Northern 33s report from Yesterday

Thread: Northern 33s report from Yesterday

Northern 33s report from Yesterday

Hi guys, just a quick report from our morning session on the 33s yesterday.

Had the boat in the water by 5 am and we made the short run across a glassed out bay to the bar. The radio chatter coming up the rainbow was all about the bar being near uncrossable but when we arrived to check it out, there was a perfect channel through the middle with little swell or white water. Safely across another 15 mins east and we arrived at our first spot.

The sounder lit up almost instaneously and down went the lines straight through the thick of it. Triple hookups ensued and up came 3 Snapper at just over 3kg each. Another couple of drifts later and we had 3 more snapper of similar size go in the box with a nice sized Moses to mix things up a little. Then it all went quiet apart from the odd undersized squire. The sounder was still thick with bait and we could see the larger predators hanging off the side of the schools but the lines remained quiet.

Come 10am and the crew were getting bored (and a little seasick) so I decided to try something different. We threw on some knife jigs and sent them down towards the bait school. Then, all hell broke loose. The only thing that drowned out the screaming crew were the screaming reels and eventually up came some big Ambos which we estimated around 10kg. They were released unharmed. On the next drift up came some very handsome looking Kingies that were around 8 - 10kg. They too were released unharmed. On the very final drift, I hooked up to what seemed liked the bullet train which near on spooled me and then disappeared and my mate, after a 1hr 20 minute fight brought a monsterous 23kg Amberjack to the boat which was safely returned to the water also.

All in all a great day and as soon as my mate sends me the photos from his camera that he took, I'll attach them to the post. Hope everyone had a good weekend.

Re: Northern 33s report from Yesterday

Hey Outsider,

Good to see you got out. I am keen to get out maybe next sunday. I have not crossed the bar since last year. Do you have marks for entrance to middle channel or is it visible when you go past Amity.

Would appreciate some help thanks.

Klinky

Any marks for the middle channel would be appreciated, mine are a few years old and it would be good to update them as reference.
    Maturity is not when we start speaking BIG things,it is when we start understanding small things

thanks for the post - looks like you were able to find some better quality specimens than us and avoid the sharks....yeah came back through northern channel on Sat arvo and it wasn't pretty - if there's a better option I wouldn't mind getting the marks as well
    cheers Rob

Hi guys,
    I crossed the SPB through the middle channel on Sunday morning. I didn't have any co-ordinates but it was very easy to find. The channel is about 9m deep and shallows out at the exit (eastern side).
    It is quite obvious if you motor along the inside of the bar from south to north as you will see the deep channel inbetween two sand banks with a lot of white water on them.
    Hope that helps.

Thanks Finicky. Monday looks good to give it a try.