Thread: Shelf Dropping

Shelf Dropping

Hi All, late report, but here are a few photos from a trip to the shelf a couple of weeks back. Nothing caught on jigs, mullet seemed to be the best performer, fish taken off the same mark in approx 300m of water.

We caught another one of these red bar cod things that are yet to be identified, and also another new one being a Krasyukova's Perch (Senset perch).

Enjoy.......

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Blue Eye.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	24.6 KB 
ID:	94887

Blue Eye

Name:	Flame Snapper.jpg 
Size:	39.6 KB 
ID:	94888

Flame Snapper

Name:	harpuka.jpg 
Size:	45.2 KB 
ID:	94889

Puka

Name:	Unknown Bar Cod Thingy.jpg 
Size:	39.5 KB 
ID:	94890

Unknown

Name:	Sharphead Perch.jpg 
Size:	23.7 KB 
ID:	94891

Sharphead Perch

Name:	Krasyukova's Perch.jpg 
Size:	37.6 KB 
ID:	94892

Krasyukova's Perch

Re: Shelf Dropping

Mate nice catch, i'm envious looking at these reports. looking forward to getting out there and catching a few of these fish one day when i can operate my sounder in these depths to identify fish. What sounder and transducer do you use?? Do you see these fish clearly? and what range do you use?

Keith

What setup do you have Keith? You obviously must not have to much trouble in up to 80 m or so seeing fish.

300m is nearly 600w territory.

Bill

Quote Originally Posted by Vitamin Sea View Post
    What setup do you have Keith? You obviously must not have to much trouble in up to 80 m or so seeing fish.

300m is nearly 600w territory.

Bill
    Hey bill,

Mate ive got a 1150 furuno with 2 x 2kw transducers. I have no problems finding new grounds and fish in anything up to 100mtrs but definitely struggle from there. I went to furuno the other week and they were great and spent a fair amount of time explaining how to set up and adjust but as soon as i went out to 130mtrs the other day it was a struggle to find fish. The fish were definitely there as I caught a few but the shows were cluttered and ordinary. i was just wondering are these guys fishing these deeper depths looking for fish in a 20mtr range window or are they looking for obvious changes in bottom??

Hi Keith

With that set up you should be able to see sea lice in a fishes mouth in 600 metres, something is not set up right. Have a look on here for a member called snelly 71, lots of information and screen shots of deep water fishing for blue eye etc in Tassie, should assist you as far as what to look for and shift/range settings.

http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/sho...ghlight=snelly

Sorry for the hijack Blane.

I agree Keith, unfortunately somethings not quite right. I zoom mine into the bottom 30m or so when fishing flat country in the deep and open the window a tad wider when fishing big ledges. I zoom into the bottom 10m when fishing for pearlies, snapper etc.

I can see fish clearly in 500m as easily as 100m with a change of settings and you should be able to as well.

I use a HDS 7 with a 600W transducer. Unfortunately the range and zoom function are rubbish on this unit (in my opinion) so in answer to your question........sometimes, mostly, depends.

Usually we are looking for bottom structure, which means when you do come across a good mark there are usually fish on it. In saying that, we've caught good bar cod where there is nothing on the sounder. I'd like to upgrade to a 1kw transducer, but I can't justify the extra cost when we have been getting ok results without one.

The sounder we were using when we caught the above fish is also a lowrance, but not a hds unit, again with a 600w transducer, and it definitely works better than the one in my boat. Could be settings, but haven't checked yet. The best tip I found on another forum was slowing the ping speed down when you get out into that deeper water, it seemed to help a bit.

Cheers guys,

I think i'll fish of brissy before taking my boat back to 1770 until I can learn how to get the best out of my sounder in these depths. I was playing around with the settings on my unit the other day in 120mtrs and stuff knows what I did but the H/F screen was atrocious (in dual freq mode) and could barely read anything, where as the previous trip I could. I pulled a couple of bar cod and pearlies so I know the fish were there and they were clearly displayed on the L/F screen. It's definitely a learning curve thats why i was interested to see if Brett could see the fish or not because I'll go looking for fish if it is the case rather than just going to someone else's marks or fishing structure. Although the first and last time I tried this I wasted a day for no result!!!

Keith,

Some nice fish there. Well done mate.
    Cheers, Doug.
    Love to use Preditek or Kingfisher lures or Viva Lures when I am out fishing.

On my 1kw 585 HF runs out of puff at about 170-180m. Over 100m I pretty much concentrate only on LF. You will end up getting good results with your 1150. I can only dream about running a 925 or 1150 but my 585 does the job.

Keith,
    I reckon we should take Smithy for a run on your rig.....I reckon he could get it right on your sounder.
    Phil

Quote Originally Posted by bannana View Post
    Mate ive got a 1150 furuno with 2 x 2kw transducers. I have no problems finding new grounds and fish in anything up to 100mtrs but definitely struggle from there.
    I have been running an 1100 for years with 2kw HF and 3kw LF. You should have no problems seeing a sinker drop in 150m. In 300m on LF you should definitely be able to pick up fish. What gain are you running?

Quote Originally Posted by bannana View Post
    Hey bill,

Mate ive got a 1150 furuno with 2 x 2kw transducers. I have no problems finding new grounds and fish in anything up to 100mtrs but definitely struggle from there. I went to furuno the other week and they were great and spent a fair amount of time explaining how to set up and adjust but as soon as i went out to 130mtrs the other day it was a struggle to find fish. The fish were definitely there as I caught a few but the shows were cluttered and ordinary. i was just wondering are these guys fishing these deeper depths looking for fish in a 20mtr range window or are they looking for obvious changes in bottom??
    Mate, i was fishing 220mtrs off Cape Morten with a JRC FF50 and 600 watt transducer and picking up good shows.
    I have now gone to a 1kw Airmar and Garmin GSD24 with a 7012 screen,thats a whole new thing and good thing in its self.
    I fished for 10 years with that first set up,we were fishing 140-170mtrs on trawler wrecks and never had a problem.
    Hope this helps a bit.
    Cheers Mick
    Last edited by outwide1; 26-07-2013 at 09:57 PM. Reason: ADD STUFF

Quote Originally Posted by reefer View Post
    Keith,
    I reckon we should take Smithy for a run on your rig.....I reckon he could get it right on your sounder.
    Phil
    Reefer I should get my boat back from Wayne in a couple of weeks and I'm keeping it down here for a while until I iron out and learn how to get the most out of my electronics in the deeper water. I'll give you a call when it's ready.

Are you still coming to Frasier? Gaz backs you out!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Smithy View Post
    On my 1kw 585 HF runs out of puff at about 170-180m. Over 100m I pretty much concentrate only on LF. You will end up getting good results with your 1150. I can only dream about running a 925 or 1150 but my 585 does the job.
    Cheers Smithy.

Mate this point i'm fairly sure its user error and a few trips in the deep water fiddling with settings combined with advice /info from others on this site should get things happening for me.