lay quite flat though now it tangles and causes me headaches so thought it time to update..
    Was looking at some Shogun Ice Blue as its .81 diam for an 80lb line and looks like it might lay nice n flat on the deck when in use??...
    Might have to suss it out a tad more??..

The thick diameter is one of the good things about it. Less brutal on the fingers. Add some bike inner tubes to protect the fingers and you'll be good to go.
    i do think though that pulling the other line behind the boat for 15 minutes at speed though should sort it out. I reckon it's worth another shot. Just wondering what speed and how long you tried it for?

Yes might have to tow it behind the rig see how it goes but then again a new nice shiny line will look better in the handline creel ey..ASfor thick handlines i'm not really a fan of , ive had no probs with the diameter of this particular line and have a shyteload of fingerstalls cut from used bike tubes and they give tremendous grip without cuts or burns and been down the track at times without the bike tube and at days end prefer the use of the tubes..
    As or the light sandpaper idea?? remember some years back a workmate asking the question of how to take the memeory , knots n bumps out of his handline and advice given by his goodforever workmates telling him to stick the spool in the microwave for a coupla minutes!!!! ....
    No prizes for guessing what happened lol.
    Although ive no doubt the sandpaper idea might do the trick for grip...

Can I ask what may seem like a stupid question. Why would you want to use hand lines?

Buy a BMX tyre tube and cut it up for finger stalls there thicker on the bottom and towing the line dose help but you have to tow the whole line 150 to 200 mts and fast than a idle 7-8 knots for around a half an hour and wind it on at that speed and you will have a well packed hand line pre stretched and no twists and on the swains we used schneider 50lb and 70lb.

Quote Originally Posted by NArmstrong View Post
    Can I ask what may seem like a stupid question. Why would you want to use hand lines?
    Heaps better in shallow water float lining for trout and lipper.

Quote Originally Posted by NArmstrong View Post
    No such thing as a stupid question mate, I mostly use Rod n reel for my Fishing BUT!!! when in Trout Country and they are on the chew the rod gets put away and the handline comes out..Why?? because i want them in the icebox and not take me under a bommie as sometimes happens with Coral Trout and Fishing Rods ...
    Again depends on the country your fishing in i guess..

schneider or maxima. both are good.

BigE

Super Schneider was all we ever used as handlines for jew etc..... I've never catch coral trout on a handline but still it's great stuff and cheap.

Ausfish Platinum Member gr hilly's Avatar

Gday all, Schneider this line has been a good mate for years i also use it as a leader line in the rocks,cops a bashing.

Hilly.

I can't imagine using sandpaper on any sort of line, when you are talking about 80pound line, who cares what brand it is? Towing the line behind the boat will indeed take out twist, but it will not remove "memory" also, no need tow it for 15 mins

Well thereyago ey, in the quest for the holy grail of handlines one should never bypass good ole "Ebay" ey, Took a punt and ordered an 85 lb line and 1200 mtrs of the stuff as took a run out wide last Monday and the Wifes handline which she also has owned fer yonks ended up in birdsnests all over the place. Gave her mine to stop her fretting and having her blood pressure come on the broil lol..
    This 85lber arriver yesterday and apart from its diameter being nice n thinner then my previouse line the suff lays nice n flat on the floor/deck which made me sit up and scratch the noggin so ended up ordering another two spools..
    fergot to mention not much memory from knot burn when tying to hooks or swivels etc and that normally means something, for me at least....
    Whether it stands the the time n tide over years like my previouse handline i dont know but at $28 for 1200 mtrs im happy to take the punt...So thank you all for your time and advice ey...