water police

Thread: water police

Ausfish Gold Member

water police

I got my boat licence in '79, and got my first ticket today
    I didn't know you needed a capacity sticker within 1 metre of the steering wheel
    I have a manufacturing plate in the motor well, states hp and people capacity
    they wrote me out a ticket, but no fine as a warning ticket....thought warning was always verbal
    anyway they had a sticker onboard which they gave me and I promptly affixed to the dash
    Robsue

Re: water police

Regrettably, ignorance of the law is no excuse. At least they didn't fine you!

The rules about capacity labels came in quite a few years ago now and were widely and well publicised at the time. Came in around the time that Australian Builder's Plates were being introduced, maybe even a bit earlier. The various boat registration authorities in each state used to include the labels with rego renewal notices, and did so for several years, if my recollection serves me right. I certainly received more than one of them with my rego renewals.

It would have been pretty difficult for boat owners at the time not to have been aware of it.

These days, on new boats, the ABP meets the capacity label requirements but older boats that do not have an ABP must have a capacity label affixed in the specified location.

Thanks for the post, anyway, its a good reminder for other Ausfishers to make sure their capacity label is still attached and still legible!

ML
    Note to self: Don't argue with an idiot. They will only bring you down to their level and beat you with experience....

Ausfish Platinum Member Crunchy's Avatar

My faith has been restored a little in that you got a warning and not a fine.....

Ausfish Platinum Member netmaker's Avatar

yep, wonderful invention the capacity label. if it weren't for mine reminding me i can only take 3 passengers out in my tinny i might have taken 10 by mistake. funny thing is when you order them from msq they send you the label and you pick the number you want on it.
    fishing's as simple as 3 P's - patience, perserverance and PLASTIC!

Ausfish Gold Member

they were impressed with my organization, all safety gear in bucket with paper licence, fish limits/sizes and green pamphlet all in zip clear bags

I think thats ridiculous, you have a capacity label on the boat why need it in a certain spot? glad they didnt fine you, expecting i will get done one day for not having a lifejacket sticker above where my life jackets sit in plain view behind a cargo net.

Some bureaucrat in the government gets well paid to come up with this stuff. Promoted to a higher office maybe.

Quote Originally Posted by robsue View Post
    they were impressed with my organization, all safety gear in bucket with paper licence, fish limits/sizes and green pamphlet all in zip clear bags
    I think that is very smart.
    It shows respect for the law, which is often referred to as compliance. The benefits flow on from there
    Pauly

with all levels of government scratching around for extra dollars expect to be the source of revenue through whatever obscure reasons they can think of.

Just happened to be at the scene of the crime as well

Saw the WP on the way.....Rob says, no worries, I'll just give em the bucket with everything in it....VERY organised & fisheries guy was impressed.

Younger policeman was pretty enthusiastic about his duties BUT I was surprised when Rob got the "written warning"

NEITHER of them asked to look at the PFDs' but.......

Pinged/sort of for a piece of documentation that states a max of 5 onboard.....when clearly only 2 in the boat.........but NO pfd check

WAS a bit rich really

Ray.

Ausfish Gold Member

Pauly, I think that may have saved me from a fine
    Ray, as I said, very surprised with written warning , and yes, they could see pfd's, never asked to look at them, maybe because they were still in original wrapping
    they did have a visable look around boat, I did ask them what they were looking for, and they said just looking, had empty esky with iced water to put whiting in after scaling, which they checked out as well as catch....
    they spent more time at boat before us, and I queried them, they just said they had more issues with them than me, we talked to that boat concerned later and they gave them a heavy going over, but nothing for them to get fined over
    yes the water police/fisheries have a job to do and in my opinion if you show them respect you get it back and that's the difference between a fine and a warning............
    Robin

Quote Originally Posted by robsue View Post
    all safety gear in bucket with paper licence
    You still have your paper licence since 1979 or has it been a re-print??!!??

Ausfish Gold Member

Scott, I still have original, except photo copy is what I carry in the boat...........they said when I renew car licence in 2015, it will have both car/boat licence in chip on licence

Ausfish Platinum Member netmaker's Avatar

they checked me sunday a week ago at mud. all my gear is in a grab bag which i just chuck over for inspection. it has one of those inflatabelt type pfds in it that takes up stuff all room and all other required gear. flares were only just replaced and i never have any worries, especially this time as the police officer concerned is also a tax client. added bonus, got to show off nice snapper
    fishing's as simple as 3 P's - patience, perserverance and PLASTIC!

Ausfish Platinum Member ozynorts's Avatar

As with all government documents and regulations there is never a clear answer on things.
    http://www.msq.qld.gov.au/Registrati...ers-plate.aspx
    This is a quote form thelink above. "Where does the Australian Builders Plate need to be affixed?

The plate will be permanently fixed and readily visible to the boat's operator in the cockpit or near the steering position.

Is there still a requirement to attach a capacity label to vessels that have an Australian Builders Plate?

Generally no, because an Australian Builders Plate will qualify as a capacity label, but there are exceptions. In particular you will still need to attach a capacity label at any second steering position."

In the link above there is a link to a PDF for FAQ's.
    http://www.msq.qld.gov.au/~/media/ms...ner_master.pdf

Here is a quote from that link.

"15. Where should the ABP be located on my boat?
    The ABP standard states that the ABP is required to be placed in a position where it will be readily
    visible to the operator of the boat when getting the boat underway, preferably in the cockpit or near the
    steering position. In practice this could mean the transom of a small outboard boat, or by the wheel of
    a larger vessel. "

What constitutes a small outboard boat?

Another quote from the PDF.
    "18. Is there still a requirement to attach a capacity label to vessels that have an ABP?
    Generally No – However there are exceptions.
    A capacity label will still need to be attached in the secondary steering position"

What are the exceptions?

And then on another page of the site this quote just to muddy the waters even more.

"Capacity labels

All registrable recreational ships, with the exception of sailing ships, must have a capacity label fitted near each steering position."

So the same website states the on one page that you do need capacity labels and another page states that you don't...
    Gotta love government regulations.
    Remember to always log on before heading offshore.