Thread: Today off Straddie 23rd June

Smile Today off Straddie 23rd June

Pirate Mal phones in we are taking on the bar!
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Mal Pirate.JPG 
Views:	3 
Size:	74.9 KB 
ID:	94045

We get through then onto the bait spot we get livebait - yippee everything to plan!!

The weather well it could only be described as CARP!! 13knots dropping to 10knots they said - it sat a steady 15knots increasing to 20 with 25knot gusts. So we set off for the wave rider buoy and after near one hour and 1/3 of the way there we say "STUFF THIS!"

Name:	Mal Carp.JPG 
Size:	85.1 KB 
ID:	94046

So we turn about and on our way in figure what the heck there are shows there we are on a gravel patch or reef lets try.

Mals first drop and he is on immediately!

Name:	Mals ON!.JPG 
Size:	76.9 KB 
ID:	94047

Hey what is that?

Name:	Mals WTF.JPG 
Size:	74.6 KB 
ID:	94048

Grahame (shitfish'n'chippy) showed me what these were last weekend so we know now

Name:	Mal - identified!.JPG 
Size:	89.4 KB 
ID:	94049Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Mals First blood.JPG 
Views:	4 
Size:	73.7 KB 
ID:	94050

Okay Mal scores first blood - I am not jealous

His next drop and he is on immediately

Name:	Mals 2nd drop.JPG 
Size:	71.5 KB 
ID:	94051Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Mal now catching fish!.JPG 
Size:	79.0 KB 
ID:	94052

Okay now he is catching fish - nice one Mal

Third drop and immediately another fish

Name:	Mals 3rd drop.JPG 
Size:	80.6 KB 
ID:	94053

At a moment like this there is only one thing to do - so I did it - I put away the camera - must have been bad luck for me

After Mal got a few more fish in half a dozen more drops I had a good hook-up and the braid pulled tight and the line cut into my index finger and even with a very tight drag the rod bent hard and the reel lost some line - yep this was my fish of the day - three seconds into this experience the hook pulls and I only have a cut finger to show and a story to tell about the fish of the day that got away in a flash - Mal laughed - not sure why.

Anyway Mal - thanks for the day out in your boat - becalmed at Manly and blowing it's socks off East of Straddie - it happens.

We got wet, we got banged about in very windy choppy and lumpy conditions but we had fun and you got a good feed - well done mate - it was a nice day out.

Those tuskies will make a nice feed - we bled them and iced then all straight up - so should be great.

Name:	Mal nice day out.JPG 
Size:	85.0 KB 
ID:	94054Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Mals catch.JPG 
Size:	98.2 KB 
ID:	94055

Trev

Re: Today off Straddie 23rd June

At least you got a feed! The weather forecasters are having a shocker at the moment...

Quote Originally Posted by cobiaman View Post
    At least you got a feed! The weather forecasters are having a shocker at the moment...
    When you say "you got a feed" you are talking to Mal - not this little black duck that got

Name:	Mal ZIP.jpg 
Size:	16.6 KB 
ID:	94058

It was a nice day out though really - yes the weather was a shocker but we had fun and I am glad we didn't keep trying for the target.

I know what The Lump will say "shoulda gone Friday" - oh well.

Trev

Trev,
    Happy to be able to help you with your fish ID's
    I don't know what the other species you caught are.......never seen them before

G
    S***fish & chippy

I went out today too Trev .had exactly the same sort of day as you except for the fish
    Took ideas and stu we stayed in the bay to get knocked around all day
    Started off at mud for nothing except for ideas 3 grinners ( he was wrapped in that )
    Off to the beacons for some bait . That was a winner
    Then we push through the wind and waves up to curtin where I managed to get a big hookup on the electric about 15-20 minutes fighting ( and actually winding ) a bloody great turtle comes up the side of the boat .
    Just need to hook a dolphin on electric now and that will be the full set .
    Time to pull the pin and head back to the beacons to get some lives to turn into deadies for another trip .success something actually went to plan . A couple of kilos and pound our way back to manly .
    Get back to Craig's house and what would you know the new deckie stu goes running off yelling out to RALPH .
    Who the hell is this Ralph fella that everyone I go fishing with wants to find

