Thread: Holiday time for fish

Holiday time for fish

Just quick report, hit bribie passage Friday morning, put 2 pots in and drifted the banks flicking for flathead in near perfect conditions, tried many spots and scored just 1 undersized flathead for 3 and a half hours between 2 fishing, yesterday we took 4 pots out from woody point for an over night soak, had promised the extended family a feed of crabs xmas day, the trip out yesterday arvo was ok till past the point then the effects of the northerly saw us battling over metre of chop, went back this morning to check and were rewarded with just 2 jennies, what a let down!, the pots were placed near the green marker about 2.5 klm east south east of woody point, so it seems the fish and crabs are in holiday mode

Re: Holiday time for fish

bad luck on the sandies mate. They are there off woody, last 2 trips we have taken 28 and 34. It is critical in that area to find what depth they are in.
    Dad reckons fishing is 10% brains and 95% muscle, the rest is just good luck.

Gday kingcray, we were in 13 ft at low tide, I had thought 4 keepers per pot at least for an overnight soak, was staggered to come home with none, pot doors were zippy tied so nobody robbed me either..
    And as for bribie! find summer fishes very poor for flathead.

yeah pretty unlucky there.. any wobbegongs in the pots? For some reason i dont do as good o/night either so i dont bother. overnight soaks also increase your chances of pots being raided, stolen, or tangled on propellers, just not worth it. They are most active during the early daylight hours, what bait were you using for the crabs?
    Dad reckons fishing is 10% brains and 95% muscle, the rest is just good luck.

Hey thanks for the pm dean, we were using cut up whole mullet, when we put in this morning a boat was going out that also went out same time as us yesterday arvo, they were also checking pots, they scored 6 crabs out of 12 pots left in overnight, I have weights on my ropes to keep them down away from props and if they get stolen I wont be replacing them as ive long been of the opinion that crab pots are more trouble than they are worth sometimes lol... cheers dean and merry xmas..
    Quote Originally Posted by kingcray View Post
    yeah pretty unlucky there.. any wobbegongs in the pots? For some reason i dont do as good o/night either so i dont bother. overnight soaks also increase your chances of pots being raided, stolen, or tangled on propellers, just not worth it. They are most active during the early daylight hours, what bait were you using for the crabs?