Thread: Fishing's really Quiet

Fishing's really Quiet

G'day All,

As title suggests, has anyone else found the fishing in the systems around Brisbane really quiet of late? Even around the last new moon, was like a cemetery in the Pine and Cabbage Tree. Also heard a few reports that the Brissy river was the same. Normally at least come across vermin, but none of that, even. Have noticed some of that stringy weed sh&T around the joint, but wouldn't have thought that would have a bearing. Any other suggestions?

Cuzza

Re: Fishing's really Quiet

yeah last few months for me fishing the pine have been ordinary for whiting and flathead. Been a few fish around on lures, tarpon, small gts, the odd bream and flatty. Plenty of crabs around though to keep me out and about
    Dad reckons fishing is 10% brains and 95% muscle, the rest is just good luck.

I've found it quite on the northern Gold Coast. And got to chatting with a couple of other regulars down my way (Land based) who all had similar reports. Have seen an unusual number of catfish (30-50cm) at Hope Island though.

On a side note this typing problem is starting to get annoying

I wonder if the water temps have anything to do with it: the EAC is miles out to the east right now, which means still cooler water than normal offshore. Maybe the pelagics affect the local fishery as well. May be getting way ahead of myself, but can't think of anything else. Normal amount of rain (not too much fresh).

Cuzza

Passage is quiet too Bro.
    Plenty of fish on the sounder around the Eastern ledge but getting them to bite was another thing.
    No bull, I think I was close to the only boat out yesterday evening, only 1 other trailer at the ramp, didn't come across anyone else from White Patch to Bongaree...wind was sh##house tho
    Did a few drifts at the Ripples but GPS was showing 2 knots all the way through, and only little pecks at the bait.
    Only bites and fish to be had were small Moses Perch and Rays under the Western side of the Bridge in 10 foot of water, makes you wonder what else to try?
    Water temp was 73 -74F

Quote Originally Posted by cuzzamundi View Post
    I wonder if the water temps have anything to do with it: the EAC is miles out to the east right now, which means still cooler water than normal offshore. Maybe the pelagics affect the local fishery as well. May be getting way ahead of myself, but can't think of anything else. Normal amount of rain (not too much fresh).

Cuzza
    Gday Cuzza
    Water temp was 78 degrees on the run in before that storm last night

Quote Originally Posted by fishychrissy View Post
    Gday Cuzza
    Water temp was 78 degrees on the run in before that storm last night

M8. There would be only a select few that would know what 78 deg F would be . Need to put it in Celsius.

Cheers, Fishychrissy - about 25 celcius. Thanks for the temp reading. I was thinking more offshore, though - the temp outside is still way down. Like I said, though, that may be getting way ahead of things. Been a sh%t tonne of weed, too. Maybe need a good flush, or could be due to other factors. Hopefully it all changes for the better soon, 'cos it's starting to make me stay at home instead of being out in the elements. Crazy.Cuzza

Quote Originally Posted by Gon Fishun View Post
    M8. There would be only a select few that would know what 78 deg F would be . Need to put it in Celsius.
    Lol, sorry Mate, the Lowrance is in Yankee settings at the mo

Cheers, Fishychrissy - about 25 celcius. Thanks for the temp reading. I was thinking more offshore, though - the temp outside is still way down. Like I said, though, that may be getting way ahead of things. Been a sh%t tonne of weed, too. Maybe need a good flush, or could be due to other factors. Hopefully it all changes for the better soon, 'cos it's starting to make me stay at home instead of being out in the elements. Crazy.Cuzza
    Gday Cuzza,
    Just this minute got back from a sesh in the Passage/Bay off Southern tip of Bribie.
    Landed 2 macks and hooked up and lost another half a dozen, things may be looking up.
    Water temp in US denomination 78.3 degrees lol

Whoa - you little ripper! That's encouraging, mate. Let's hope she fires up - maybe the upcoming springs with the full moon will help it along. Either way stellar result, mate.

Cuzza

Quote Originally Posted by fishychrissy View Post
    Gday Cuzza,
    Just this minute got back from a sesh in the Passage/Bay off Southern tip of Bribie.
    Landed 2 macks and hooked up and lost another half a dozen, things may be looking up.
    Water temp in US denomination 78.3 degrees lol
    what did you get the macks on fishy?
    Dad reckons fishing is 10% brains and 95% muscle, the rest is just good luck.

Gday kingcray
    Had a troll around the beacon with a 4m+ Warlock diver. Had a bump on it each time I passed the structure but no cigar. It was brand new and came back with teeth marks in it so that made me stop and try something else.
    Spinning with a 20g Halco Twisty did some damage, as did freelining dead yakkas back to it.
    Had one last troll as I was leaving and had a really solid hookup about 20 metres from marker, but didn't gun the motor enough to set the hooks.

Whoa - you little ripper! That's encouraging, mate. Let's hope she fires up - maybe the upcoming springs with the full moon will help it along. Either way stellar result, mate.

Cuzza
    Yeah thanks Cuzza was a great little session.

All the action was around the top of the tide, good clear water too.

Should imagine you'll be dusting the boat off soon then...