Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Sea Sick crews

Re: Sea Sick crews

Quote Originally Posted by seashawgal View Post
    Every time I take out new people fishing off the Sunshine Coast as soon as we pull up they are vomiting. That ocean swell just gets to them even when it's glassy calm.
    I don't feel comfortable sitting out there for hours while they feel sick so it kinda puts a damper on the fishing trip. I am OK I used to get sea sick years ago but not now it would take a lot to make me sick. Do other people experience this? Do you reckon it's something that ceases with more trips out on the water?

Seashawgal
    I reckon the more you take them out the better they will get, in saying that they really need to dose up on Kwells before the boat hits the water, couple hours before even though the packet says 1/2 hour. No good taking them once on the water, or already sick, they will only chuck em back up. Best remedy I have seen after your out on the water is get them off the boat & into the water, depending on grey suits of course. Best of luck

Quote Originally Posted by Gon Fishun View Post
    Port Phillip Bay Bondy.
    I envy people that have had experiences like yours. You don't often hear about them.
    Port Phillip Bay. Thanks for letting me know what those initials stood for.

I dont normally talk about my previous work. One cannot solely rely working on deep sea trawlers as a stable source of income, its all seasonal, sometimes there is very little catch, at other times one does fill their quota. It's more of a way of life for some people. If you own and operated your own vessel then you might be able to make a reasonable living. But if one is working for a company then its all purely percentages of what's been caught.

Before that happens, payment for fuel, ice, food and any repairs must first be met before any pay is distributed.

Licences are very costly, Unless one is a millionaire plus then it's not so bad...not this fella.

Tight lines...Bondy

I take avomine. 1 the night before when I go to sleep and one as I leave home in the morning. No booze or greasy food the 24hrs before or during trip.

I can be on the drink the night before, get a servo pie and have a couple of coldies on the way to the ramp and I'll be fine. However, I ALWAYS take Kwells. I don't know if I'd get sick if I didn't take them and I'm definitely not going to take a chance in trying :-)

Quote Originally Posted by Zippidy View Post
    I can be on the drink the night before, get a servo pie and have a couple of coldies on the way to the ramp and I'll be fine. However, I ALWAYS take Kwells. I don't know if I'd get sick if I didn't take them and I'm definitely not going to take a chance in trying :-)
    Doesnt everybody get on it the night before and the next day???

Think I've been lucky in regards to sea sickness.
    I have been fishing offshore all my life & have never been sea sick once.
    I have no problems eating cream buns & Coffee milk all day out in any boat.

I have come back in for sick deckies, but not very often, cause I do make it crystal clear before they come out with me that I don't come back in for sea sickness, so if you do think you'll get sea sick, then don't come.

I have dropped people in close to beaches before and had them swim back to shore & come back & picked them up at the end of the days fishing providing they swim back out to the boat.

But I have bent the rules when the fishing is not turning out so well anyway,

Being see sick is the worst feeling ever. My mate tells me everytime we leave the river mouth at Mooloolaba, the seas are a bit rough when I actually think they are not to bad. I think alot of people talk themselves into being sea sick.

I don't mind the swell at all but I hate the chop just because you have to back off on the throttle when coming home with a sickie on board. Me mate says that its my boat to but every boat does a bit of rock and rolling, that's blue water fishing you cant expect it to be like river fishing out 10 - 20 kms.
    I haven't been sea sick since I was a boy as me old man use to let me be sick then chuck a bucket of water over me, give me a sandwich and then we would fish on. I use to provide good berley though and sometimes it use to bring on the livies.!!!!!!!

1 Kwell an hr before u hit the water and have had Macca's on the way. That's how i have enjoyed the last couple of charters i've been on and keep the fluids up.

Quote Originally Posted by Gon Fishun View Post
    Port Phillip Bay Bondy.
    I envy people that have had experiences like yours. You don't often hear about them.
    Yeah I've never heard of 2m swell in the bay between Viccy Point and Straddy. What tropical cyclone would that have been in?

Im super lucky and never get sick and have been in some pretty ordinary conditions with a big hangover and a egg and bacon roll for brekky.. just really lucky i guess.. If you haven't been out or get sick sometimes i think its just really really selfish to not take some precautions.. Travacalm, kwels etc if you are on someones boat. The wind and the swell keep the boat on the lawn often enough let alone people getting sick on your boat
    Its fair enough though if you have taken all these precautions and still get sick...

Quote Originally Posted by thelump View Post
    Yeah I've never heard of 2m swell in the bay between Viccy Point and Straddy. What tropical cyclone would that have been in?
    I'd believe him no worries at all.
    Democracy: Simply a system that allows the 51% to steal from the other 49%.

A few years ago there was a theory about seasickness that sounds right to me. The theory was that eye tracking ability determined seasickness.

People who normally have excellent fine motor control of their eyeballs, and who can therefore keep the focal point following a tennis ball closely, are most prone to seasickness.

Out at sea the floor moving under them interferes with the brains interpretations of the eyes inputs and the nausea follows.

Blokes like me that have crappy visual tracking and are used to seeing the world through a wobbly out-of-focus and out-of-synch eyeball are not unduly concerned by the extra wobbles.

Don't know if its still considered a viable theory but it seems reasonable to my wobbly old eyes.

Quote Originally Posted by WalrusLike View Post
    A few years ago there was a theory about seasickness that sounds right to me. The theory was that eye tracking ability determined seasickness.

People who normally have excellent fine motor control of their eyeballs, and who can therefore keep the focal point following a tennis ball closely, are most prone to seasickness.

Out at sea the floor moving under them interferes with the brains interpretations of the eyes inputs and the nausea follows.

Blokes like me that have crappy visual tracking and are used to seeing the world through a wobbly out-of-focus and out-of-synch eyeball are not unduly concerned by the extra wobbles.

Don't know if its still considered a viable theory but it seems reasonable to my wobbly old eyes.
    This is what occurs to me. If I take my eyes of the horizon, I tend to start getting dizzy. Usually I can control it by just looking at the horizon for awhile.

I went and saw my doctor about it. They gave me maxalon, which is anti-nausea tablets, this has solved my issues. Each pill lasts for 8 hours and doesn't make you tired.

I always thought it was the fluid in your inner ear rocking back and forth and sending to much info to the brain in relation to keeping you stable. The eye thing makes sense though too

just checked wiki seems to say its a combination of both.. interesting..