Hi Guys
Heading to tackle the Wide Bay Bar for the first time this weekend(weather permitting). Anyone out there heading outside who wouldnt mind a tag along through the bar crossing or have some up to date knowledge of the bar atm?
Hi Guys
Heading to tackle the Wide Bay Bar for the first time this weekend(weather permitting). Anyone out there heading outside who wouldnt mind a tag along through the bar crossing or have some up to date knowledge of the bar atm?
Mate if you go to Tin Can Bay VMR they will give you info plus the latest co ordinates for the best channel through.
yup, chase that gutter out, ask prior and vmr will send you via text. even if you're heading north after exiting, take gutter out, then swing out wide.... we watched a decent glassy battle in the washing machine conditions through the guts, while we skittled through the gutter, went out wide and missed it all.
A lot seem to use this and other bars, shame no-one posts any fishing reports anymore....
Thanks heaps fellas will let you know how we go.
You don't have to go far. Find bait you find fish!
Giday mate yeah its up to you either way, the only place I go fishing is out from DI and I haven't bothered using the gutter as it hasn't really saved any time for me heading NE/E. In good conditions the bar is fine, if you decide to go through the bar (not the gutter) I would highly recommended only using the waypoints for a guideline and hang north of them on the turn point as the leads are not right at the moment! If you follow them theres a good chance it wont be pretty on the turn point!
Enjoy the fishing mate I gotta work this weekend!!!
Cheers Casey
Went out through the bar today no worries. Did some bulk miles and only caught a hand full of little shit. Gonna have another go tomorrow, Anyone got some waypoints or suggestions for an amateur offshore fisherman? Might have to head to the local watering hole and con someone into coming who know there stuff.
yeah I know boat hog 2,might even put up a few pics of the bigger fish we got this month..but more than likely just a couple of small squire and bonito pics and a pic of the 1 that we let swim away
Blueyj your message box is full.
Sorry mate I had to upgrade. Plenty of room in it now.