Quote Originally Posted by Humdinger View Post
    I went out today too Trev .had exactly the same sort of day as you except for the fish
    Took ideas and stu we stayed in the bay to get knocked around all day
    Started off at mud for nothing except for ideas 3 grinners ( he was wrapped in that )
    Off to the beacons for some bait . That was a winner
    Then we push through the wind and waves up to curtin where I managed to get a big hookup on the electric about 15-20 minutes fighting ( and actually winding ) a bloody great turtle comes up the side of the boat .
    Just need to hook a dolphin on electric now and that will be the full set .
    Time to pull the pin and head back to the beacons to get some lives to turn into deadies for another trip .success something actually went to plan . A couple of kilos and pound our way back to manly .
    Get back to Craig's house and what would you know the new deckie stu goes running off yelling out to RALPH .
    Who the hell is this Ralph fella that everyone I go fishing with wants to find
    Does ralph ever answer back???

No but the seem to yell out to him in the strangest places

Hey Trev, I was out there today in the Black SEAROD side console. We were just near you guys at the bait ground. Got plenty of lives and fished a number of locations. Had a ok day. TROY landed a nice 6kg Cod and Sam landed 3 Painted Sweetlip around 5 kg each. Conditions were shit but we still had a good day, Peter.
    "We gave Howard the Arse now we have to fix Rudd"
    "Now we have to sort Gillard" F@?k me RUDD again
    Abbott and Newman what a great next few years "NOT"

Trev, aka Good Luck Charm, what a wierd day it was. After trying the southern channel on the bar for the first time and negotiating that almost without a ripple in sight I couldn't believe what it was like on the other side.
    I am sorry you couldn't buy a fish today( only cos I wouldn't sell you one...cruel, sorry)...that is normally me. Most fish on a trip ever. Just don't expect me to follow up with a repeat performance.....Did I laugh when you lost the fish of the day..surely not? Again sorry.
    Thanks for taking the photographs, I really appreciate it. I will send you the marks...lets hope the next full moon is a bit less windy,swelly, choppy and we can have another go. Your turn next.
    Great to finally get out with you on a trip.

I thought the forecast was for 25 knots offshore

Quote Originally Posted by BAR UP View Post
    Hey Trev, I was out there today in the Black SEAROD side console. We were just near you guys at the bait ground. Got plenty of lives and fished a number of locations. Had a ok day. TROY landed a nice 6kg Cod and Sam landed 3 Painted Sweetlip around 5 kg each. Conditions were shit but we still had a good day, Peter.
    We were next to you guys at bait grounds mid morning. We were in the blue half cab.
    I was wondering where you guys bait from. We couldnt find anything later in day.
    Did you guys leave after mate.
    Thats a nice boat you got.
    We did okay at 33s in morning got few snaps until it shut down. So we came in closer to get livies.
    The spearos from middle reef in the white CC did really well. We saw the bring up big cod spanish and heaps of good tuskies.

I reckon went weather wider was better than inclose.

Shane

Oh well at least one of the marks produced what it said it would. Good feed there Trevelly. Do I really have to say what I am thinking?

Trev,
    I'm a good mate of Mal's. I just moved to Noosa and went out in the river / Noosa Sound with a mate for the best part of 5 hours on Sunday. Got 2 strikes, saw no colour.. The highlight of the day was pulling up the crab pot, thought we had a monster muddie.. alas, it was a lump of plastic caught in the netting.. Fortunately mates missus bought banana's onboard (we didn't realise until after 4 hours), so we were able to blame poor results on that.
    Well done boys.. green with envy up here..!!

WombatChops.

Good onya Trev at least you got out. Stick to the flat ones maybe ;p

Hey Shane yeah the weather was shit. We still had a bit of fun and caught a couple of decent fish. Peter
    "We gave Howard the Arse now we have to fix Rudd"
    "Now we have to sort Gillard" F@?k me RUDD again
    Abbott and Newman what a great next few years "NOT"