Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: How do we get a fish cleaning station at Cleveland Ramp ??

How do we get a fish cleaning station at Cleveland Ramp ??

Normally I dont have to worry about where I need to clean fish but today I discovered the the major boating facility at Cleveland doesn't have a cleaning station. The rules don't allow us to clean the on the water so an appropriate facility should be available at large ramps. Any thoughts ??? I am happy to send off a letter to our pollies. Not the one with a red wine stained dick either.

Re: How do we get a fish cleaning station at Cleveland Ramp ??

You can clean and fillet certain fish on the water.

http://www.daff.qld.gov.au/fisheries...fillet-removal
    Kids who Hunt and Fish, Don't Deal and Steal.

Its a QLD thing Mr Nanks. You will find there are very few cleaning stations at QLD boat ramps. Especially Moreton Bay. Most people build one at home. I clean mine at home. I leave my live bait tank full of clean ocean water for rinsing fish off after cleaning.

Quote Originally Posted by thelump View Post
    Its a QLD thing Mr Nanks. You will find there are very few cleaning stations at QLD boat ramps. Especially Moreton Bay. Most people build one at home. I clean mine at home. I leave my live bait tank full of clean ocean water for rinsing fish off after cleaning.
    What if I don't have a live bait tank? I pay my $180+ for boat rego? Where does that money go? Surely not the pot holes in the ocean I seem to find. Can't they put one at every boat ramp? Oh how much will that's cost? Who cares its us as boaties that get F-all for our rego money. It's about time governements get rid of the admin and put more actuall workers on the ground.

Quote Originally Posted by lucee81 View Post
    What if I don't have a live bait tank? I pay my $180+ for boat rego? Where does that money go? Surely not the pot holes in the ocean I seem to find. Can't they put one at every boat ramp? Oh how much will that's cost? Who cares its us as boaties that get F-all for our rego money. It's about time governements get rid of the admin and put more actuall workers on the ground.
    Settle down. I don't agree that there are none. I am just saying what I need to do because there are none! I would love to see one at my local ramp.

I will not settle down. You don't tell me what to do. I'm already married.

That should be a mandatory thing at most ramps. Especially at major ones.
    I agree with you Lucee81. We pay a lot in regos, taxes etc.
    It was ok when we had the option to clean on the water. I also get why that no longer can be the case.

I stayed at a NSW caravan park a few times and the facility to clean fish is excellent.
    I don't think we need to start paying for a fishing licence to have them though.

I managed to stink the kitchen out last night and it was worse this morning after the whiting clean up last night. Missus not real impressed.

I think we should get the ball rolling and get some basic facilities at major ramps.

Where does the stink water and small off cuts go ???? I have a dobbing neighbour so I know where I would like to put it. Or at Ric's mates house. I think her name is Di ????

Seems none of the ramps on the southside have them, however all the bigger ramps on the northside have cleaning tables.

So the answer is simple. Move the better side of town and you get cleaning tables

Wouldn't the salt water kill your grass?

Don't you live in Victoria? Maybe you should.

Quote Originally Posted by SummerTrance View Post
    Seems none of the ramps on the southside have them, however all the bigger ramps on the northside have cleaning tables.

So the answer is simple. Move the better side of town and you get cleaning tables
    I went to north side once, had to get shots.
    Whyte island is south side it has cleaning tables. And no one sleeping under bridges (like north side)

Yes, and while you are about it put up another sign.

Don't put your big frames in the water near the ramp. people stub their toes, feet on the spines whilst handling their boats at the ramp.

The local chooks, pelicans will consume the little ones but leave the big ones for us to collect.

If you must display your big fish frames nail them on the back of your boat for the run home, you will capture a wider group of viewers and I will gladly provide the nails.

Have fun Haji-Baba

Quote Originally Posted by Haji-Baba View Post
    Yes, and while you are about it put up another sign.

Don't put your big frames in the water near the ramp. people stub their toes, feet on the spines whilst handling their boats at the ramp.

The local chooks, pelicans will consume the little ones but leave the big ones for us to collect.

If you must display your big fish frames nail them on the back of your boat for the run home, you will capture a wider group of viewers and I will gladly provide the nails.

Have fun Haji-Baba
    I'm not sure if your nails will go through my aluminium. Can you get sharper nails? Maybe a screw? Yea a screw will work. Will you also supply the drill?

.303 nails work, for all seasons, don't need a drill.

Have fun Haji-Baba