Thread: Spongy floor remedies...

Re: Spongy floor remedies...

Hi Robfish. I had exactly the same problem with my Haines 565L and I got around the problem by silastiking two stainless plates around 4mm thick on top of the spongy floor where the seats are positioned. Probably 2'x 2' stainless steel plates and heaps of Silastik. It's a temporary repair but mine has been on for three years now and still good. One day I'll have to do the whole floor but like you money is bit tight.
    Duck

Paully...ur inbox is full M8..will phone you later today.

Cheers, Ray.

Before you cover anything up I would grab a couple of spin out inspection hatches and cut a couple of holes to suit. You need to get in and poke around a bit to see if those stringers are up to holding your boat together structurally. If they are solid then try the quick fix cover up

Well - once again you blokes have come to the fore and helped another member out, so thanks to you all. There are some valid points made, and although I do like the idea of sikaflex and ply, I think I'll need to drill a few reasonable sized holes first to ascertain the condition of the stringers. Not much use going to all that trouble if she's going to open up along the keel, is it?
    As mentioned earlier, the hull seems sound when tapped with a rubber mallet - any soft spots would return a dampened echo, and that hasn't happened. My thoughts were that the stringers, whilst strengthening the hull longitudinally, also supported the internal floor, but some internet trawling suggests that this may not be the case, and the floor is just 'hung' around the edges. This thought is also supported by the fact that it appears to flex all over the cockpit, but is still rigid around the edges.
    So, providing the stringers are sound, which will be ascertained by inspection, a new ply floor over the old one, sikaflexed down and then screwed down all over with some stainless screws appears to be the best stop gap remedy - at least, until professional advice can be afforded. These screws may well pull free if the original ply is rotten, but they'd help the silastic bond initially. BOAT = Bring On Another Thousand. So bloody true!
    But then again, good quality golf clubs are worth a small fortune, too - to say nothing of the course fees! And I do so hate polo shirts! Plus, the missus won't let me spend my money on loose women - so boating it is!

G'day Robfish. Have included a pic of the Haines with the floor cut out. I replaced it with 16mm marine ply, coated the edges & under under side, then screwed it down with stainless screws, no sikaflex so it will be easy to remove. I didn't seal around the edges as I felt any water that gets inside will flow to the bilge where there is 2 pumps. I cut out 2 circles of ply that went under the pedastal seats. These where glued and coach screwed with the seats to the floor.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Thanks for sharing those photos, Gon Fishun. I can only hope that an inspection reveals what yours did - in that the glassed stringers, whilst strengthening the hull, also rise high enough to support the floor. I can only surmise at the moment, that the stringers under my floor don't actually contact the floor though, as it feels too springy in the centre - there's no resistance as I walk across the middle. So either the stringers never came high enough to support the floor, or they've rotted away enough to lose any measure of contact. Internet trawling has shown that not all boats were created equal, and some mfrs got away with a 'suspended' floor - as the stringers were only there as hull strengthening, and not being tall enough to support the floor as well. Apparently their argument when taken to task over the issue was that the spring in the floor gave some measure of 'shock absorption' in a lumpy sea! From memory, a number of the older Bellboy halfcabs had this issue when a larger than average bloke went right thru the floor on a bumpy day!
    I guess we'll find out if and when the rain stops down here - long enough at least to drill some holes in the floor and see what's happening in the bilge.
    I do however, like the idea of only screws for easier removal at a later date, after ensuring all faces and edges of the ply are sealed. If my knees would allow me to bend like they did 10 yrs ago, I could also fit a kill box down there as well - ah well, I guess I'll have to save a little longer for a professional job.

So...finally got around to doing an underfloor inspection by drilling a couple of inspection holes with a hole saw, and as thought, the stringers have rotted away and are no longer in contact with the floor - (they don't even appear to have been glassed over!), so it appears that I'll be needing the services of a professional. Has anyone got any recommendations for a boat repairer in Melbourne - especially in the south east? I've checked the business members, but none are in Victoria.
    I'd like to do the job myself, but these dodgy old knees will cost a lot more to replace than the floor if I stuff them up any more!
    Thanks in advance,
    robfish1.

Ouch!!! Just got some quotes for the repairs. It seems that the transom is also on the way out, so coupled with an entire floor replacement, I'm looking at over $6000 - so I'll be searching for another hull as I just can't justify spending that amount on an already old boat. Given that the 70hp yammie only has a little over 90 hrs on the clock, and according to my mechanic is in A1 condition, I think I'll keep that and transfer it to the new hull.

Quote Originally Posted by robfish 1 View Post
    Ouch!!! Just got some quotes for the repairs. It seems that the transom is also on the way out, so coupled with an entire floor replacement, I'm looking at over $6000 - so I'll be searching for another hull as I just can't justify spending that amount on an already old boat. Given that the 70hp yammie only has a little over 90 hrs on the clock, and according to my mechanic is in A1 condition, I think I'll keep that and transfer it to the new hull.
    As you are prolly aware M8, I have a similar thread running up here in Brissie.

IF I find myself in the same predicament as urself, I will DEF buy another hull.

Thanks for the thread, seems like I am not the only one in similar circumstances...

Cheers, Ray.

Yeah, solemandownunder - I've been following your thread and feel your pain. Like you, I checked the hull thoroughly before I purchased it and was confident that all was well. It's amazing how quickly they can deteriorate in just a couple of years. I'm trying to convince myself that it would be 6 grand well spent, as I like the hull and its performance, size and handling. I know I'll never get a return on the money, but I also don't know if I'll find another hull that I like in my price range. Hopefully yours will turn out to be a (relatively) inexpensive fix!

Quote Originally Posted by robfish 1 View Post
    Yeah, solemandownunder - I've been following your thread and feel your pain. Like you, I checked the hull thoroughly before I purchased it and was confident that all was well. It's amazing how quickly they can deteriorate in just a couple of years. I'm trying to convince myself that it would be 6 grand well spent, as I like the hull and its performance, size and handling. I know I'll never get a return on the money, but I also don't know if I'll find another hull that I like in my price range. Hopefully yours will turn out to be a (relatively) inexpensive fix!
    Fingers crossed fer BOTH of us M8