Must be a good feeling to get the first one under your belt!
On the water at Wellington Point @ 430am to drift some drop-offs but the wind was stronger than predicted so decided to anchor. Had my first ever legal bay snapper in the esky by 5am going bit over 60cm caught on unweighter mullet stripyet, tried plastics to no avail and once the sun was up got nothing but undersized stuff, collected my 2 pots on way home at 830am for only 1 sandie.
Must be a good feeling to get the first one under your belt!
And thats a nice pan size too Chris- well done
You've cracked the code now mate. Shame about the lack of crabs
You gotta be happy with a snapper like that mate, well done. Better luck next time with your crab.
hey chris. i was at wello at 4am. i braved the breeze late yesterday arvo to drop 4 pots out and collected 1 crab on my way back in which i took as a good omen. well, i collected 2 more crabs this morning and then went fishing at the west peel artis. couple of small snaps and 1 about the same size as yours. stayed out there long enough to manage another crab on the way back in. so it looks like the crabs are a bit light at wello atm and will need to plug moonlighter for his spot off cleveland.
fishing's as simple as 3 P's - patience, perserverance and PLASTIC!
That's a nice looking snap in such shallow water. Well done and a good idea dropping the pots as well. Was there any burley involved to get them interested?
WELL done M8....the FIRST legal is always the one you will LONG remember after all the others are safely tucked away...eaten and disposed of.
Kudos to you for the early start.....early fisho catches the Snap
Netmaker will tell you....flesh bait in the dark, SPs' during the day....but he sleeps with the damn things, so he should know
Cheers, Ray.
So he hit the old wello hey? M8 that's spectacular and kudos to you for your perseverance, gotta be happy about that!