Went down today and spent 5 hours in wind, rain and fireworks at the far end for a good evening out for zilch.
Here are some pics. Not as many people on the SPJ compared to 2 nights ago.
Photo's are crap due to rain causing grainy effect.
Bondy
Went down today and spent 5 hours in wind, rain and fireworks at the far end for a good evening out for zilch.
Here are some pics. Not as many people on the SPJ compared to 2 nights ago.
Photo's are crap due to rain causing grainy effect.
Bondy
At high tide you'd think there would be some in that gutter in the 4th and 5th pic. so what, not a touch???
Don't feel quite so bad now for deciding to stay inside and research a new Surf Rod. Maybe tomorrow arvo/night
Wayno 60
I too would have thought there would be, looked like a nice gutter, nope not a touch. Using 14ft Tailor Taker Rod, 20lb main, size 5 sinker...there was bit of a sweep, 40lb mono trace.
Not a touch, used strips of fresh mullet. Tide was making its way back....Did not see any baitfish or any birds. Might be why no tailor in the area. Only birds were seagulls on the beach trying to steal uncovered bait.
Cheers, Bondy
Webby08,
Yeah, you would have been a lot a warmer too, could not find my beanie, kept my scon a bit dry with raincoat hood.
I might try again this evening.
Hope you find a good Surf rod through your research. Let me know if you found one. That tailor taker rod does not seem to have a whippy tip, seems a bit stiff and the rod overrall is a bit heavy after awhile from continuing casts
Cheers, Bondy
mate u want a gary howard 13 foot 6 greenback if its for tailor your chasing
mudcrab 3 , yeah could be. Are they off the shelf as such or go into Gary Howard's rod building place?
Hey Bondy, do you ever Fish on South Straddie? Been a very Long Time since i've been to that Island myself. MMM Might give it a go in the coming weeks.
Manta Man, mate I'd love to go there and give it a whirl, I've heard that some larger (kg) models were caught on South Straddie. I no longer have a boat otherwise I'd be down there and giving it a go.
I would reckon there would be some nice gutters on south straddie.
At the junction of North and South Straddie I reckon there would be some good tailor in the surf and probably just legals (35cm) inside the pin.
I wish I kept that boat.
Cheers, Bondy
Webby08,
Did you end up going, and how did you go?
Cheers, Bondy
Didn't make it out last night but had a go this morning for a couple of hours. Was pretty quite out there with only 2 of us on the tip and a couple further back on the inside. Jetty had heaps of people on it though.
Threw some larger pieces of squid around the end of the breakwall without much luck. Then tried some Blue pillies with a small sinker still not much. Tossed a 65g raider around for a little bit as well. Couple of bumps but nothing to report.
Old mate up from me seemed to only get 1 small bream on Pillies also before 2 Asian guys came and fished right in is pocket and he left.
Rain started to come in from the ocean and seeing as nothing much was happening I up and left.
Might go back late this arvo, not sure yet.
Webby08,
Bummer , not much happening on the seawall, tailor are suppose to be in the seaway last I heard and being caught on chrome slugs...huh!! When was that? I and few others would like to know
I have a slightly below water surface lure I might try in the seaway. Need to pick a good spot though.
Those Asians are like that, they are a lot worse on the SPJ as they try to intimidate...I'm sure some of them might go swimming if they hassle someone long enough.
Cheers, Bondy
Hey Bondy sounds like your keen. MMM just been looking at the Tide Times, a couple of days after the next New Moon (July) looks ok. Won"t go around the Full Moon.( I have my reasons) Sounds like your interested mmm maybe we could arrange something, but will only go during the week. Will see whats happening in a few weeks ok. Might need some company.. Cheers Manta Man
Hi Mud Crab that Rod your speaking of , what Wrap is it.
G'day Manta Man,
Always keen, Tide times looks ok during that New Moon period, send me a pm closer to the day.
Weekdays are better than weekends any time in my books.
I'm in the process of looking at replacing that "tailor taker" rod. I have a Penn Sportsfisher rod its 10ft loaded with 20lb mono, good in windy days, braid is better but only with little wind. using braid from the beach in heavy winds can cause braid to knot itself, happened three times on 4 seperte occassions.
Going again this evening and see what transpires.
Cheers, Bondy