E-tec or four stroke? - Page 3
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: E-tec or four stroke?

Re: E-tec or four stroke?

I agree with Gazza, although all engines need to bed in, the 20 hour tappet check shouldn't be at a cost on you...... Then again it's probably already factored into the service fee.

Conco,

I have gone from a premix 2 stroke, to a 4 stroke and now DI 2 stroke.
    This is my honest opinion.

When I went to a 4 stroke, The things I loved was it was quiet, smoke free, started 1st everytime, and was good on fuel. Things I missed was the power of the 2 stroke, and that sound when your screaming along. Things I didnt like about the 4 stroke was the weight and the service costs. I couldnt believe how much more it was. It was cheaper to service my car than it was my outboard!

Going from the 4s to the etec, things I missed was the "smell". Etecs have a distinctive smell which 4s dont have and maybe 4s are a little quieter at idle. Things I liked about the etecs was the power, heaps more than 4s, up on the plane easy as. They are also lighter and cheaper to service, even if you do yearly servicing. The thing I dont like about the etec is the oil. If you are going to burn through 300-600L of fuel, you are going to use a bit of oil - and that gets annoying. Fuel burn at trolling speeds is ultra low, as it uses stratified charge, like the suzukis.

I think etec strengths are in the lower HP market, when you might go through 4L of oil in a season. I go through 8-10L an outing. The weak point in the Etec system is probably the fuel injector system which is sensitive to fuel quality. The newer injectors seem to have a much lower failure rate.

Overall I think the costs are probably about the same.

At the end of the day its an outboard. It starts and it goes. Some people make more than it is.

TM

Ausfish Platinum Member ifishcq1's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by conco46 View Post
    E-tec or four stroke?

me mate has etec loves it to bits, his neighbour has yammy 70 four stroke

the etec is so much lighter
    wrong 70 yammy 4stroke is 118kg and etec 75 is 145kg

in the size you require the etec is around 20kg lighter which is nothing on a twenty three footer
    I have a Honda, a Yamaha and an Etec the truth is they are all good
    no worries 870hr on the big Honda plus I love the note it puts out at 4,500 revs
    the 60 yammy fuel miser has had no issues at all either but the etec (blue by the way) had a minor issue going into winterization mode and then into limp mode 100km from the boat ramp
    after the second trip to the dealer he found that an untrimmed molded throttle rod end was jamming causing the trouble, a tidy with a stanley knife now no more issues and literally does run on the smell of an oily rag
    there is a bloody good Honda man on the Goldy , Ausfish member Spanard_King and he won't give a bum steer either
    as mentioned before if your local dealer is good that's where you buy
    IFISHCQ2

True Ifish in the 70hp range. The Yamaha 70 is a game changer.

But in 200hp it was and still is the lightest. 196 vs 227 (the lightest 4s 200 out there - yamaha).

TM

Was going to put my 2bobs in as happy owner of etec 2007 40hp with 400hrs on it (i shudder to think of what the Minn kota hrs would be but i see your looking in totally different hp size and,much to my surprise, have been given some sensible feedback/experience.
    As opposed to the usual mindless etec banter that helps answer diddly squat.

I'll back up the common advice no matter which you choose, having local mechanic/deaLear in the know with that particular motor will be invaluable. Like most i suspect, i took no notice of the 3yr/300.hr marketing and had it serviced start each season.
    Good luck.
    Cindy

At the end of the day its an outboard. It starts and it goes. Some people make more than it is.

Exactly right.....

Have a 150hp etec on a 560c barcrusher (now 610c) and had it for four years and nothing wrong with it starts first time every time can stall when really cold on first start ups in morning but starts easy again.

chews the same amount of fuel as the old 115hp Yamaha so fuel wise is good, yes can chew oil if you want to flog it home on your way back.

But all in all no complaints runs every time takes us outside moreton and back everytime, everyone will always love what they have other wise they wouldn't own it.
    560c Bar Crusher "Overtime"

Firstly as an ETEC owner I am happy. It is 90hp and a year old with 60 hrs on it. Just had its first annual service. As an exercise I have contacted a yamaha dealer (wouldn't trade it) Honda dealer ( wouldn't trade it ) & a Suzuki dealer who also sells ETEC. They offered me an $11 100 changeover on a 115 hp Suzuki. The list price was $15500. So they are only offering 4400 after a year. Really it is less than that as the price also included fitting. Ouch!!!! Lucky I am happy with the ETEC. If I had known this 12 months ago maybe would have gone for a different brand.

60hrs?? , $4400
    500hrs , $4400
    5000hrs , $400
    Tell 'em..... They're Dreamin'
    LOL

Cool Re: E-tec or four stroke?

Gazza didn't try real hard as it was along way from the 6k I was thinking. A bit naive obviously. Yamaha dealer did suggest I would get around 8-9k if I sold it privately. With their specials this month it would be possible to change over for around 6k. Can't be assed with tyre kicker so looks like I am keeping the ETEC . Unless someone makes me an offer on Ausfish

Interesting - I will be trading in my 70hp 4 stroke Suzuki (2007 model) with 2000 hours on the clock on a different 4 stroke - be interesting to see what I get for it

Quote Originally Posted by MTAQ/BTAQ View Post
    Interesting - I will be trading in my 70hp 4 stroke Suzuki (2007 model) with 2000 hours on the clock on a different 4 stroke - be interesting to see what I get for it
    Mtaq/btaq I would be interested if you post up what you get as a trade

Quote Originally Posted by Still_Dreamin View Post
    Firstly as an ETEC owner I am happy. It is 90hp and a year old with 60 hrs on it. Just had its first annual service. As an exercise I have contacted a yamaha dealer (wouldn't trade it) Honda dealer ( wouldn't trade it ) & a Suzuki dealer who also sells ETEC. They offered me an $11 100 changeover on a 115 hp Suzuki. The list price was $15500. So they are only offering 4400 after a year. Really it is less than that as the price also included fitting. Ouch!!!! Lucky I am happy with the ETEC. If I had known this 12 months ago maybe would have gone for a different brand.
    I think that is extremely valuable first hand info.
    Thank You
    Pauly

Quote Originally Posted by MTAQ/BTAQ View Post

Would also be interested in the price of a trade (I have a '07(launched'08) 70 suzy tiller steer with ~550hrs) and what you look at instead.

PRECISION DETAILING
    For all your MARINE DETAILING needs
    www.precisiondetailing.com.au

I have been in the same situation. I went from and 6.5m plate boat with a 150etec on the back. Great performance and never let me down. Sold the boat to upgrade to a 23-24 glass boat. Boat came with a yamaha 225 four stroke (wanted get a four stroke to see what all the fuss was about). Used it for about 3 weeks and just wasnt happy with it, hole shot just doesnt compare to a DI 2 stroke. It probably took the boat a good 8-10 seconds to get on to plane and thats engine trim in and trim tabs deployed. Once on plane she was ok, but i would always be needing to be sitting in the high revs (close to 5000rpm) and at those revs the engine is loud. I think if you plan to go 4stroke you really need to over power it just to get similar performance. Best to drive the same boat with the 2 different motors. You'll see the difference in torque.