Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: How do we get a fish cleaning station at Cleveland Ramp ??

Re: How do we get a fish cleaning station at Cleveland Ramp ??

Quote Originally Posted by sharkymark2 View Post
    What about we be content with some ramp ugrades and then look at cleaning tables later. I pity the guys who use Wello Point ramp. I went down one evening to launch my latest purchase only to be faced with a surf break on the ramp. The southern Ramp at Vikki Point could do with an upgrade as well. I have been onto Energex for months now to replace the blown light over that ramp. Besides the best cleaning tables are thrown out ironing boards. They adjust to the perfect height and have holes to let all the garbage through. They also clean up easy as well and mine has the upgrade version...... where the iron sits is just great for holding the spray head of the hose.
    You can't expect every ramp to be perfect in every wind condition.

Wello is a good ramp but quite exposed, especially in a SE ' er.

I'm a bit on the fence with fish cleaning facilities at ramps, I can just see so many people abusing it and not thinking of others. Their is a table at Wynnum creek and a few weeks ago we where coming back in and someone was cleaning there fish having beers, taking photo's, talking to people about how & were they caught there fish.

We waited for 15 minutes and then went home to do the job.

I dont know Tickleish why cant we have fantastic ramps? I mean look at those Greeks over in Greece. The Governments got no money but they can still build little harbours so their fisherman can launch boats in calm water . We can spend fortunes putting in canal estates but cant even afford to build a decent little harbour for our fishoes. Maybe we are setting our sights to low. Besides if we start asking for fish cleaning stations the vegetarian greenies will want more fish zones as we are obviously taking to many fish.

Quote Originally Posted by Tickleish View Post
    You can't expect every ramp to be perfect in every wind condition.

Wello is a good ramp but quite exposed, especially in a SE ' er.

I'm a bit on the fence with fish cleaning facilities at ramps, I can just see so many people abusing it and not thinking of others. Their is a table at Wynnum creek and a few weeks ago we where coming back in and someone was cleaning there fish having beers, taking photo's, talking to people about how & were they caught there fish.

We waited for 15 minutes and then went home to do the job.
    It sounds like to me Tickelish that if there was a cleaning table like the one at Evans Head you would have cleaned the fish there.
    I agree about the fish scraps but surely there is a way to dispose of it properly.
    I also agree about the ramps not suited to all conditions. The part I don't like is when you go out and the conditions are ok at the ramp and when you come home the winds are up and bashing you sideways or onto the concrete ramp. I wont use wello and cabbage tree point for that reason.
    I am getting an old ironing board in the meantime with a stubby holder. We have a rock boat ramp down the road that I used yesterday to clean the fish.
    I am surprised at a lot of peoples reactions to the lack of cleaning tables. I thought it would be a necessity.

Quote Originally Posted by MrNanks View Post
    I am surprised at a lot of peoples reactions to the lack of cleaning tables.
    maybe just a few crabbers and pet owners commenting...
    fishing's as simple as 3 P's - patience, perserverance and PLASTIC!

Yeah I'm the same Nanks, I don't use Wello unless in the tinny - don't risk it in the glass boat.

Hey Sharky maybe that's why Greece is broke - too many soft fisherman wanting harbors everywhere.

Hey ticklish maybe your okay with the Gov taking your money every year and giving you nothing back in return. We pay taxes for services, we pay car rego for usable roads why should boat rego be any different.

Yeah Mr Nanks I have talked this topic before and there doesn't seem to be too much interest. Coming from around Lake Macquarie originally I was spoilt as every ramp had its own cleaning setup. You have one of the better ramps in the Redlands at your disposal down there mate. Maybe look at joining the fishing club. They are meant to be installing a cleaning station soon. Plenty of room to park up and clean your fish then walk across the road to dispose of the frames!

Well, I threw out the bait, but despite many "thanks" and "likes", no-one has taken it

It appears that there is not enough interest/motivation out there to get a group together to start working on a community-funded proposal for a cleaning table to service the Raby Bay ramp...... To be part of developing a solution, instead of just being "complainers"......

Pity.
    Note to self: Don't argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience....

Quote Originally Posted by Moonlighter View Post
    Well, I threw out the bait, but despite many "thanks" and "likes", no-one has taken it

It appears that there is not enough interest/motivation out there to get a group together to start working on a community-funded proposal for a cleaning table to service the Raby Bay ramp...... To be part of developing a solution, instead of just being "complainers"......

