Thread: Stonker Winteries at Rous

Re: Stonker Winteries at Rous

Grant

20 fillets through the pan and gone as soon as they hit the plate. Not going to last long at this rate - might have to go back out through the week for another hit. Gee this retirement thing is a bit hard to take.

Jeff

Quote Originally Posted by MrNanks View Post
    Thanks lads.
    I am taking my young fella over there tomorrow. The best ever fishing session he has had has been winter whiting at Burrum Heads a long time ago.

I am glad to hear they are there.
    I am going to try squid strips. I was told to soak them in pink food die to make them look like worms. Bloody messy though.
    A word to the wise M8...DONT !!!!!!!!

About 6 weeks ago, I was out with Robsue in his boat and I had one bag of normal squid strips and a bag dyed with rose coloured dye.

While I was NOT getting a bite with the coloured ones, Rob was hauling 'em in.
    Needless to say I tipped them all out, went back to the normal strips and started catching whiting immediately.

It seems that the dye method may work in the southern bay in more dirtier water, but NOT in clear water M8.

I mentioned to Rob that I would have been stuffed if I had totally believed that the dye method worked and had ONLY bought that bait with me.

HTH, Cheers, Ray.

We ended up going to the Rous this morning, gentlemen's hours. 9am at the Raby Bay ramp. Ramp carpark a the Boat Club was chocka block, but managed to squeeze in a vacant spot near the washdown area.

It was like Queen St up a the Rous, dozens of boats, and almost calm conditions. Bit quiet, even with the "secret bait".

We eventually found a patch and ended up with about 50 before things quietened down near the top of the tide. The quality was ver good again.

So the call was made to go looking for squid at a spot we usually find them in summer. There were only a few there. So back to the Rous where we found things still pretty quiet, so called it a day and headed back home at about 2pm.

Sorry guys, we didnt end upgoing to the Sandhills as originally intended so missed you there.

How was the action up that way?

Cheers!
    Note to self: Don't argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience....

We got 40 big and thick whiting using worms up at the rous channel.. never used prawns though, are you using cooked prawns or fresh?

Nice to see everyone else getting a feed and also better to hear everyone's sharing their secrets to get a feed. We got most of our fish on fresh worms ( big thanks to Mossops Cleveland) squid resulted in a lot of pike and a couple whiting.

Bermo

Went out tom the rous today and found them quite patchy, so many boats getting around as well, ended up with 51 good quality whiting on squid, and tried harries just after daybreak for not a thing, does anybody ever catch anything there or is it just a place to park your boat, I didn't see too much structure on the sounder to really get excited about, has much of the reef been covered by silt?.

I've never caught anything at Harries, but i'm an average fisherman at best! The whiting yesterday were patchy but big.

Bermo

Yep I reckon Harries sux,
    It was a full carpark today. I too have never caught anything there,

We used the secret prawns today at the Rous and got 40 whiting. A handfull over 30 cm. Most 28 ish which was great.

We tried worm with no luck and got a few on squid.

We drifted twice then anchored up once we got some a few fish. Then we burleyed up and they just kept on biting until we ran out of prawns.

Thanks heaps for the tips gents.

Cheers Dave
    My lad and I had a ball.