Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Making ice

Making ice

Upgraded the fishing freezer today, got myself a 700L westinghouse.

Just wondering what innovative ways you guys make you ice?

I'm not really interested in purchased re-freezable ice packs. I usually take about 80 - 100kg of ice for drinks and fish.

Re: Making ice

I just got a couple of heavy plastic containers about ten litre capacity when they are frozen pop them out and stack them in the freezer they last heaps longer than bought stuff.

Ice cream containers for ice ice and milk/soft drink bottles for drinks and mixing with your slurry lasts longer and saves time

I have been using a plastic heat sealer bag holds about 5 litres then use the sealer on the crevac machine seal it and bob's ur uncle nice thick bag frozen ice blocks
    VHF CHANNEL 21
    CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges

Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)

I just use plastic buckets, nothing flash, but I have three square ones that are a nice size.

3 litre milk bottles filled with sea water freeze slower but last lots longer. Also use 5 litre pool acid containers with sea water. Last well.
    What could go wrong.......................

I guess I might add, I have made some salt water ice as a test (from sea water) and regardless of the science of it all, it lasts just the same as tap water ice! The advantage being, if you are a slurry person, it does not dilute the salt slurry.

I have been using milk bottles (sh!tloads of them), seawater is a good idea. They don't last long, but they're not in short supply either. I like the fact that you can easily cut them apart too.

I like the sound of these bags JT, where do you get them?. I think one of the biggest problems with making ice is water floating around the freezer and sticking everything together. This would possibly stop this.

Pacfood Brisbane I also get my Crevac pre cut bags from them these I got by mistake thinking they were crevac bags but they are a 300mm x 400mm 100 micron Vac Pouch I can drop ya 50 or so to give a try out if u like mate I think I got 500 for 98$
    http://www.pacfood.com.au/vacuum.html
    VHF CHANNEL 21

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

I use to make in Alloy backs of street lights but yes same thing they'd stick together in freezer so I started putting in shopping bags but this works quiet good. If I could paste pics I could show u the end results
    VHF CHANNEL 21

Mate those stainless steel hot food trays are the shit........They are cheap as to buy and the ice just pops out as the sides are tapered and the corners have a radius.......I freeze the big ones and cut it to size with the power saw so they fit perfectly in the esky.........nice big slabs 65mm thick.Dan
    Confidence.......the feeling you get before you fully understand the situation.

Quote Originally Posted by jtpython View Post
    Pac Plus Brisbane I also get my Crevac pre cut bags from them these I got by mistake thinking they were crevac bags but they are a 300mm x 400mm 100 micron Vac Pouch I can drop ya 50 or so to give a try out if u like mate I think I got 500 for 98$
    First off you mind uploading some pics of these bags and where you purchased them from please mate..
    Secondly i used to make my own ice in old ice cream containers or whatever small tubs i had but found after breaking the ice to spread around my fish the thumping of the boat if the weather came out a tad on the lumpy side would bruise some of the fish.
    Now i just buy ten to fifteen kilo bags of cured Ice and spread around my fish as i load them into the main esky, also take enough for a ice slurry brine to place the fish into as we catch them..

Pacfood Its called mate go to sealer bags and there
    http://www.pacfood.com.au/vacuum.html
    VHF CHANNEL 21

Find a good local ice cream shop, they throw out hundreds of plastic 5 litre containers.I get them in batches of 40. best ice blocks gettin around.

I stack them in my freezer with a 5mm bit of ply in between the layers

Retired Honda Master Tech

Also forgot to add butter containers as well as for the breaking off the ice break it before you go in a grain bag or similar before you go out.( same bags as you get bulk ice)