Thread: Saturday night choppers

Saturday night choppers

G'day all,
    I trust everyone had a great weekend!
    Just a quick report on my fishing antics from Sat night.

The missus and I left home, Ipswich, at 10:15pm after we had fulfilled our family duties at a birthday party, and headed to our usual haunt at Main Beach on the GC.

The old gutter was still there in similar formation to how it's been for a couple months now if somewhat stretched out and northward by about 50m.
    Still very open ocean access at each end.

I found there were a lot of pickers, I guess butter bream, in one section so I moved to the northern most entrance to the gutter and was rewarded with 7 choppers. the smallest being 38 cm and the biggest at 42cm.

Not large or outstanding fish I know however great fun and a great addition to the fridge.

Did any of you fish the beaches too?

Has anyone caught any decent dart on the GC of late?

I was fishing north of Narrowneck by about 300m.

TK

Re: Saturday night choppers

TK,

Good on you, nice to know you managed some tailor. I would have been down for a cast but was heading back from offshore Mooloolaba, lumpy seas, due to heavy wind, lots of white caps.

Bondy

Thanks for the report and great to hear you came home with some fish. There was a lot of tailor hitting bait along the pin and down to Jacob's Well on Saturday arvo.

Good things come to those who bait

Quote Originally Posted by Agrav8_and_Lulu View Post
    Thanks for the report and great to hear you came home with some fish. There was a lot of tailor hitting bait along the pin and down to Jacob's Well on Saturday arvo.

Lots of undersize < 35cm around the pin last time I was out there.

Bondy

Folks in relation to tailor inside the pin bar I don't think in three years of competitive fishing did I ever land a legal sized tailor!

They were always just that bit under

However, on the surf side of the bar, on nth tip of sth straddie I have landed tailor over 50cm and I think my best from there was about 78cm .....

All on strip baits of course!!!

Pillies for choppers..... Strip baits and patience for big tailor!

fished inskip point saturday night only to catch choppers, went offshore sunday morning up fraser island just past maheno wreck about 2 miles out and caught a couple of tailor bottom bashing

The bait reef off the spj are loaded with choppers.. was a bit annoying getting the hooks snipped off the bait jigs.
    dont knock on deaths door... ring the doorbell and run... death hates that!!

Tailorkid,

Yeah mate I agree , bigger tailor out in the surf zone on other side.

Nathank, I would there would be some bigger ones out there on that reef. Reminds me a bit olike Casino Reef few years ago but they were bigger.

Cheers, Bondy

I like the bigger ones Bondy... with a livebait hook in em lol. Nice to meetya last night good luck with the new rod mate..

Ibger,

So do I, Good to meet up and I'll put that new rod into use very soon.

Tight lines. Bondy