Long time between trips - Pine

Thread: Long time between trips - Pine

Long time between trips - Pine

It's been a long time since I have been able to get out in the boat, I tried yesterday but the storm warning had me spooked so ended up heading out with my wife Tracey today. It was a late start only getting on the water at noon. We went to find some livies but did no good so dropped a couple of pots and headed to the mouth. Sat in the shade of the bridge for a just legal flatty and about 10 throw back bream. Also hooked a ray which did some nice aerial work before peeling off a stack of line - luckily I got most of the line back.

Headed home around 4pm for 1 nice muddy which joined the flatty in a fantastic Thai curry.

Lots of boats on the water but great to finally get out,

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Crab abd Flatty.jpg 
Views:	3 
Size:	77.5 KB 
ID:	99124

Re: Long time between trips - Pine

Yeah I got a few bream and a feed of whiting yesterday, they came in patches though. The curry idea sounds great, I've been looking for new ideas for cooking them!

Quote Originally Posted by Matt76 View Post
    Yeah I got a few bream and a feed of whiting yesterday, they came in patches though. The curry idea sounds great, I've been looking for new ideas for cooking them!
    Good on you for getting a feed, I've nearly given up on whiting in the Pine - buggered if I know how you and the others get them.

Ive got a mate that cleans up on whiting every time, buggered if I know what his secret is. There must be 2 pine rivers I reckon, I'm in a different one haha.

Ausfish Platinum Member kingcray's Avatar

nice one dave. Those thai crab curries are hard to beat mate
    The whiting in the pine have been very poor this year compared to last year.
    Dad reckons fishing is 10% brains and 95% muscle, the rest is just good luck.

Cheers for the post.

I went out today too. Was back @ the boat ramp by noon. Got a couple of nice muddies and a large sandie.
    After no luck at the bridge we went out to 6 m and got busted off by something decent, one hell of a strike and instantly busted off - maybe a shark?
    No luck out there apart from a catfish. Came back and checked the pots and found some one had been through them - left a female in one of them and she was gone when I came back in. Would of loved to have caught them red handed.

Each to their own but geez, you haven't been out in a while and you put the muddy in a curry! I do that with my trag!
    We got 15 muddies recently and we have tried them cooked normally and chilli mud crab (both sensational). Might have to resort to the curry to finish the rest of them!
    Well done on your catch, that's what holidays are all about.

Braders83,

If your struggling to get rid of them...

Chances are that if you like chilli crab then you would also like the red curry, works better with the muddies because of the stronger flavour. I'm planning to back out on the Pine tomorrow so hopefully will end the year on a fishing high.

G'day Lapras, Long time no hear, You managed to get a feed of mudcrab, finding the ones with the Maltese Cross is becoming more challenging . Catch up with you some time. All the best for 2014 Bondy