Pity.
    Thing IS ML. it would seem that the majority here would prefer LESS action at the ramps due to congestion at times....and may I say, a very valid point.

"Once upon a time" etc doesnt do it these days as there would be more ramp traffic, especially at certain times.

Maybe, a fish cleaning facility somewhere in the general vicinity of said ramps....BUT, then parking may still be an issue.

At the end of the day....situations change...as do the increasing number of boaties using the ramps, so maybe having any EXTRA services would only hamper an ever growing need for the boaties to launch & retrieve ASAP.

Having said all that....I have noticed a rather arrogant use of the Raby Bay ramp in this regard.....not just once, but on MANY occassions now....

Boaties, after retrieving....sitting at the top on the ramp access bays and battening down.....INSTEAD of getting out of the F@#$%^& WAY and letting others through....showing RESPECT...but NO.....THIS I do not understand.

ALSO...another VERY annoying practice is that of boaties coming in through the leads beaching their boats on the SAME side of the ramp where you are "OBVIOUSLY" backing down to launch....therefore making it an obstacle course when it comes to trying to unload, secure your boat, move off the ramp to park, and then come down & move off.

Actually....PURE and unmittigated INGORANCE & ARROGANCE on their part is my belief.....I have seen this time & again by the "OLDER" boaties, who must believe it is their right to be "Ar%%%oles"...and must therfore OWN that ramp.

I say this because on more than ONE occassion, I have been in this situation.

Not hi-jacking M8....just passing on some experiences that may have an impact on OTHER possible scenarios re: extra services.

Thanks, Ray.

I think less filleting activity means more chance of a sensible de-rigging parking spot.

I think its best to do your filleting at sea.... ideal disposal spot, or at home out of everyone's way.

Of course, being the crappiest fisherman in SEQ I am not yet in need of fish cleaning facilities...

But when I finally am filleting, it will be at home or at sea.

(Using Tapatalk on iPhone so can't easily 'thank' or 'like')

Quote Originally Posted by WalrusLike View Post
    I think its best to do your filleting at sea.... ideal disposal spot, or at home out of everyone's way.

Be careful Walrus - there are restrictions and rules about filleting at sea! I wouldnt recommend it!

I have heeard the points from Ray and others about cluttering up ramps - but that is just one of the issues a working group could consider.

But if there's not enough interest, let it slide. No skin off my nose, fellas, as you saw from my earlier post, I am already nicely set up with a filleting table at home, so it doesnt bother me much either way.

On the other side of the coin, I would be prepared to put some time in if there was sufficient interest/enthusiasm. We would need about 4 or 5 people to put their hands up to be the core team to get together to look at all the issues, and then decide if it was worth pushing ahead or not. There are funding sources out there that could be tapped into for these things as well, you know.
    Note to self: Don't argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience....

Quote Originally Posted by Moonlighter View Post
    Be careful Walrus - there are restrictions and rules about filleting at sea! I wouldnt recommend it!

I have heeard the points from Ray and others about cluttering up ramps - but that is just one of the issues a working group could consider.

But if there's not enough interest, let it slide. No skin off my nose, fellas, as you saw from my earlier post, I am already nicely set up with a filleting table at home, so it doesnt bother me much either way.

On the other side of the coin, I would be prepared to put some time in if there was sufficient interest/enthusiasm. We would need about 4 or 5 people to put their hands up to be the core team to get together to look at all the issues, and then decide if it was worth pushing ahead or not. There are funding sources out there that could be tapped into for these things as well, you know.
    i could be keen to get involved

Yeah thanks ML a timely reminder about filleting at sea. I already knew about it but reminders never hurt.

Quote Originally Posted by thelump View Post
    Yeah Mr Nanks I have talked this topic before and there doesn't seem to be too much interest. Coming from around Lake Macquarie originally I was spoilt as every ramp had its own cleaning setup. You have one of the better ramps in the Redlands at your disposal down there mate. Maybe look at joining the fishing club. They are meant to be installing a cleaning station soon. Plenty of room to park up and clean your fish then walk across the road to dispose of the frames!
    Hi Jason, Are you talking Redland Bay fishing club or the one at Cleveland ?

Quote Originally Posted by WalrusLike View Post
    Yeah thanks ML a timely reminder about filleting at sea. I already knew about it but reminders never hurt.

I am with you Walruslike, I rarely have to clean fish but it astounded me the other day when Cleveland had no facility and then I realised how many dnt have when the rules state that only a few exceptions you need to do them on land.