Electric Winch or Minn Kota i-pilot

Thread: Electric Winch or Minn Kota i-pilot

Talking Electric Winch or Minn Kota i-pilot

Hi, I was just wondering if anyone has experience in either of the above?

A mate told me about the i-pilot.....it looks good, but after chatting to a guy in BCF, he thinks id need the 80lb thrust model, which is expensive.

The guy who sold me the boat will sell me a free fall winch at a good price, which i think will be cheaper than the i-pilot.

When i go fishing, its only to the Reef.....my boat is a 5.45m half cabin fibreglass

Any advice is appreciated

Ant

Re: Electric Winch or Minn Kota i-pilot

A lot of blokes I know have an ipilot. You never need your anchor again unless you want to anchord over night. Anchor winch ia good but just not as handy

2k for a whinch installation
    ipilot plus two deep cycle batteries t get 24v plus specialised charger

Ausfish Platinum Member Camhawk88's Avatar

I'd go the I pilot plus an anchor ball for when you do want to anchor.
    Then again that is a deckies job and as skipper you should not concern yourself with such trivial matters as anchor pulling.
    Unless your wife is the regular deckie of coarse!

I went down that track but couldn't get a shaft long enough to reach the water continuously. Ie as the boat goes over waves the Minn would come out of water. At least that is what I as told. Let me know how you go. There was one available that goes on the horizontal cavitation plate above prop.
    minn.jpg

Just put a 55lb 54" on lay-by. BCF have Club discount (20% off ) - $1839

Just be aw2are that your boat will swing in an aprox 30 foot radius depending on wind and tide
    ray

Ausfish Gold Member

Bow mount I Pilot would be a pain on a half cab, but they are brilliant on open/console boats.

Quote Originally Posted by perko View Post
    Bow mount I Pilot would be a pain on a half cab, but they are brilliant on open/console boats.
    Why would an iPilot be a pain on a cabin boat? Would you have to feed it Nurofen or Panadol?

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    LITTLE SKIPPER!

Imagine having to go forward every time you pulled up to drop the leccy down? Bugger that. Great on a centre console or similar but a cabin boat you'd sure want a stern mount?
    Democracy: Simply a system that allows the 51% to steal from the other 49%.

Quote Originally Posted by Lovey80 View Post
    Imagine having to go forward every time you pulled up to drop the leccy down? Bugger that. Great on a centre console or similar but a cabin boat you'd sure want a stern mount?
    Imagine! I can imagine some being too lazy, that's what I can imagine. Geez! If that's one of the hardest things someone has to do then imagine someone having to do something easy?

LITTLE SKIPPER!

Ausfish Gold Member

LittleSkipper, it is very hard to mount them up there for starters, they would be a nightmare trying to put them up and down standing up the front on an uneven cabin section especially when rough. You would find most would not have a long enough shaft to keep the motor in the water. I am yet to see one on any half cab (seen a few on little runabouts). But seeing you are such a clever person, go and put one on your boat and prove us wrong.

Quote Originally Posted by perko View Post
    LittleSkipper, it is very hard to mount them up there for starters, they would be a nightmare trying to put them up and down standing up the front on an uneven cabin section especially when rough. You would find most would not have a long enough shaft to keep the motor in the water. I am yet to see one on any half cab (seen a few on little runabouts). But seeing you are such a clever person, go and put one on your boat and prove us wrong.
    I'd be up for the challenge! Now I just need to save my coin.

LITTLE SKIPPER!

As I said and now perko has said you won't find a shaft long enough. As for going forward I reckon it would be easier than pulling in an anchor and heaps quieter than dropping all that chain especially when chasing snapper in the bay. Watched a few YouTube video of the electric on the cavitation plate and would be the way to go for a half cabin.

Hi Ant, For a 5.4m FG half cab you would need the 80lb thrust minn kota system, as recommended by BCF, which means 24V - 2 X 12V batteries.