Re - HOW TO GET RID OF LAST OF CROOK FUEL IN A BUILT IN FUEL TANK

Thread: Re - HOW TO GET RID OF LAST OF CROOK FUEL IN A BUILT IN FUEL TANK

Re - HOW TO GET RID OF LAST OF CROOK FUEL IN A BUILT IN FUEL TANK

Hi all - have a problem - my quintrex coast runner has a built in 60 L fuel tank of course and i got some crook fuel ( both water and some greenish looking crap mixed in WITH it ) when I WAS up north recently in it - fortunately i did not run the 60 hp ob that day on the main tank as only put it in the river so ran it on the portable auxillary 20 l tank which was ok fuel

Have drained out the crap fuel out now but reckon i do need to flush the tank out as probably a few litres still in there so any suggestions as how to best to do that with a built in 60 L tank - read somewhere i think that metho is good for that but any other experienced advice would be appreciated

cheers and thanks
    rob

Re: Re - HOW TO GET RID OF LAST OF CROOK FUEL IN A BUILT IN FUEL TANK

http://www.fueldoctors.com/ add some fuel or metho with it and slosh it round and hand pump the bulb till its it empty again.. remove your filter if its before the bulb.
    Kids who Hunt and Fish, Don't Deal and Steal.

Quote Originally Posted by Triple View Post
    http://www.fueldoctors.com/ add some fuel or metho with it and slosh it round and hand pump the bulb till its it empty again.. remove your filter if its before the bulb.
    thanks triple that sounds like a potentially good idea to me

cheers rob

yeah fuel doctor is the go I was working with they guys when the developed this stuff and it works great

Ausfish Platinum Member ifishcq1's Avatar

park the boat with the pickup at the lowest point
    then disconnect the outlet tube from the motor and take off the end and put the hose into a bucket
    then put a couple of pound of pressure through the breather (I used a compresser turned down low so I didn't pop the tank)
    this is pretty well the best way short of pulling you tank out
    it gets as much crud and water out as possible
    then use clean fuel and check your water trap when you pump the new fuel through
    I got the idea when I saw a guy blow back into a bong many years ago, all the water and crap came out the hose
    IFISHCQ2

Quote Originally Posted by ifishcq1 View Post
    then disconnect the outlet tube from the motor and take off the end and put the hose into a bucket
    then put a couple of pound of pressure through the breather (I used a compresser turned down low so I didn't pop the tank)
    then use clean fuel and check your water trap when you pump the new fuel through
    I got the idea when I saw a guy blow back into a bong many years ago, all the water and crap came out the hose

thanks ifishcq1 appreciated mate - sounds like a real good plan

cheer rob

Don't put in additives to compensate for contaminated fuel in the first place or you will end up with a bigger problem and mess. additives are not miracle products and they are designed to treat good quality fuel in the first place.
    Drain your tank like ifishcq1 said is a good idea.

Isn't the floor removable in a Quintrex?

Quote Originally Posted by Noelm View Post
    Isn't the floor removable in a Quintrex?
    yep it is noelm - crap piece of 16 mm structural ply with marine carpet glued to it that softens up real fast if it gets wet ( dont get me started on quintrex QA system ) but on a quick inspection it looked like the fuel tank may be very hard to remove - will have a good look at it when i get the floor out at over christmas - nothing on a quintrex coast runner is an easy fix

thanks captain rednut good advice i am uneasy about adding additives as well although 4 or 5 litres metho should be ok - and yep reckon ifshcq suggestion is the way to go

cheers rob

Pull the tank out and drain it, then flush it, and replace all your lines as well. Easier to do that in the shed than be caught out in the briney. My 2 cents.

Yep, that's why I asked if the floor comes out, do it once and do it properly, no brainer as far as I can see.

Quote Originally Posted by ifishcq1 View Post
    Seems like a lot of hard work just to pull a bong!